We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great off-season stay in Stone Harbor!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lark Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stone Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lark Motel
Save
You added Lark Motel to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Stone Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great off-season stay in Stone Harbor!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The summer got away from us, but we decided to take the family down in mid-October, and were pleasantly surprised to find the Lark. Right near the beach, even though it wasn't quite swimming weather, was quite nice. We lucked into the 100th celebration for the Stone Harbor fire company, which was nicely done by the community. The rooms were beautifully cleaned, and the staff definitely took pride in their work. The front desk was staffed by a very friendly and helpful fellow Millersville U. grad. We had a great time, and hope to return in season some time in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ifletch99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    17
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
40
23
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

My wife and I stayed in the duplex behind the motel (which they own) for a week in September. My wife found out that they had last minute availability when someone had to cancel. We love Stone Harbor and have always had great experiences with The Lark. Once again, they did not disappoint.

Denise- the daughter of the owners who is there virtually all the time- is helpful and friendly and all around a wonderful host. She treats every guest like family. How many motel owners have you hugged at check out? Well, my wife did anyway. And actually, at check-in, too.

Sure, it's dated, but in a good, down-the-shore way. Everything is clean and well taken care of, and you can't beat the location. Everything downtown in walking distance. Throw in the overall wonderfulness (is that a word?) of Stone Harbor and Seven Mile Beach, and you can't go wrong at the Lark.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Floppedthenuts_AA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

The staff are really what makes this place. A flash right out of the 60's
We will be back. And although we saw many other fancy places the Lark is still our preferrence. Book early as they are sold out nightly even in the off season

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lunapanzerdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Spent the last week of August at the Lark and we were very pleased as usual. It was our 4th stay and we are never disappointed. The rooms are super clean, the pool is in great shape and the staff are very friendly. Harry even attempted to speak french to my aunt and cousing who joined us this year from Montreal. The location is AAA right in the centre of Stone Harbor and a 3 minute walk to the beach. Very good value and always feel welcome. Will be back again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laflin, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We just returned from our second stay at The Lark. The owners and staff were accommodating, friendly and very informative. The Lark is very clean and walking distance to restaurants, shopping and the beach. When we go to the Jersey shore, we wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Gretna, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

Hotel was old and outdated. Something broke in or room and it took them all day to fix. No in room safe so we hung around all day while people went in and out of room. Our room was on the first floor and the owner was in the habit of propping open the pool gate with a piece of old garden hose because it made too much noise. How about get a plastic one that is not so noisy rather than put my child at risk? We would not recommend the Lark.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rxspo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Great value and location. Rooms are a bit dated but we love how close it is to the beach and the kids have enjoyed the pool. And outdoor shower would be nice (rather than a hose) but can live with it.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hehadfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LarkMotel, Owner at Lark Motel, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
We do provide an outdoor shower with hot and cold water. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Harbor
1.0 mi away
The Beachcomber Resort
0.2 mi away
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
#2 of 6 in Stone Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 220 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Concord Suites
The Concord Suites
#1 of 5 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 stars 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Icona Golden Inn
Icona Golden Inn
#3 of 5 in Avalon
3.5 of 5 stars 424 reviews
11.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#11 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 stars 598 reviews
8.1 mi away
Icona Diamond Beach
Icona Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
5.0 of 5 stars 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lark Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lark Motel

Property: Lark Motel
Address: 9800 2nd Ave, PO Box 306, Stone Harbor, NJ 08247-1959
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Stone Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Stone Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated since 1968, we are open April through October. Lounge on our spacious sundeck with gas fired BBQ or swim in our sparking pool. Centrally located one block to the beach, shops, restaurants, movie theatre, mini golf and many other family friendly attractions. Come visit us and see why our customers return generation after generation from near and far. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lark Hotel Stone Harbor
Lark Motel Stone Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing