We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Burgers!”
Review of Fred's Tavern

Fred's Tavern
Ranked #2 of 58 Restaurants in Stone Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Stone Harbor, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Burgers!”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

My wife and I stopped by Fred's last night for a casual meal. My wife had the blue cheese bacon burger and I had the California burger. They were medium rare, as requested, and delicious. Along with the onion rings this was a great meal in a casual setting. When we arrived there was a short wait for a table and we enjoyed a well mixed cocktail at the bar. We can't wait to return and try something else. There were about 3 great sounding specials listed on a blackboard, but we had our mind set on burgers.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    67
    21
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Canadian
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Interior is brand new and sparkling clean. Caters to lots of locals and tourists. The food is typical bar food but well presented and tasty especially the flounder burger. The bartender seemed to know all the locals and it was fun to sit at the bar and feel like one of the group. There is a dining room and also an outdoor room facing the street.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Enjoytheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone Harbor, New Jersey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Best Tavern in Stone Harbor”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

This is the second summer after the complete renovation that took place during the 2010-11 winter. This was the first major renovation since the early 1970's. The renovation included the addition of a kitchen, a second bar, and indoor and outdoor dining areas. Fred's has always been a favorite of the locals, and the addition of a full bar menu - available all year round - is a great addition. There is a good draft beer selection, numerous by-the-glass wines, and a menu including burgers, salads, apps, and home made soups. There are dinner specials on the weekends, and free munchies at Friday happy hour. Prices are quite reasonable (for Stone Harbor at least!), and quality is the best in town. Live music later in the evening, and weekly Quizzo and other special nights. Best of all, only 427 steps from our front door. http://www.fredstavernstoneharbor.com/

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wiliwali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone Harbor, New Jersey
1 review
“very good realy liked it”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

check out the FACEBOOK PAGE I checked it out n it was awesome!! i also realy liked the nachos, there worth trying!
4 couples, fammily, friends, solo

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CPT_Crash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fred's Tavern also viewed

Stone Harbor, Cape May County
Stone Harbor, Cape May County
 
Stone Harbor, Cape May County
Stone Harbor, Cape May County
 
Stone Harbor, Cape May County
Stone Harbor, Cape May County
 

Been to Fred's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing