We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty food & friendly service”

Summit Thai Cuisine
Ranked #54 of 71 Restaurants in Summit
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
West Caldwell, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Tasty food & friendly service”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

My family & I have been coming here for years & we've always enjoyed the food & service. It's one of our favorite restaurants in Summit. We've tried a lot of their dishes, but our favorites would have to be their noodle dishes (so savory & not overly sweet), tamarind duck (crispy with a nice salty sour sweet flavor) & crispy fried whole fish. The owner & staff are very nice & attentive. It's located in downtown Summit inside a building, so look for a small sign or you might miss it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 211sear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    12
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
1,067 reviews
858 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,115 helpful votes
“Summit Thai is definitely not a Thai summit!”
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant may survive by catering to guests craving Thai food in Bukina Faso, but how can it be successful in a supposedly-sophisticated NYC suburb like Summit, NJ?? The dishes range mainly from passable to good (only a few ones are bad), but the main point is that they are NOT authentic - from the salads, to the tom yum, the sauce(s) accompanying the whole deep-fried fish, the curries, etc. Service is extremely friendly, but that is the only thing that is Thai about this eatery! You have to bring your own Singha as the place does not have a liquor licence.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central NJ, USA
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Thai food, friendly staff”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

I'm a regular here and it's some of the best thai food I've had anywhere. It's unpretentious, fresh and yummy. The staff is friendly and remembers me when I visit. I like it and recommend it. The prices are good too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rubberbandeffect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsippany, New Jersey, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, a bit difficult to find”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Several of us had the Tom Yum soup - very yummy. I Enjoyed the Red Curry Chicken - very tasty. Quantity of food was more than adequate. Others had the Green Curry - no leftovers...

The restaurant has a small sign - very easy to miss. We were a party of (4) - everyone enjoyed their dinners. Pretty low key atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Thai, tucked away”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Have eaten there many times.Like their Thai Curry dishes which are reasonably priced $14.95 a little more for shrimp.Their Holy Basil dish is really worth a try as well . It is made with chili,garlic,onion,green bean,mushrooms and thai basil . It's a bring your own which makes this place even more affordable. It may be a little hard to find as it is tucked away.The service is good, decor pleasant thumbs up for this place

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Annloves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Summit Thai Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Summit Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing