We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay, But Nothing Special”
Review of Colonial Lodge

Colonial Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Colonial Lodge
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Stone Harbor
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Based on reviews here we booked a room for a weekend in October 2012 for all the festivals and crafts fairs in the shore towns. Good Parts - It was a good price, clean, and quiet, but the rooms are old. They left enough clean towels every day, and it had an iron & board. It had a room fridge and is walking distance to town shops and beach. Off street parking is available but tight. There is a ceiling fan.

Bad Parts - Free WiFi but no where to sit your laptop on a table. Two old wing chairs jammed in front of the room with a teeny low lamp table between. Cushions were shot (you sink in a mile). No comfortable seating at all. No table space to eat takeout. Bathroom is particularly small. Coffee pot uses "packets" and they give you 2. It makes 2 cups of weak terrible coffee. Not a plus. Better to bring your own instant and nuke a cup of water. They could offer better in the office if they put in a large commercial pot.

It was okay for a weekend, perhaps the bigger suites are better, but I wouldn't want to spend a week in a room that small. Not w/o a table and better chairs to use.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Khiori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 45 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

This was the neatest,cleanest, independent small motel that we have ever stayed in ! They have all the usual accoutrements, Beds were excellent, too !I t's a perfect to visit with relatives in Stone Harbor without extra space. Only minutes walking to town, beach, restaurants and shopping. Saved $ with AAA and AARP, Too.

Room Tip: We like 1st floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nedct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

Our family has been staying here for the past 10 years. It's walking distance to the beach and to the center of town. The rooms are clean and there is wifi. The price is very reasonable compared to other places in the erea.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Drewlou102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We have stayed at Colonial Lodge for a week every year for the last 8 years. Beginning in 2011, we increased to a week in June and a week in September (Labor Day week). Colonial Lodge is always clean, neat and tidy. We always have a corner 2-room kitchenette, but all rooms have microwaves, coffee pots, and fridges. Frankly, I'm glad there's no pool. It keeps the property quiet, and there are other places (like Seaward) if a pool is desired. Pat and Laurie, the management, are like family, and there are other guests who feel the same way. If you're looking to use your HHonor points, forget it. This gem is so well worth the cost, we can't tell you. Colonial Lodge is located 2 short blocks from the beach and 2 blocks to the town center. Plenty of good restaurants in both Stone and Avalon, and NO franchised fast food places. WWe just wouldn't consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Norris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

I am an interior designer and the rooms were decorated in a Queen Ann motif that will never go out of style. Rooms were comfortable and cleaner than anywhere We've ever stayed before. The management and staff were excellent and made us feel like we were they're most important guests in Stone Harbor. Lori I hope you read this, our compliments to you and your staff.
By the way one of the reasons that the Management and staff treat you like family is because we found out most of them are family. The owners children work there and were every bit as competent and friendly as she was.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dennisbqbasementsyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

This is a spotless, ideally located Jersey shore (no frills) motel. Very helpful and charming manager allowed me to check in early on a steamy 100+ degree day. I met the housekeeper as she finished preparing the room for me and it was immaculate. Decor is Queen Anne and bathroom classic throwback to the 50s-60s (pink and gray tile). AC unit worked perfectly on the hottest day of the summer.

This was my second stay. Last Fall, the absence of a pool was a non-issue, but this time, I really missed it. The beach was simply too hot to enjoy, even though they give you a comp. badge for your visit. I wonder if they would consider giving guests the option to use the pool at one of their other local properties. If so, I would gladly stay here again w/o hesitation.

A bit pricey, but it is high season and in this case, you get what you pay for,

Room Tip: Stay on the first floor if you are disabled; there is no elevator to reach second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ludyjynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

My husband and I spent Labor Day Weekend in Stone Harbor at the Colonial Lodge. We enjoyed it very much. It's an older place...so don't look for brand new anything. However, it was clean and quaint and we loved it. It's close to the ocean and the shops. We look forward to returning for another visit in the Spring.
Our family vacations in Stone Harbor almost every year (we rent a home). This was a last minute trip we planned and were thrilled to stay at Colonial Lodge.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Harbor
0.2 mi away
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
#2 of 6 in Stone Harbor
285 reviews
0.8 mi away
ICONA Avalon
ICONA Avalon
#1 of 5 in Avalon
324 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Beachcomber Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Concord Suites
The Concord Suites
#2 of 5 in Avalon
507 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hyland Motor Inn
Hyland Motor Inn
#1 of 2 in Cape May Court House
203 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lark Motel
Lark Motel
#1 of 6 in Stone Harbor
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Lodge

Address: 93rd and Second Ave., Stone Harbor, NJ 08247
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Stone Harbor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Stone Harbor
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Colonial Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Stone Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing