We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Diner - Good Food”
Review of summit diner

summit diner
Ranked #5 of 74 Restaurants in Summit
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout
Reviewed March 12, 2012

It's fun to eat in this old fashioned diner. It is cozy with typical diner food. My western omlette was good, but not great. Service wasn't too friendly, but it was very quick. Home fries were yummy. Warning for the ladies - if you go to the ladies room, it is very tiny!

Date of visit: March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LookingForWarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 129 of 132 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2012

This is a fun diner, set in an old train car. It's just across from the Summit Train station. Nothing fancy, but good diner food.

Date of visit: February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

This is quite simply the BEST comfort food place to eat in all of New Jersey! While I don't live in town, I frequently find myself craving a meal at the Summit Diner. It is like going home. The men behind the counter (especially Billy) are so warm and welcoming and we also very much like the younger dark haired daytime waitress who is incredibly sweet. The breakfasts are wonderful! I can especially recommend the ham and eggs. I don't know of any place that I can go to and get ham which is cut off the bone. It is amazing! The soups are excellent and are homemade. It is a great place to take kids and you will never be disappointed with your meal. It is so worth driving to Summit because I know that wonderful food and wonderful people will be there when I walk in the door. It is an incredible value as well. Truly love this place!

Date of visit: November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank notacomplainer50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

If you like nostalgic diners with very good food THIS is the spot. Classical in every sense. I had delicious split pea soup, and a grilled cheese. He had the meat loaf dinner, which could serve a small family. Simply to be gluttons we tried the cheese cake dessert, and it was the perfect blend of rich flavor and light texture. In other words, save room for it. Unexpected, I know. But get the cheese cake for dessert.

Date of visit: October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mary-EllenCallahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

This 1938 diner is truly a classic. Walking into Summit Diner takes you back in a flash to that era. Eight booths and twenty stools at the counter this diner looks and still probably handles the same way it did back in the late 30's. Lots of good home cooked food at a low price.

Leave your diet at the door and go in to enjoy yourself and the atmosphere, it is well worth it.

Summit Diner also gives back to the community by donating to "Other Fellow First".

If you find yourself close to Summit, New Jersey treat yourself to this little jewel, Summit Diner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BabyBoomerWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed summit diner also viewed

 

Been to summit diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing