We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old time charm”
Review of Grand Summit Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Summit Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Summit
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Old time charm”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Grand Summit for two nights. Check in was quick and easy, the room was smallish but very clean and quiet. The room had a nice television and a Bose Wave radio, small closet two chairs and a table. The bathroom was stocked with all the essentials and plenty of towels. Two odd things, there was a coffee maker and cups but no drinking glasses. There was a bottle of water, but odd no cups. Also in the bathroom there was a phone jack on the wall, no phone. Wouldn't hurt to remove the jack during a renovation or paint touch up. The room included a buffet breakfast which was quite good. The bar was busy and generally friendly and also had a few locals stopping in for drinks-always a good sign. A nice hotel with more than its share of character.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank John_Paul02904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear John Paul,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review of the property that you provided us with. We work extremely hard to provide the type of experience you have described here, and it means a lot to us when it is recognized.

It means a lot to us when our guests appreciate the charm, ambiance, and old world feel the hotel provides, and we very much appreciate your comments about the hotel.

We look forward to hosting you again when your travels take you to our area in the future.

Sincerely,

Michael Marino
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    98
    85
    64
    25
See reviews for
147
61
31
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Furlong, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Great experience! Check in was easy-room was spotless. I travel extensively for work and it was nice to stay in a hotel; that had some history and character. The bar restaurant downstairs was busy but the service was great! Food was excellent-a wonderful expereince. I'll be staying there whenever I'm in North Jersey.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Mark L,

Thank you so much for taking a moment to provide us with such a wonderful review of your stay. It is always such a pleasure for us to host you when your business takes you to our area.

We look forward to your next stay with us and thank you as always for your feedback and business.

Sincerely,

Michael Marino
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here many times and just did again this week so it's not that bad as long as you know what to expect. First, it's an old/historic hotel, and looks/feels tired. Historic can be fine vs. a cookie cutter mass chain hotel. But, it's well past time for updating the basics...room carpets, wallpaper/boarders, drapes, duvets, heat & A/C units. A fresh coat of paint in rooms would be good too, not that the walls are in bad shape but the rooms need to feel fresher. They did finally replace the main lobby carpet last year and the hallway carpets, which was critical. Rooms have HDTVs, iPod clock radios. My experience with WiFi and bathrooms has been fine...good signal and bathrooms clean, bright, reasonably newer. Free Starbucks coffee 24/7 in the lobby so if you're up early like me you don't have to wait for staff to bring it out (and yes, it's hot at 6am). So there are pluses and minuses. Every time I stay here I think how much potential it has and what a shame they can't truly update more than the "edges". It's my last resort hotel in the area but continue to choose it when nothing else is available versus driving long distances for a more updated property.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Airmarshll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Airmarshll,

Thank you very much for the review of our property you have provided. We are very excited to hear you enjoy returning to the hotel, and appreciate you following the progress of our renovation.

We are currently addressing room renovations throughout the building. Each part of the building has its own unique characteristics, and we continue to update and improve the product on a monthly basis.

We thank you for your continued business, as well as your constructive comments, and we look forward to hosting you again when your travels take you back to our area.

Sincerely,

Michael Marino
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Staff very helpful, friendly and patient. Hotel is old but charming. Very clean. Most helpful was Asst. General Manager Michael Marino who took time to explain the layout and show us around. This was our second stay at the Grand Summit and we will return. THE COFFEE WAS GREAT!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lensog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear lensog,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review of our property. I was also very pleased to hear that you enjoyed hearing about the history of the hotel. We work hard to provide a comfortable experience for all of our guests, and when it is recognized it means a lot to us.

We look forward to hosting you again when your travels take you to our area.

Sincerely,

Michael Marino
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This hotel although old provides excellent and friendly service. The staff are friendly courteous and very helpful. The breakfast buffet is quite something and the standard of the food in restaurant very good.

Free coffe and tea is on constant supply in the lounge together with pastries in the afternoon.

In particular I would mention Michael Marino the AGM who goes out of his way to help with any queries.

Room Tip: We asked for a room with walk in shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elgar096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Elgar096,

I cannot tell you how much we enjoy hosting you every time you come to our hotel. It is guests like you that make us so passionate about what we do, and drive us to do what we do everyday in this business.

We look forward to your next visit to the states and thank you again for the general appreciation you have for the service and accommodations we provide you.

All the best.

Michael Marino
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
170 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Total dump. I'm here for work and seriously wish I had brought flip flops bc the showers are nasty. the staff is super sweet but seriously? i cant believe i was put up here by work. There's tons of mold in the building, I'm suffering from major allergies here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caztravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear caztravels,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review of your stay both positive and negative. I was very disappointed to here of your comments about the shower and your overall critique of the hotel. We work very hard to provide a comfortable experience for all of our guests and welcome the chance to speak with you to better understand what would compel you to title your review this way.

Our hotel has always enjoyed wonderful customer feedback as evidenced in our rating. While I am always disappointed to hear when a guest did not enjoy their stay, I find it very difficult to understand where your overall critique of our hotel comes from. If you had an issue of cleanliness in your room, we would work quickly to correct it or get you to another room where you would be more comfortable.

I look forward to speaking with you if you can find the time to call me at the hotel.

Michael Marino
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I'm from NJ but have been on the West Coast for 40 years, and have gotten used to pleasant staff who greet you with friendliness. That is the exception here.

Aside from the beautiful common areas, everything about this hotel is done on the cheap and small side, in spite of the price. If you are 6' tall and 200 lbs, you will not be comfortable in the beds and baths.

As we searched for our room on a dark winter night, we passed empty rooms with doors open to the exterior. This did not enhance our feeling of security!

No water glasses? No alarm clock? Poor wifi? They are not in touch with modern hospitality standards for budget hotels, and they are not a budget hotel.

Some reviewers have enjoyed the breakfast, but we found little that was enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Dennis T,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide a review of your stay with us both positive and negative.

Some of your comments make me a little confused and lead me to believe that you may have reviewed the wrong hotel.

I am not sure what you are referring to as rooms with doors open to the outside. This is not something that we would ever do. In addition, we have a former police officer who heads hotel security and is in the hotel nightly. We take security very seriously, and enjoy the comfort and security of Summit, long considered to be one of the most affluent and safest towns in the country.

The second item that leaves me confused is your comment about no alarm clocks in the room. All of our rooms have a Bose Wave Radio System with alarm clock. They are among the best offered in our industry.very loyal guests consider us one of the best values in the area.

I am also disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy our Full American Breakfast. Buffet. Along with our free WiFi, passes to the Summit YMCA, and free Starbucks Coffee and Tea in our lobby, our guests find us to provide an excellent value.

We work very hard to provide a comfortable experience for all of our guests, and welcome the chance to make all of our guests comfortable when something they do not like is brought to our attention.

If your travels take you to our area again, I hope that you will contact me personally to ensure you get the experience you expect and deserve.

Sincerely,

Michael Marino
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summit
1.9 mi away
Hilton Short Hills
Hilton Short Hills
#1 of 1 in Short Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Kenilworth Hotel
The Kenilworth Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kenilworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Murray Hill Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
The Madison Hotel
The Madison Hotel
#1 of 5 in Morristown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
5.8 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
4.6 mi away
Best Western Westfield Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Summit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Summit Hotel

Property: Grand Summit Hotel
Address: 570 Springfield Ave, Summit, NJ 07901-4599
Location: United States > New Jersey > Summit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Summit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Summit Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Summit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Summit
Summit Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing