We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classic Jesey Diner”
Review of summit diner

summit diner
Ranked #6 of 70 Restaurants in Summit
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
111 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Classic Jesey Diner”
Reviewed March 15, 2012

This place is an ol’ school diner at it’s best. Service is efficient, sometimes stoic but fine. Food is classic Jersey Diner fare. Breakfast in the Summit area, hit this place its well worth it…..

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    43
    12
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Traditional Diner - Good Food”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

It's fun to eat in this old fashioned diner. It is cozy with typical diner food. My western omlette was good, but not great. Service wasn't too friendly, but it was very quick. Home fries were yummy. Warning for the ladies - if you go to the ladies room, it is very tiny!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LookingForWarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Traditional diner fare”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

This is a fun diner, set in an old train car. It's just across from the Summit Train station. Nothing fancy, but good diner food.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The coziest, most comfortable, warm and friendly diner in NJ!”
Reviewed December 3, 2011

This is quite simply the BEST comfort food place to eat in all of New Jersey! While I don't live in town, I frequently find myself craving a meal at the Summit Diner. It is like going home. The men behind the counter (especially Billy) are so warm and welcoming and we also very much like the younger dark haired daytime waitress who is incredibly sweet. The breakfasts are wonderful! I can especially recommend the ham and eggs. I don't know of any place that I can go to and get ham which is cut off the bone. It is amazing! The soups are excellent and are homemade. It is a great place to take kids and you will never be disappointed with your meal. It is so worth driving to Summit because I know that wonderful food and wonderful people will be there when I walk in the door. It is an incredible value as well. Truly love this place!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank notacomplainer50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
73 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Classic diner fare - a staple”
Reviewed October 17, 2011

If you like nostalgic diners with very good food THIS is the spot. Classical in every sense. I had delicious split pea soup, and a grilled cheese. He had the meat loaf dinner, which could serve a small family. Simply to be gluttons we tried the cheese cake dessert, and it was the perfect blend of rich flavor and light texture. In other words, save room for it. Unexpected, I know. But get the cheese cake for dessert.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary-EllenCallahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed summit diner also viewed

 

Been to summit diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing