We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"It's a shore thing"”

Mildred's Strathmere Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Strathmere
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Haddonfield, New Jersey
1 review
“"It's a shore thing"”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

While dining at Mildred's this holiday weekend, had a wonderful meal ! Never in all my experiences there have I ever had a bad meal or service. Will have to return before they close if not will have to wait till spring for my Chicken Florentine & Homemade pasta with white clam sauce & there amazing desserts.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank came611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    58
    12
    7
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ocen City, NJ
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Shrimp Scampi with Gravy”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Ordered Shrimp Scampi and the sauce was all lemon and flour. It was like a white gravy. They were very nice about returning the dish. It was difficult for us to return, but it was that bad. Also, don't sit near the bathrooms - nothing but flies. Wait staff seem to know something was wrong and they were very nice.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food in a relaxed environment”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Four of us ate dinner at Mildred's last month. We each ordered a different meal and all of us loved our food, from appetizers through desserts. The service was perfect. The atmosphere casual, but quiet and comfortable. The prices were reasonable given the quality of food and service. Our table averaged about $50 per meal.
I highly recommend the stuffed shrimp, which was stuffed with crab, not breadcrumbs. The vanilla cheesecake was very light with the perfect amount of vanilla.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank n0goodnamesleft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“This place is living on reputation alone!”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Mildred's is supposedly an institution in Strathmere so we couldn't wait to try it. It sure is popular. Even with a reservation we waited 30 minutes for a table and this was AFTER Labor Day so not in the peak season.
All our meals were just so-so. The prime rib was GIGANTIC but not at all tender and was very fatty and pretty tasteless.
Our server was downright grumpy and seemed like she didn't want to be there at all!
This place really needs to be updated...the decor is old and worn.
All and all, I would NOT recommend this place and will not return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank schmerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Not much going on in Strathmere, which is a good thing! Mildred's is a great gem in South Jersey. Consistently good food. Family run operation, with Sallee at the front desk, daughters as waitresses and Dad's in the kitchen. Always get the homemade pasta, although it's $3 extra. Salad is always included with entrees, and if you don't like blue cheese, let them know or it will be added to it. Stick with the traditional Italian and Shore dishes: veal, tilapia and crab imperial. Fried oysters are always good, as is the calamari. I love the braciole, and suggest if you want it, to go early because it's always sold out.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank L K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mildred's Strathmere Restaurant also viewed

Strathmere, Jersey Shore
Strathmere, Jersey Shore
 
Sea Isle City, Cape May County
 
Sea Isle City, Cape May County
Strathmere, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Mildred's Strathmere Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing