We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Polished floors, high ceilings and a fireplace.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Huntley Taverne

Huntley Taverne
Ranked #4 of 69 Restaurants in Summit
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Summit, New Jersey
Level Contributor
191 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Polished floors, high ceilings and a fireplace.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

The ambiance at Huntley has the feel of being in a setting for an architectural magazine:polished wood floors, high ceilings with wood beams, stone fireplace. A taverne, as they spell it, but definitely upscale. Likewise the food. Fish is particularly well done, and you can't go wrong with the burgers. Wood fired pizza is more of the traditional variety at lunch---some unique choices at dinner. One of my favorite salads on the menu is crispy calamari. You might want to ask them to lighten up a bit on the Thai miso vinagrette dressing or have it on the side. Fine selection of wines
as well as beers. Porch dining is also available in good weather and heated on cooler days.
Service depends on whom you get, usually okay though not memorable.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    94
    38
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, New Jersey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great 4 star restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

Restaurant strives to be a five star restaurant. Great ambiance. The prices are quite expensive though. Tables were dirty and when you substitute something on the menu for dietary restrictions they do not offer you a substitute. Make sure you make reservations. The Tuna was very good. The Mahi Mahi was excellent. The Filet Mignon was average.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank doctorsnotmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
127 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good Times!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

This tavern was recommended to us to try out while we were here in Summit so we did! It was Mother's Day so we weren't sure about the crowd so I called ahead and made a reservation. We arrived and our table was ready. We sat on the patio which was very nice. We were "double teamed" by John and another guy who's name I forget. Sorry about that. John was very friendly and not stuffy as one might anticipate here. Our drinks were brought out promptly and quenched our thirst quite well. We ordered the fried asparagus which was very good. I ordered the pork chop and wifey got the monkfish. Both very good. The outdoor seating was wonderful as the weather was just perfect. Our entertainment was watching a mysterious Rolls Royce sitting across the street with its lights on for a good 20 minutes. What was going on inside anyway. Okay, I digress, sorry. Overall the Huntley Tavern is a great spot frequented by what appeared to be locals. A bit pricey but for the right occasion, worth every penny.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kipkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great fancy food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

Love love this place. We are in the suburbs of NJ so not the most exciting, exotic food. Huntley always delivers great food and it's such a lovely atmosphere! Fireplace is gorgeous! It's a fab spot for Sat afternoon lunch or Sun brunch. Happy hour is always hopping in the bar. Service is ok, nothing to remark about. The food is great, though. Really great!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank L R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
“Always a great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This restaurant is one of the best and dining there (or simply having a cocktail) is always a very pleasant experience. The food is consistently excellent, the service always great and the ambiance perfect.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Arthur B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huntley Taverne also viewed

 

Been to Huntley Taverne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing