We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Home Away from Home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of DeBary Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
DeBary Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Summit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Beach Gardens, Fl
1 review
“A Home Away from Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2006

We found this B and B on the Internet, but also have family in Summit. We found our stay to be extremely pleasant and are looking forward to our return in January of '07. Anita and Hill are wonderful innkeepers and so very friendly. They made us feel like we were home!!!!!!!!!!! And the breakfasts were beyond delicious. Highly recommend this Inn .

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank geeze1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    47
    13
    11
    4
See reviews for
45
59
31
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
PBFL
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2006

I have stayed many times at the DeBary Inn this past year. The establishment is charming inside and out though the exterior is currently being re-done. The rooms compliment the decor of the Victorian house. The two rooms I have stayed in were spacious and clean. There is a side room with a fridge and microwave for guests use along with healthy snacks. One can melt in the fluffy, thick towels after a shower. Anita's epicurean breakfasts are fit for a King: poached pear, pecan pancakes, salmon, eggs benedict, chicken/turkey sausage, fruit, yogurt to mention a few. Her homemade fruit preserves are to die for.

  • Liked — the fruit preserves and the yellow bird
  • Disliked — nothing really
  • Tips/Secrets — none
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PBFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2006

Delicious breakfast, comfortable bed, and most important, very nice house keeper, Anita and Hill, all these make me feel like home.
The Debary Inn locate in Summit Downtown, a very beautiful town. Has many restaurants nearby, Italy, Frenchy, Japanese, Chinese, Thai, etc.
Close to public traffic, it takes 7 minutes walk to Summit RailStation and bus station.
Only one thing you should pay attention to: There is no private restroom. But for a hiker like me, there is no problem.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
Thank AisaTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis TN
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2006

Anita and Hill Rose are the nicest, most attentive hosts you will ever find in a B&B. Anita is a gourmet chef and breakfast is fabulous. Location could not be better for a trip to northern/central New Jersey or even New York (commuter train is a five minute walk from the inn). The rooms are clean and well furnished. The inn was dated and the Roses had a big renovation job when they bought the inn earlier this year. They are aggressively remodelling and we are certain that after they finish the rooms will be every bit as spectacular as the food and the gracious attention they pay to their guests. We would go out of our way to find a chance to stay at the DeBary Inn on a future trip.

  • Liked — The Roses
  • Disliked — Bathroom is to be remodelled
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LovelyGarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2006

The DeBary Inn is a lovely B&B and a refreshing escape from the standard "sanitized" rooms of chain hotels. It is a beautiful work in progress. Anita and Hill have created a wonderful escape. Their hospitality is wonderful and breakfast even better. We look forward to staying again and are excited to see all the renovations once completed. The DeBary I am sure will soon be the premier place to stay in the Summit, New Jersey area.

  • Liked — The sheets!
  • Disliked — First Impression (siding under construction)
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for room with large bathroom
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peaceonvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2006

the DeBary is a charming, comfortable and gracious place to stay. Anita and Hill Rose make guests feel welcome with their five-star customer service, immaculately clean rooms and delicious, healthy, beautifully served breakfast. I would'nt stay anywhere else when visiting Summit!

  • Liked — The gracious hospitality
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank scmpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, VA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2006

Date: 18 - 20 Aug 2006:

Reviewer: Daughter, Boyfriend, & Mom; Lynchburg, VA.

Before arriving, the Hills sent information on the Inn.

We were greeted by Anita & Hill, the Innkeepers when we arrived at 2:30pm. We had two rooms on the second floor, next to each other. We were given keys to the front door and our rooms, so we could enter the Inn at any time. We were shown to our rooms and assisted with bringing our luggage inside and upstairs to our rooms.

We were shown the common area that included a microwave & large refrigerator. It contained cold bottled water and other healthy drinks. Complimentary snacks were available.

Lastly, we were given an Information Sheet containing the times for breakfast and cell numbers for the Innkeepers.

Our rooms were large and clean, the décor matched the French 1880's. We had an iron and ironing board in each closet. Our bathroom contained very soft luxurious wash cloths, large sheet and hand towels, along with toiletries. Our beds were comfortable and had high end sheet. When we returned from the reception, we had turn down service.

We enjoyed our breakfast on the front porch, watching the neighborhood. The food was fresh and organic. I don’t drink coffee and our innkeepers brewed hot tea.

Later we strolled to downtown Summit, checking out the different shops. I wish we had more time to visit the area; we attended a family wedding function.

My mom enjoyed herself so much.

Helpful?
Thank pageslyfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summit
0.8 mi away
Grand Summit Hotel
Grand Summit Hotel
#1 of 1 in Summit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Short Hills
Hilton Short Hills
#1 of 1 in Short Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Kenilworth Hotel
The Kenilworth Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kenilworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Murray Hill Hotel & Suites
6.3 mi away
The Madison Hotel
The Madison Hotel
#1 of 5 in Morristown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
5.5 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DeBary Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DeBary Inn

Property: DeBary Inn
Address: 265 Springfield Ave, Summit, NJ 07901-3607
Location: United States > New Jersey > Summit
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Summit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DeBary Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in a quiet residential street in Summit's historic North End. The DeBary Inn is newly remodeled and redecorated, and we have taken great care to make sure that you are comfortable and feel at home. Located at 265 Springfield Avenue, in an amazing neighborhood that is renowned for its magnificent Victorian homes, the DeBary is just one block from chic restaurants and charming boutique shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your DeBary Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Debary Hotel Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing