We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love the Lark Motel”
Review of Lark Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stone Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lark Motel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Stone Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We love the Lark Motel”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I have been to the Lark many times over the last 5 years, the place is charming. It is clean and has a great pool (only 1 other hotel in Stone Harbor has a pool). I like to stay on the second floor for easy access to the sundeck/patio. Where you can watch all the runners and cyclists. There is also access to a gas grille and lots of seating at round tables with umbrellas. With the small kitchenette you can make a great meal if you prefer that to going out to eat. The Motel is within walking distance to town, the beach, the bay and within a bicycle ride from Avon and the popular Nun's Beach. This is a quaint, laid back beach town and the Lark Motel fits the scene perfectly. For us, there is nowhere else we would rather stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ASBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    19
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
50
24
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dillsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We enjoyed staying here. It is old and outdated but well maintained. It is very clean. I am super picky about that and this place was clean! The bathroom is extremely small (the shower stall is about 3'x3') but clean. The tv made us laugh (it was a 21" tube type on a little stand) but like my husband said "who watches tv when you are at the beach?" Our room had a small stove, frig. and microwave. Also there was a table and 2 chairs to eat at. The motel is in a great location and the people who work here were very nice. It was like going back in time but that's ok - it is what it is and we will be back. When you are at the beach sometimes all you need or want is a place to clean up and lay your head down and this fits the bill. Yes there is a pool but what we like is you are a block from the beach and all the shops and restaurants in Stone Harbor.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 4pickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Lark Motel, Stone Harbor, NJ. I haven't stayed here since I was a kid. The place hasn't changed. Still family owned, still spotlessly clean, quaint, quiet, and a great value. Convenient walk to the beach, with hoses and an outside shower to rinse off the sand. Nice sized pool, with plenty of lounge chairs poolside or on the upper deck. The staff is friendly and professional. I don't know if this is an off week, but the town sure was quiet, and the beach was wide open. This was a quick, pick up days for beach trip and was planned on the fly. The Lark Motel was a good choice to make it a great get away!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WillG1519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

This was an excellent motel and the staff was super friendly. The rooms were super clean and if they we not I have a feeling that they would have cleaned them right away! We were there during the offseason so the town was quiet which I really enjoyed. We were so impressed that we booked a 5 day stay this summer! Can't wait to go back down again!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Marcus P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schwenksville, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

What a wonderful hotel! Stayed for almost a week with my husband and son this summer. We had the room on the 2nd level right at the end by the sun deck - great room / location. We enjoyed the pool on days we were not going to the beach and loved how quiet the hotel was. Would be nice if they could upgrade the rooms a bit - but they were clean and really in great shape. Owners are super nice and friendly and always ready to give info on places to go. Short 2 block walk to 96th st and short walk to the beach. Really a perfect location, great hotel - loved our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laurie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The summer got away from us, but we decided to take the family down in mid-October, and were pleasantly surprised to find the Lark. Right near the beach, even though it wasn't quite swimming weather, was quite nice. We lucked into the 100th celebration for the Stone Harbor fire company, which was nicely done by the community. The rooms were beautifully cleaned, and the staff definitely took pride in their work. The front desk was staffed by a very friendly and helpful fellow Millersville U. grad. We had a great time, and hope to return in season some time in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ifletch99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

My wife and I stayed in the duplex behind the motel (which they own) for a week in September. My wife found out that they had last minute availability when someone had to cancel. We love Stone Harbor and have always had great experiences with The Lark. Once again, they did not disappoint.

Denise- the daughter of the owners who is there virtually all the time- is helpful and friendly and all around a wonderful host. She treats every guest like family. How many motel owners have you hugged at check out? Well, my wife did anyway. And actually, at check-in, too.

Sure, it's dated, but in a good, down-the-shore way. Everything is clean and well taken care of, and you can't beat the location. Everything downtown in walking distance. Throw in the overall wonderfulness (is that a word?) of Stone Harbor and Seven Mile Beach, and you can't go wrong at the Lark.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Floppedthenuts_AA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Harbor
1.0 mi away
The Beachcomber Resort
1.1 mi away
Icona Golden Inn
Icona Golden Inn
#1 of 5 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
#1 of 6 in Stone Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Concord Suites
The Concord Suites
#2 of 5 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
8.1 mi away
Icona Diamond Beach
Icona Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
11.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lark Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lark Motel

Property: Lark Motel
Address: 9800 2nd Ave, PO Box 306, Stone Harbor, NJ 08247-1959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Stone Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Stone Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated since 1968, we are open April through October. Lounge on our spacious sundeck with gas fired BBQ or swim in our sparking pool. Centrally located one block to the beach, shops, restaurants, movie theatre, mini golf and many other family friendly attractions. Come visit us and see why our customers return generation after generation from near and far. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lark Hotel Stone Harbor
Lark Motel Stone Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing