We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream wedding!”
Review of Grand Summit Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Summit Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Summit
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We held our wedding reception at the Grand Summit on 11/5/11. We were very pleased with the personal service and attention they gave to our event. Our guests are still raving about how great the food was and the wonderful time they had at our reception! The wait staff was attentive to our guests and the event ran very smoothly. Teresa in the event department was a pleasure to work with during planning. She took a personal interest in our event and ensured it was everything we had dreamed it would be. Julio (our banquet manager) and his staff executed everything we had discussed with Teresa flawlessly. We had several guests stay the night/weekend as well. The hotel staff was very accommodating and ensured we had a pleasant stay. We made the right choice for our reception venue for sure!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tahryn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2011

Dear Tahryn N,

What an absolute pleasure it was hosting you and your family for your wedding day. The feedback you provided us here is just another example of how much we enjoyed serving you and your guests.

Thank you also for the kind words about our staff and management. It means the world to us!

I know you live local so I hope you will be a frequent visitor of the hotel and restaurant.

Please let me know when you plan to return so we can say hello.

Sincerely,

Michael Marino
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (503)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

395 - 401 of 503 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2011

We were staying at the Grand Summit while we were shooting a TV series. It was such a pleasure to arrive at the hotel after a long day and enjoy the charming ambiance. The location was great...the city just a 2 minute walk. Michael Marino was very helpful and accommodating to us and our crew. We look forward to visiting again in the future..

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helgaonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2011

Dear Helgaonly,

You can't ask for better advertising than this! We all work very hard to provide a comfortable experience for our guests and when we succeed and it is recognized it means everything to us.

It was an absolute pleasure hosting you and your family and we look forward to welcoming you back for years to come.

Michael Marino
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Stayed here on Saturday, November 26th as I had a family event to attend in the area. The hotel was very crowded on this Saturday night due to a wedding reception being hosted there, but it did not seem like many people were spending the night.

The postives included:

1. Great location if you want to walk to downtown Summit.
2. Charming rooms - old and quaint. Not large, but not NYC small.
3. Rooms were very clean, bed was very comfotable -- heating and airconditioning was old-fashion and a bit noisy.
4. Great complimentary breakfast -- excellend choices.


The negatives included:

1. Parking was a problem due to the attendees at the wedding reception. As a result, there was nowhere for overnight hotel guests to park. This was a major difficulty. There was valet parking (in theory), but the valets were overwhelmed and said that there was no where to park. Leaving your car parked out on the street several blocks away (particularly since street parking had time limits) was not a helpful suggestion.

2. Front desk staff at check-in were so busy talking amongst themselves that they didn't want to be bothered by guests. Very rude. However, the woman at check-out the next morning was very nice.

3. Elevators to rooms were old and needed to be upgraded.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking the front street for best view. Other views are simply of the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CynthiafromOhio2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2011

Dear Cynthiafromohio2011,

Thank you so much for providing us with your feedback both positive and negative. The positives you list include many of the wonderful aspects of our hotel.

Regarding the negatives, it sounds like you arrived right in the middle of one of our exclusive weddings. The hotel does include an abundance of parking, however, when the hotel is full and a large party is taking place it can make parking a challenge. In addition, the renovation of our restaurant to the brand new HAT Tavern has been overwhelmingly positive and delivered crowds to the hotel we have not seen in a long time.

Regarding our front desk, I was disappointed to hear that one of our shifts offered a less than hospitable atmosphere. On the other hand I was pleased to hear that you were pleasantly surprised by the other team member who provided you with wonderful service. You can be sure your comments will be shared with the staff and corrective action taken.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Grand Summit Hotel soon!

Michael Marino
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We just visited this hotel for an overnight stay after a wedding that we were attending in the same location. The hotel has old time charm, and the character that comes along with it. That said, the rooms are SMALL. Just for the two of us, this hotel room and bathroom was smaller than my bedroom at home. The layout in the rooms was a bit strange, and the bathroom was very tiny. The rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable. Nice for an overnight stay, but probably not somewhere I would choose for an extended trip.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rstoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2011

Dear Rstoner,

Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback you provided us. We work hard to provide a bed and breakfast feel to our return customers, and to have it recognized means a lot.

The hotel includes a wide variety of room types some more intimate than others. Some of our standard rooms have a tremendous amount of space and others are more suitable for one guest. In addition we have 18 suites of varying sizes that can be reserved for a modest increase in price.

There are not many hotels left in the country with the history and detail of a property like this. This variety in accommodation type allows our guests a different feel each time they visit the property.

We thank you again for your feedback and look forward to hosting you again soon.

Michael Marino
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

As a woman traveling alone I sometimes feel insecure and nervous when visiting an area I am not famiiar with. The location of the Grand Summit, close to beautiful downtown Summt was a pleasant surprise. Parking is easily accessible in a well lit safe area, the staff greeted me in the front lobby, which I found to be very charming, and were very friendly and accommodating. The room was spotless and offered everything I needed to enjoy my stay. The full breakfast offered in the morning, which is complimentary, was a nice change from the continental style. It was great to be able to have a quick breakfast and catch up on the news on one of the big screen tvs in their restaurant downstairs. The Grand Summit is a welcome change from the larger, less personal, big name hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2011

Dear Lisa R,

I could not have asked for a better advertisement for our hotel to our female travellers! We have always made a point of promoting the safety and security that a town like Summit offers to its visitors. To have you recognize this aspect of our property and area is fantastic.

In addition, the pleasant exchange you had with our staff is indicative of what we strive to do everyday in providing a welcoming environment for our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Grand Summit Hotel in the near future and thank you for your comments.

Michael Marino
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

My family spent the weekend of oct14/16 2011 at the Grand Summit Hotel for an affair. The entire staff was wonderful , from Michael Marino ,the asst. gm,Jennifer and Joy at the front desk, Larry 's bell service , to housekeeping ,they were all very courteous and attentive. The food as always was outstanding. It's an old Hotel but it's well decorated, cozy,warm and a happening place. This was our second time staying there. I would suggest The Grand to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RGrosswald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2011

Dear RGrosswald,

Thank you so much for your kind words. To hear you speak so glowinglyof your stay means the world to us. We work very hard to ensure a comfortable experience for all of our guests and it is great to hear when we have succeeded like this.

We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Michael Marino
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

My only challenge with this hotel is that the rooms are smallish, and there was no tub in my room. It is top notch though, beautiful and historic.

Room Tip: I'd suggest a higher floor. Stayed on the first and it was a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SavannahLady2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael46855, Manager at Grand Summit Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2011

Dear SavannahLady2010,

Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback regarding your stay with us, we very appreciate it. Most of our rooms do have bath tubs. The renovated rooms in the back of the hotel have the new tumbled-stone showers. We can certainly ensure you have a tub in your room when you return to the area as a majority do include a tub.

We thank you again for the wonderful feedback and look forward to hosting you again soon.

Michael Marino
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summit
1.9 mi away
Hilton Short Hills
Hilton Short Hills
#1 of 1 in Short Hills
1,121 reviews
6 mi away
The Madison Hotel
The Madison Hotel
#2 of 5 in Morristown
853 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Kenilworth Hotel
The Kenilworth Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kenilworth
660 reviews
5.8 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livingston
776 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Murray Hill Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Summit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Summit Hotel

Address: 570 Springfield Ave, Summit, NJ 07901-4599
Location: United States > New Jersey > Summit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Summit
Price Range: $158 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Summit Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Summit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Summit
Summit Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing