We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The grand summit what happened to the GRAND”
Review of Grand Summit Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Summit Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Summit
new york
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The grand summit what happened to the GRAND”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Having stayed hear before standards are now below par , on first impressions the reception area was pleasant, on getting into the lift it was very dirty and unkept , our room was clean but looking a bit closer the bath was filthy and decor needs to be updated the price that was charged was not cheap, I've stayed in better , things need to change.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yllib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear yllib,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with a review of your recent stay with us. We are very disappointed to hear of your experience at our property, and you can be sure that all areas that we failed to execute properly in will be addressed.

Having been a guest of our hotel in the past when you did enjoy all we had to offer, I hope that you will once again provide us with an opportunity to show you the pride we take in our work and the quality of facility we strive to deliver for all of our guests.

Please reach out to me directly so I can handle your arrangements personally.

Michael Marino
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    98
    85
    65
    25
See reviews for
149
61
31
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax Station, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Without a doubt, our best stay in Northern Jersey in years! We stayed at the Grand Summit in conjunction with a business reception (with family) being held in the hotel. The food and service at the reception were outstanding, as was the breakfast and lunch we had in the Hat Tavern restaurant. The staff at the reception was extremely attentive at a very well attended reception; I overheard a guest comment about a preferred brand of scotch at one of the bars and within a minute the scotch was there! The hotel staff was equally attentive as family groups had prolonged breakfasts and conversed in the lobby (bottomless Starbucks coffee and fresh cookies from the kitchen for a birthday boy!). If you are looking for a place to host an event or just a comfortable stay, I would strongly recommend the Grand Summit!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Tim L,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review of our property. We work very hard to provide just the type of experience you have and we are always very excited to hear when we have succeeded in our efforts.

It was truly a pleasure hosting your family, and we look forward to the chance to host you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Michael Marino
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

The Grand Summit Hotel was the perfect place for our wedding. The staff is friendly and welcoming, the rooms are renovated and comfortable, the food is DELICIOUS, and the ambiance of the hotel is memorable. There's even a shuttle service into town and complimentary YMCA passes! The cocktail hour of our wedding was unforgettable, presented beautifully and full of choices. And the reception looked amazing in their grand ballroom. We couldn't have asked for a better location - our guests continue to give rave reviews whenever we speak to them! Thank you, Grand Summit!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Megan T,

Thank you so much for providing us with such a wonderful review of the wedding you hosted at our hotel. It was an absolute pleasure hosting your family and friends and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel for future occasions.

I hope that you will always consider us at your service if we can assist you in any way.

Sincerely,

Michael Marino
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was a most pleasant experience. In trying to find a reasonable hotel for a family visit in the Springfield NJ area I came across this great old hotel in nearby Summit NJ. Founded in 1868 and rebuilt in 1929, this place has been updated, had very nice ambiance, small but clean and well maintained rooms, courteous staff, and a fantastic free full breakfast. Very cool!
P.S. They advertise a per day parking charge, but you may be able to get that waived as their parking lot gets really crowded on weekends.

Room Tip: Stay in the main hotel section. The 4th (top) floor was very quiet and is recommended as there is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Alan C,

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review of our property. We work so hard to provide just the experience you describe, and we are thrilled when we hear of our guests loving the history the hotel and area represent.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel when your travels take you to our area again.

Sincerely,

Michael Marino
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Someone my daughter works with recommended we stay at The Grand Summit when we visited her in Summit. My husband and I were very pleased with all the extras offered by the hotel-including, shuttle service to and from Newark Airport (for a small extra fee), free Starbucks coffee offered in the Lobby 24/7, a free delicious, breakfast buffet offered in the HAT Tavern Restaurant, and shuttle service to the train station (the middle of the city), which we eventually figured out was actually an easy walk-but what a nice option to have-especially when it's cold or wet outside. Once you're at the train station it's less than an hour into New York City. The city of Summit is charming with lots of shopping and restaurants. Another option for lunch or dinner or drinks is the Hat Tavern Restaurant back at the hotel-delicious food, lots of options, moderate prices and lots and lots of liqueor options as well. The hotel is a beautiful building (a historic site) and the room though dated in decor was charming and it was clean and the flat screen tv, the heater and everything else in the room made our stay comfortable and enjoyable. Last but not least the staff was ready and able to assit us with all of our requests-from shuttles to the train station, to early check in, printing out our boarding passes the day we left, to holding onto our bags while we waited for our shuttle to the airport for departure. There is also a gym in the hotel, so bring your exercise clothes. Be prepared for a wonderful experience. I highly recommend the Grand Summit you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 124LindaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear 124LindaC,

I cannot thank you enough for such a wonderful review. We work hard to provide just the type of experience you have detailed in your review, and we greatly appreciate you bringing it to our attention.

Your review would make an excellent advertisement for the hotel, and I will be sure to share your comments with all of our staff. Our employees work hard to provide this kind of experience for our guests.

We look forward to hosting you again when you return to the historic town of Summit.

Sincerely,

Michael Marino
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakmont, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
273 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We chose to stay at the Grand Summit while visiting our daughter in a neighboring town. The Grand Summit is a "grand olde hotel" (founded 1868 according to the sign) which has naturally been upgraded to its present state. The lobby is large and inviting; the check in staff was helpful and pleasant. Our room was spacious and clean, as was the bathroom. Breakfast with all the fixin's is included in the downstairs bar/restaurant. Staff there was also courteous and attentive. The TV's in the room only had analog stations, one negative, although minor. The heating unit had to be either on or off, no temperature control. Our main issue, however, was the noisy and boisterous bar patrons directly below our room (226) at night. There was cursing, loud music and general loud talking as patrons left the bar or smoked outside. I would assume this would escalate when the outside seating area is open in good weather. All in all, I would recommend the Grand Summit, just be asked not to have a room in the back overlooking the bar/parking area.

Room Tip: Don't get a room overlooking the bar's parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobalcorn5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear bobalcorn5,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with such a wonderful feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and we appreciate very much you bringing some of the negative items you noted to our attention. We do employ overnight security to maintain quiet in the hotel, so I apologize that we failed to minimize the noise from some of our wedding guests during your stay. We will continue to work very hard to provide a comfortable experience for all of our guests.

You will also be happy to hear that we just upgraded our TV package to add additional channels and movie offerings. It has been well received by our frequent guests.

We look forward to the opportunity to host you again when your travels take you back to the beautiful town of Summit.

Sincerely,

Michael Marino
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed at the Grand Summit recently and found it to be very comfortable stay. Fantastic room setup and recently renovated bathroom!! Stones throw from train to NYC and you have to try a burger and beer at the HAT Tavern! Highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: Upgrade if you can...highly recommend presidential suite...if not all rooms i've stayed in are g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CactusCup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear CactusCup,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write us such a wonderful review. We greatly appreciate some of the intricacies of our property that can make for such a great stay with us.

The Presidential Suites are a really comfortable way to stay in our historic hotel and really provide a great feel for the history of Summit. We also appreciate you pointing out the HAT Tavern that has been wildly successful since its unveiling 2 years ago.

We look forward to the chance to host you again when you return to the great town of Summit.

Sincerely,

Michael Marino
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summit
1.9 mi away
Hilton Short Hills
Hilton Short Hills
#1 of 1 in Short Hills
1,020 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Kenilworth Hotel
The Kenilworth Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kenilworth
495 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Murray Hill Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
The Madison Hotel
The Madison Hotel
#1 of 5 in Morristown
788 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
#1 of 1 in Springfield
46 reviews
5.8 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livingston
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Summit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Summit Hotel

Property: Grand Summit Hotel
Address: 570 Springfield Ave, Summit, NJ 07901-4599
Location: United States > New Jersey > Summit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Summit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Summit Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Summit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Summit
Summit Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing