We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Stone Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed at the Reeds the night before my sister's baby shower, which was also held at the hotel in their event space. The room that we had was absolutely breathtaking - everything is so crisp, so clean, so new. I love that they offer Malin+Goetz as their bathroom amenities - first class down to the bath soap! I also love that the guestrooms have that gorgeous hardwood floors that they had imported from Holland. There is just something so clean and classy about having hardwood instead of carpet!

The staff at the front desk was very nice and accommodating. The housekeeping staff is pleasant and friendly, and pay a great attention to detail. The location is great, and the view - whether of the town or bay - is amazing. The banquet space and food were also fantastic,and the overall event was a total success. The sales team - especially Julie, Krista, and Leslie - made our "dream" event happen. Victoria, the banquet manager, as well as her staff, ran the show and helped us with anything and everything that we needed. I can't wait to stay there again, and hopefully host another event soon!

Room Tip: Check to see if a room with a fireplace is available - I think there are only one or two!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephanielove53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieY20, Julie Yeager, Director of Sales at The Reeds at Shelter Haven, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Happy to see you enjoyed everything about your stay, including the Malin+Goetz soaps — even the littlest details make a big difference. It was a pleasure helping host your sister's baby shower and we hope you'll join us again soon. Thanks so much for supporting us with a five-star review and come back soon.

Take care,

Julie Yeager, Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 281 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Just stayed for 2 nights for a work function. The meeting rooms and hotel rooms were great with a very accommodating and friendly staff. Hotel room had plenty of "extras" to make you feel at home. Great location in the heart of Stone Harbor (96th street restaurants/shopping). Look forward to staying again in the future.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank newshtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieY20, Julie Yeager, Director of Sales at The Reeds at Shelter Haven, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Thank you for the five-star review! We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed working and staying with us and will make a point of passing along your compliments to the rest of the team. We pride ourselves on being a great place for both business and pleasure - glad that was your experience. Until next time, take care!

Best regards,

Julie Yeager, Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I was planning on a stay in July, but based on the behavior of the front desk staff I've decided against it. I spoke with Keith, who was quite rude and dismissive; I was just asking simple questions. Looking back, I see that this staff person has been singled out on Tripadvisor before as a problem. I teach at a University with at Hospitality program and know lots of polite, hard-working kids who need a job, and would NEVER consider treating potential hotel guests rudely.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
4  Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieY20, Julie Yeager, Director of Sales at The Reeds at Shelter Haven, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Good Afternoon James,

Thank you so much for your feedback. I am so sorry to hear this and apologize for your experience with our guest services agent. This behavior isn't representative of our services, as we work so hard to provide our guests with the friendliest possible experience from the very start. With this said, I will be sure to explore this situation with our front desk.

I truly appreciate your bringing this to my attention and if you do wish to visit The Reeds this summer, please reach out to me directly 609.368.0100 ext.2000. I would love to assist.

Best Regards,

Julie Yeager, Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We attended a function at this hotel and decided to stay the night. Check-in was easy and quick. Room was bright, clean and had everything we needed. Food at event was very good. Would recommend and stay again. Valet parking is available, we used street parking since it was easy on off season. Close to many stores and places to eat downtime. Only several blocks to beach-easy walking.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cvandenbraak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieY20, Julie Yeager, Director of Sales at The Reeds at Shelter Haven, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Thanks for taking a moment to share your wonderful experience with others! It's gratifying to hear you enjoyed everything from the food to the rooms, as we put so much care into all aspects of our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Best wishes,

Julie Yeager, Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

My wife treated me to an excellent birthday dinner at the Reeds in Stone Harbor, NJ. This was our first visit. It was cold outside but very pleasant inside. Theresa our waitress offered seats by the fireplace and it was a welcome suggestion. The French Onion soup was very good and the crab cake my wife had was one of the best she has had. My 8oz filet was perfectly prepared. Prices were within reason for the excellent meal, Don't skip the delicious in house made deserts.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieY20, Julie Yeager, Director of Sales at The Reeds at Shelter Haven, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

I'm happy we could make your birthday dinner that much more special, Bob. Thank you for sharing this with others! We always appreciate compliments about our food and service, so I'll make a point of passing along to the team; Theresa, included. Until next time, take care.

Best wishes,

Julie Yeager, Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed here over New Year's and what a pleasant surprise. Apparently they've only been open 6 months. The suite was absolutely beautiful. Lovely view of the bay, very tastefully decorated--one of the nicest places we've stayed. It wasn't cheap for a room over New Year's ($300+) but we were very pleased with the accommodations. The staff was exceptionally friendly. (We did not eat here.) The bed was very comfortable. I'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annehassel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieY20, Julie Yeager, Director of Sales at The Reeds at Shelter Haven, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thank you so much for the five-star review! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us over New Year's—can't wait to pass along your compliments to the rest of the team. Hopefully we'll get to welcome you back again soon!

Best wishes,

Julie Yeager, Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We selected to stay at the The Reeds due to limited off-season availabilty and a reception we were attend was held there. However, once there it was the right decision. The staff was really nice and attentive. The bartender Susan not only poured great drinks but was super friendly and was a great conversation. Conner at the front desk remembered our names the enitre weekend and would give a great saluation everytime we saw him, even talking about the area like a tour guide. The valets were even really nice although it was cold and raining when we first arrived.

Our rooms was warm and inviting (even in the dead of winter). Great looks and feel. Didn't need the a balcony to enjoy the view and feel like we were at the beach. the only down side is that the hotel does have alot of reception/wedding/celebration areas and the second night we were there there was a party in one of the banquet rooms that we could hear really well in our room. Thankfully it was over at 10pm. My advice is sit at the bar, enjoy some drinks and people watch until things quiet down. Hopefully, the hotel will set a no-noise time of around 10pm so all can enjoy the hotel.

We had lunch at the reception and the food, halibut and filet, were amazing and if indicative of the food at the resturant, you will want to eat at the Sax or outside resturant (can't recall the name) when it is open during the season. Speaking of the deck...that area is one of the highlights of this spot (similar to the lawn at Congress Hall). I could see it packed with people at sunset in the summer.

It is off season and I don't think the occuapancy was very high during our stay but the service was excellent. It is a small hotel and after the new hotel growing pains this should be on par with the likes of Congress Hall in Cape May for service and quality in a small location. My only hope is that if the managment wants to keep hotel customers a priority and the hotle not just become an banquet location, they need to figure out a way to place some priority on the hotel customers. Maybe a VIP area at the outdoor bar and resturant, or a couple of free drinks or late night snacks at the bars to keep overnighters from their rooms until the partiers calm down would keep everyone happy.

Room Tip: The Bay view rooms have suberb views even if you get one without a balcony. It might be a little lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JulieY20, Julie Yeager, Director of Sales at The Reeds at Shelter Haven, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

From all of us here at The Reeds, thank you for sharing your five-star experience with us William L! What you describes is exactly what we strive for here at The Reeds daily, and it's gratifying to know that we delivered. We also appreciate your recommendations and observations - they can only assist us in continually improving. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,

Julie Yeager, Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Harbor
1.0 mi away
ICONA Avalon
ICONA Avalon
#1 of 5 in Avalon
304 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Beachcomber Resort
12.2 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 37 in Cape May
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
ICONA Diamond Beach
ICONA Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
1,254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Colonial Lodge
Colonial Lodge
#4 of 6 in Stone Harbor
45 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Concord Suites
The Concord Suites
#2 of 5 in Avalon
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reeds at Shelter Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reeds at Shelter Haven

Address: 9601 3rd Ave, Stone Harbor, NJ 08247-1930
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Stone Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Stone Harbor
Price Range: $141 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reeds at Shelter Haven 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Reeds at Shelter Haven is a signature 37-room hotel resort intimately connected to its natural surroundings – with a blend of sweeping waterfront views and refined interior aesthetics, complemented by clean, contemporary décor splashed with coastal style. The property is designed for individuals seeking a new and distinctive experience along the southern New Jersey coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your The Reeds at Shelter Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing