We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for what it is!”
Review of Strathmere Motel

Strathmere Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Strathmere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Strathmere Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Strathmere
Reviewed June 30, 2013

My wife and I ended up here after a failed camping trip to the Delaware shore (greenheads, anyone?? UGH!). We didn't have reservations and were basically just looking for a clean, safe place to stay that was near a quiet, free beach. This was exactly that.

The room was clean; the staff was friendly, and it was actually cuter than we expected... we loved the little patio area outside, and we appreciated some of the outdoor amenities, like the hammock, lawn chairs, etc. The bathroom was bigger than I'd imagined.

It did smell a bit musty/mildewy, which I imagine might have been due to Sandy.... everything along the shore undoubtedly suffered some water damage. It was nothing we couldn't deal with, even with our asthma. No visible mold or anything. Water took awhile to get hot, but get hot it did! No complaints there.

The beach is right in the back yard, essentially, and it's the nicest beach I've been to in the northeast... and you can't beat free!

Obviously not four-star accommodations, but if you're looking for a place to sleep, shower, and park your car (because you don't need to drive it all over the place, that's for sure!), this will certainly do.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mrs S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CM247, Owner at Strathmere Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Mrs. S,

Thank you for taking the time to submit such a thorough review and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in our "keep it simple" motel in Strathmere. We definitely enjoy this beach as much as you did!

Not sure if you talked to the manager upon your departure, but If you have time we'd like to get more information on the musky smell description/location. If you could email manager@strathmeremotel.com or give us a call at (609) 263-7272, we would greatly appreciate it.

Again, thank you for your review and we're glad you stopped in! Hope to see you again.

Have a great summer,
SM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 31 of 31 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

The Strathmere Motel feels like a 50's roadside motel. It's definitely no frills, and you shouldn't expect anything else. Bring your own pillow, for sure. And expect road noise, if the windows are open.

The motel is a short block to the beach, which is massive and doesn't require a beach badge. They have a hammock and other chairs/tables in the "back yard", and the rooms on the 2nd floor have a patio with tables/chairs as well.

Good breakfast place a few blocks away.

Owner was there most of the weekend, checking people in and repairing some stuff.

Our room had a really nice tribute to a fallen Marine from Afghanistan. Assume the other rooms did as well. Marine and Irish flags are flying proudly on the site of the motel.

If you have the right expectations, you should enjoy the stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CM247, Owner at Strathmere Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dan, thank you for your review!

We sincerely hope you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return to enjoy Strathmere with us again. If you have any other comments or concerns please email us at manager@strathmeremotel.com .

Thank you again and have a great summer!

Be well,
Strathmere Motel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed for two nights in July, family of four. Room was tight but clean. Price was cheaper than anything in OC or SI. Just needed a place to shower & sleep. Close to beach. AC unit old & bit noisy. Not for anyone looking for high end accommodations. Parents & kids too wiped to care anyway. Your at the beach. Not there to hang out in the room.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lew42012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Strathmere Motel last summer. We had a great weekend and were able to walk to the beach and restaurants in this quiet, safe town. The manager was friendly and the motel was clean. The motel is not upscale but there have been recent renovations and updates. Great location, great price, great service! Will be stayin there again, this year.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Turquoisesea44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

For the price and location (beach block) we got a clean room with a great location. This is not a high end hotel, however they don't advertise as such or charge crazy rates. The manager was nice and offered assistance. I would recommend this motel to friends who want a clean, safe and cheap place to stay at the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Modoc32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

My husband and booked this motel so we could be with our family. We expected just the basics but were extremly diappointed when our bed was not changed or made up, no clean toewls and there was very little to no hot water for showers. When we returned from our beach day we had to find our own towels and due to a very bad rain storm the tiolet did not flush, so another trip to the utility clost to find the plunger was needed.
We love Strathmere, but I do not think we will stay at this motel again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank BlueLiz02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathmere
10.3 mi away
Icona Golden Inn
Icona Golden Inn
#1 of 5 in Avalon
270 reviews
6.5 mi away
Port-O-Call Hotel
Port-O-Call Hotel
#3 of 31 in Ocean City
362 reviews
7.4 mi away
Ocean 7
Ocean 7
#6 of 31 in Ocean City
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
The Beachcomber Resort
8.4 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Somers Point
6.9 mi away
Harris House Motel
Harris House Motel
#8 of 31 in Ocean City
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathmere Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathmere Motel

Address: 513 Commonwealth Ave, Strathmere, NJ 08248
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Strathmere
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Strathmere
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing