We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here”
Review of Colonial Lodge

Colonial Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Colonial Lodge
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Stone Harbor
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Do not stay here”
Reviewed August 21, 2010

A/C was not cooling the room and had ice on the front of the unit. When reported, instead of replacing it with a new A/C as most places do, the manager told us to "use a knife and scrape off the ice". We asked for extra pillows and were told they did not have any. Eventually were given one pillow that was so damp and musty we did not use it. We will NEVER stay at this place again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank paa9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridgej1, Manager at Colonial Lodge, responded to this review, July 10, 2011
We are sorry that you felt so unsatisfied with your experience at the Colonial Lodge. The manager has been there for 20 years and takes great pride and responsibility in her motel and handles customer requests immediatley. We hope that you will keep Stone Harbor and the Colonial Lodge in your thoughts for your next beach getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    8
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
23
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2009

This motel is nothing special. The rooms are small and the amenities are basic (small soaps/small cheap towels). The rooms were clean. The best thing going for this motel is the proximity to the beach and an easy walk to the main part of town. I would reccomend this motel for a few days, but it would be too claustrophic to stay a week.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deePT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2009

The Colonial Lodge in Stone Harbor is the BEST!!

The lodge is clean, near to the beach and afforable!!

Another lodging option is the Risely Guest House located on First Avenue. This guest house room includes continential breakfast with lodging. Sit and relax on the porch as you enjoy your morning coffee

Helpful?
1 Thank chelsea555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2008

We were looking for a great place for a family of 4. The colonial lodge is very charming and clean with newly renovated rooms. Very nice! We wanted an excellent location and we got it. Just a short block to the beach. The property has an outdoor shower, clothes line, bike rack in a cozy surrounding. So this made our daily trips to the beach very easy. We were on the bottom floor so we were able to easily come in and out with all of our stuff daily. We also rode our bikes a lot, and the town of Stoneharbor is very nice for that. I was very pleased with the rooms, and even more pleased with the super sweet management and staff!! We didn't bring chairs, and ended up renting them from the hotel at only $3 each. This place is very quiet though, so our family may have been a little loud for typical residents there. My husband and I sat in the center courtyard one night and had wine under a full moon...that was beautiful. What a great time! Excellent value.

  • Liked — The charm, cleanliness of rooms...proximity to beach.
  • Disliked — A little too quiet for us.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank livewire44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royersford, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2008

Stayed at this motel on July 12, 2008. This lovely motel was one of the few that was flexible in its 2 to 3 day minimum stay rule and allowed us to stay just one night. We found others that would not allow it with large vacancy signs in front of their places, so the Colonial's flexibility was greatly appreciated. And what a lovely surprise! The owner, Lara, was extremely friendly and helpful. The room was a nice size, with 2 queen size beds. The room was decorated tastefully, with lots of attention to small details, such as chair and crown molding. It looked freshly painted. There were plenty of towels in the bathroom, and the owner loaned us a hairdryer, saying that all rooms would soon have them. The motel is located only a block from the beach and right near the center of Stone Harbor, so no need to move the car to go to Uncle Bill's Pancake House or Springer's Ice Cream. We were allowed an early check-in, and loaned beach tags before we checked in and after check-out. I would stay at this place again in a heartbeat. The rate we paid was $198 + tax a night. For the Jersey shore in prime location...in Stone Harbor and on the edge of Avalon, it was great. Much nicer than the last place we stayed in Ocean City.

  • Liked — Its location and the friendliness of the proprietor. Also their flexibility in relaxing their 2 to 3-day minimum stay.
  • Disliked — Early check-out - 11 a.m.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank irishmist1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2006

What a wonderful surprise! We are so accustomed to staying at beach hotels that smell musty and are generally falling to pieces -- even the high end resorts tend to leave something to be desired. So although we read all the reviews of the Colonial Lodge, we weren't really expecting much. But it was just delightful! It turns out we had the smallest room on the property, but it was perfectly adequate for us. Maybe not extra spacious, but certainly roomy enough. Everything was beautifully decorated and spotless -- definitely not your normal hotel quality furnishings. And you couldn't ask for a better location.... 2 easy blocks off the beach, and about 3 blocks from the quaint little shopping district.

OK, If I had to pick something to complain about, there are 3 things: the shower head (miserable spray!!), the freebie soap (too small) and no iron anywhere on the property (fortunately, another guest brought an iron and allowed us to borrow it if we helped them unload -- wait a second, who got the better deal here??!!) but heck, for all the pluses of this property (especially in relation to its price), aren't these silly things to complain about?!!?. The lady at the front desk couldn't have been more helpful and friendly, as were all the other visitors we met as we enjoyed sitting out on the verandah.

It took us a while to get our schedule to match the off-season restaurant hours ... but the two restaurants that we did find we were wonderful. Donna's Restaurant offers an early bird lobster tail and filet special for $13.95, and it was worth every penny. Smallish servings, but quite tasty. And the Italian Garden has a pizza crust / stromboli that is out of this world.

It's hard to imagine that we'd ever again want to drive 10 hours to go to the Jersey shore when we can be at the North Carolina coast in 2 hours -- but that's how much we liked this place. Very highly recommend it!

  • Liked — LOcation and cleanliness
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank FFSandwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2005

Stayed in the Colonial for one night, Aug 3, while visiting some friends in Avalon. Amazed by how nice it was. Usually Jersey Shore motels are ok, if not a little seedy. This one was super clean, had new bedding and furnishings and was really tastefully decorated. The Colonial theme carries over to the beautiful molding in the rooms, the wallpaper and the pretty, old fashioned black hardware on the doors to the rooms. The outside has a really nice slate patio where I sat and enjoyed the flowers with my coffee in the morning. Other guests are really quiet, so its definately not a place to party, but you wont hear people all night either. The rooms/barthrooms are pretty tight, not a lot of space at all really, but its so clean and nice you wont care. Pricey on the weekends but during the week it was pretty reasonable and I'll definately be staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
41 Thank ramblerreader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Harbor
0.8 mi away
Icona Golden Inn
Icona Golden Inn
#1 of 5 in Avalon
220 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
#2 of 6 in Stone Harbor
264 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Beachcomber Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Concord Suites
The Concord Suites
#2 of 5 in Avalon
469 reviews
8.4 mi away
ICONA Diamond Beach
ICONA Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
1,210 reviews
11.7 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Lodge

Property: Colonial Lodge
Address: 93rd and Second Ave., Stone Harbor, NJ 08247
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Stone Harbor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Stone Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Colonial Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Stone Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing