We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of DeBary Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
DeBary Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Summit B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lutherville, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

I traveled to New Jersey to visit family and just couldn't justify to price at the Hilton in Short Hills. I've always enjoyed staying at B&B's but hate the musty smell and clutter. Step back my friends because the DeBary Inn is not your typically B&B! It's easy to access from the highway. It's in walking distance to town, which is charming. The DeBary Inn has been undated for your convenience. The room wasn't huge, but it was clean, bring and comfortable. The staff was super friendly. And, you can enjoy your morning coffee on their grand, front porch! I'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    50
    15
    11
    4
See reviews for
46
60
32
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

There are 2 types of hotel guests. Those who want the same things no matter where they are and those who like to experience the place they are visiting. The DeBary Inn is for the second group. It's not a hilton or a marriott, it's the DeBary Inn and that's what I loved about it.
The rooms are lovely, each one different. Mine had a four poster bed high off the floor and it was seriously comfortable. Every guest was friendly and breakfast was a time to catch up with friends you'd made the night before on the porch as well as the manager Jon and one of the owners Mike. Wednesday night was a bbq on the porch with excellent food, company and cocktails.
All in all, if you're looking for somewhere different to stay in Summit - then the DeBary is the place to go.

Room Tip: Room 5 was lovely - great size. There are bigger one though - so ask when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie_ie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

I visited the DeBary Inn with my pre-teen son. Very nice large house (think Anne of Green Gables) situated in Summit, New Jersey about an hour away from New York City by train. The breakfast which was included goes way beyond the stale buns found at chain hotels. John the innkeeper was more than patient and nice with us and helped us out of a couple of sticky situations. The room was small but more than adequate (clean, comfortable) for our needs. We felt safe and a certain warmth from the place - as if we were at a friend's house. Even the other guests were friendly and cheerful. I wouldn't recommend this house for young kids. It's really meant to be a quiet oasis away from the bustle of New York City. Passes to the YMCA were included, but we did not have a chance to use them.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CriCriFischer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maumee, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

The DeBary Inn is a fantastic place to stay and I highly recommend it! Jon, Michael, and all the staff at the DeBary do a terrific job of taking care of you and making your trip memorable. From a nice breakfast to start off your day to well appointed rooms for a relaxing evening, the DeBary Inn makes you feel right at home! The Inn is situated in an ideal location, within walking distance to downtown Summit and some excellent restaurants, like Food and the Village Trattoria (who has the best pizza around!). And the DeBary is also the perfect spot for making trips into the City as well as the Jersey Shore. Make sure to book your stay at the DeBary Inn for your next trip to NYC and Northern New Jersey!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChadSabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loganville, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

Room was small but adequate; TV did not work, no note left to say an attempt had been made to fix problem. Received discount.

Breakfast was disappointing. Variety small; nothing fresh or hot, except coffee.

I would stay again, but place was over-priced.

Room Tip: Request someone shows you that TV works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EMB57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

This was our second stay at the Debary Inn. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. Our room was small but adequate, spotless, and comfortable. Two years ago, we had a larger room. The breakfast in included an ample variety of tasty hot and cold items. Whether you are in the area on business and/or pleasure, we highly recommend the Debary Inn.

Room Tip: We recommend requesting one of the larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester-by-the-Sea, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

I have been visiting the Debary Inn for almost 2 years now. The service is top notch, and Jon the inn keeper could not be more accommodating. The rooms are well appointed, impeccably clean, and very comfortable. Very much a feeling of home. They serve a nice breakfast in the morning, and the coffee is delicious. Always a good sign. If you are a business traveler, or visiting the area on holiday, I would highly recommend the Debary Inn.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summit
0.7 mi away
Grand Summit Hotel
Grand Summit Hotel
#1 of 1 in Summit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Kenilworth Hotel
The Kenilworth Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kenilworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Murray Hill Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hilton Short Hills
Hilton Short Hills
#1 of 1 in Short Hills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Madison Hotel
The Madison Hotel
#1 of 5 in Morristown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
5.5 mi away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DeBary Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DeBary Inn

Property: DeBary Inn
Address: 265 Springfield Ave, Summit, NJ 07901-3607
Location: United States > New Jersey > Summit
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Summit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DeBary Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in a quiet residential street in Summit's historic North End. The DeBary Inn is newly remodeled and redecorated, and we have taken great care to make sure that you are comfortable and feel at home. Located at 265 Springfield Avenue, in an amazing neighborhood that is renowned for its magnificent Victorian homes, the DeBary is just one block from chic restaurants and charming boutique shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your DeBary Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Debary Hotel Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing