We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bring the bug spray!”

The Wetlands Institute
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This nature center features exhibits on local marine life, along with activities like kayaking and dune walks.
Loretto, Tennessee
Level Contributor
92 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Bring the bug spray!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

I was looking forward to seeing the Wetlands Institute, but have to say I was disappointed. The intro film was boring and over 20 years old. Tried to do the nature walk, but an a couple & their out of control children ruined it. The exhibits were ok, and the grounds were beautiful. So all in all if it wasn't for the bugs & annoying family it would have been nice.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cordelia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    23
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
130 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great Study of the Wetlands and Significance”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

First off, there is nothing to dislike. It's all good! Even the "friendly" octopus on exhibit. Secondly, it's a terrific family excursion. Looking at how the wetlands interact and looking at the food chain is fascinating.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Norris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

A beautiful, peaceful, and laid-back educational spot with bright and clean exhibits and lots of stuff to see outside. While in the aquatic room alone, a super friendly, knowledgeable young man approached me to share lots of interesting bits of info in a friendly, conversational way, not lecture-ish. Great selection of books in the gift shop. Oh, and don't miss the eye-opening exhibits about horseshoe crabs. I'll be looking to flip any I can find :)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JerseyTraveler461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Grande, NJ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“WETLANDS is for YOU”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Stone Harbor offers an educational tour, and exhibit for everyone.
You will be amazed what you can learn about the creature in the Stone Harbor Wetlands. Locals, School class trips and tourists all enjoy the Institution. Sitters at the Shore, Babysitting Service.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sittersatthesho... N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Holly, New Jersey
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great place to visit with the kids”
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

The trails are fun to explore, the inside exhibits allow for play time and education. The staff is great at explaining the ecology of the wetlands, and convincing the kids its ok to touch their live animals on display. My boys loved it and I took some great family photos in the wetlands.

Helpful?
Thank MerMel75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wetlands Institute also viewed

Stone Harbor, Cape May County
Stone Harbor, Cape May County
 
Cape May, Cape May County
Stone Harbor, Cape May County
 

Been to The Wetlands Institute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing