We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“strathmere motel july 2013”
Review of Strathmere Motel

Strathmere Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Strathmere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Strathmere Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Strathmere
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This motel is really close to the beach.. Nothing fancy. It was clean and anything we needed , the on site manager was more than helpful... For the price, and a two minute walk to the beach that was not at all crowded, we would definitely come back. Our room 8 had a look out to the ocean and the bed was surprisingly comfortable.. The air condition unit could have been cooler.
Thanks Ray for your assistance and your good humor ! Fun week in Strathmere......

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ann h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CM247, Owner at Strathmere Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Ann, thank you for taking the time to review our little motel in Strathmere. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next stay with us. It goes without saying that we are thrilled that you enjoyed your Strathmere stay and be assured our concierge, Ray (Raymondo), will receive your praises. Have a great summer.

Semper Fidelis,
SM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 31 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

I would not recommend!!! Old & dirty. There is a reason why there are no interior pictures.
I thought I could get past the ancient decor but when I pulled back the nasty old comforter there was no top sheet on the bed. We did not stay! The price is cheap and there is a reason for that.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KMCWC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CM247, Owner at Strathmere Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

We appreciate your feedback. We do not advertise 5-star amenities or a decor that appeals to every guest, but we do promise clean comfortable rooms with a staff willing to go the extra effort to make your stay enjoyable. Your concerns were addressed. Please feel free to check our Facebook page for pictures of the interior of all of our available rooms. Though we made renovations after Hurricane Sandy our prices did not change for the summer of 2013. Many hotels/motels/B&Bs in the area raised prices following the hurricane seeing it as a great way to reap more profit but we refused to punish our repeat costumers and those that were already affected by the storm. We are sorry we did not meet your needs and hope you found a place that did.

Fair winds and following seas,
SM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I'll save my comments on the Jersey shore for another review, but if you find yourself looking for an affordable place to stay in Strathmere/Sea Isle, the Strathmere Motel is worth considering. We had a bunch of extended family renting houses in Sea Isle, but we didn't want to pay thousands of dollars and we were also looking for something with <1 week minimum stay. We ended up getting 2 rooms here, and then driving down to our relatives' houses during the day to go to the SIC beach. (The Strathmere beach is just as nice though, and doesn't require beach badges.)

The good... the accommodations were basic but fine. We had a small frig in the room that allowed us to keep drinks and some items for breakfast and packing lunches. One of the two rooms had a table and 2 chairs. The beds were comfortable, and maid service was available on request. The bathrooms were clean and adequate. (I might have preferred a tub/shower combo to the shower-only for the kids, but we made do.) The location is nice and the area is quiet. I think this place is far better than the Sea Isle motels.

The not-quite-as-good... when we checked the first night, the AC had been off in both rooms and it took a while for the rooms to cool down. The unit in one room never did do the job, however someone came and replaced it the next day. The wall in one of the rooms was crooked, and so the door was difficult to close (and impossible to lock, except for the chain lock, which we used overnight. During the day, kept our valuables in the other room). Also, there seemed to be a bit of a communication/record-keeping problem with the management...there was confusion over our check in and check out dates, and the check out person didn't know we had paid at check in. But everything was easily resolved and there were no "issues".

Overall we had a nice time and were satisfied with our stay here. I would recommend it as an affordable option for vacationers.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Momof4blessings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CM247, Owner at Strathmere Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Thank you for your thorough review of our motel. We greatly appreciate your feedback and truly hope you enjoyed your stay in Strathmere. Your "not-quite-as-good" issues are being addressed. Typically, we do turn off the air conditioners while the rooms are not occupied but apologize for any discomfort it caused you and your family. Thank you again and we hope to see you in the future. Have a great summer.

-SM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Beds are hard as rocks, sheets like paper. One bed so close to a/c window unit that is almost on the floor u get blown away and other bed its hot. No coffee. Beach is a short walk but don't plan on taking a stroller. There us deep sand for abt 1/2 a mile once u reach the beach till you get to the water... At high tide. Motel does have nice outside showers that are enclosed.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bailyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CM247, Owner at Strathmere Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear BailyFamily,

Thank you for your review of our Motel. We are sorry your stay with us warranted a two star review based on your dislike of our beds, sheets, air conditioner location, lack of coffee, and difficulty traversing the sand to the ocean. We hope to better serve you next time to make your stay more enjoyable. We will address the bed/sheet issues, but for coffee we recommend "The Shack" just a couple short blocks from the motel. They have great people and great service. For a shorter walk to the ocean we recommend possibly Sea Isle, Avalon, or Ocean City.

We did measure the distance from the beginning of the beach to the ocean today and it was not 1/2 a mile. From the entrance, it was approximately 300 steps (about 1/10 of a mile) to the ocean during low tide and approximately 100 steps during high tide. Just a reminder that beach tags are not required at Strathmere and we also have complimentary bikes, strollers, and kayaks for your use while you're a guest at the motel. We hope you have a great summer and find the lodging and beach that best suits your needs next time.

Sincerely,
SM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Strathmere is the best little town in America. At its widest Strathmere is no more than 3 blocks deep, nestled quietly between the bay and ocean. After a short walk, stop at Twisties on the Bay for a quick drink.

Besides its quaint location, the Strathmere beaches, a stones throw from the Motel, are among the best on the east coast. Deep with plenty of hard sand for a lazy walk or good run as well as soft sand to run your toes through while enjoying a restful break from reality.

We had stayed at the Strathmere motel years ago. Although the location was ideal, ownership had allowed the place to dip in quality. Under new management/ownership since 2011 (or 2010?), it is clear that the Strathmere Motel has been brought up to the standards it's ideal location demands. I highly recommend anyone looking for a tranquil stay on the Jersey beach, the Strathmere Motel is the ideal location.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank georgelovera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CM247, Owner at Strathmere Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

George,

Thanks so much for your review and we are glad to hear you like our motel. Also, thank you for your help and participation in Strathmere's annual Fourth of July Parade. Please stop by again and have a great summer.

Sincerely,
Strathmere Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

My wife and I ended up here after a failed camping trip to the Delaware shore (greenheads, anyone?? UGH!). We didn't have reservations and were basically just looking for a clean, safe place to stay that was near a quiet, free beach. This was exactly that.

The room was clean; the staff was friendly, and it was actually cuter than we expected... we loved the little patio area outside, and we appreciated some of the outdoor amenities, like the hammock, lawn chairs, etc. The bathroom was bigger than I'd imagined.

It did smell a bit musty/mildewy, which I imagine might have been due to Sandy.... everything along the shore undoubtedly suffered some water damage. It was nothing we couldn't deal with, even with our asthma. No visible mold or anything. Water took awhile to get hot, but get hot it did! No complaints there.

The beach is right in the back yard, essentially, and it's the nicest beach I've been to in the northeast... and you can't beat free!

Obviously not four-star accommodations, but if you're looking for a place to sleep, shower, and park your car (because you don't need to drive it all over the place, that's for sure!), this will certainly do.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mrs S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CM247, Owner at Strathmere Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Mrs. S,

Thank you for taking the time to submit such a thorough review and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in our "keep it simple" motel in Strathmere. We definitely enjoy this beach as much as you did!

Not sure if you talked to the manager upon your departure, but If you have time we'd like to get more information on the musky smell description/location. If you could email manager@strathmeremotel.com or give us a call at (609) 263-7272, we would greatly appreciate it.

Again, thank you for your review and we're glad you stopped in! Hope to see you again.

Have a great summer,
SM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The Strathmere Motel feels like a 50's roadside motel. It's definitely no frills, and you shouldn't expect anything else. Bring your own pillow, for sure. And expect road noise, if the windows are open.

The motel is a short block to the beach, which is massive and doesn't require a beach badge. They have a hammock and other chairs/tables in the "back yard", and the rooms on the 2nd floor have a patio with tables/chairs as well.

Good breakfast place a few blocks away.

Owner was there most of the weekend, checking people in and repairing some stuff.

Our room had a really nice tribute to a fallen Marine from Afghanistan. Assume the other rooms did as well. Marine and Irish flags are flying proudly on the site of the motel.

If you have the right expectations, you should enjoy the stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CM247, Owner at Strathmere Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dan, thank you for your review!

We sincerely hope you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return to enjoy Strathmere with us again. If you have any other comments or concerns please email us at manager@strathmeremotel.com .

Thank you again and have a great summer!

Be well,
Strathmere Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Strathmere Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathmere Motel

Address: 513 Commonwealth Ave, Strathmere, NJ 08248
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Strathmere
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Strathmere
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing