We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place. Not outstanding.”
Review of Harbor Inn Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Stone Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harbor Inn Motel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Stone Harbor
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice place. Not outstanding.”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed in the 2BR unit with LR, tiny but adequate kitchen, ok bathroom. Everything was clean and neat, and the staff friendly and helpful. It is a great location, close to the beach and the shopping and dining area. But as stated in another review, there are a few drawbacks. No pool, even though it's sister/adjoining motel has one only steps away, we were not allowed to use it. Also, the wifi signal was so weak that it couldn't be picked up in the room, or even on the balcony. If you sat in the tiny lobby, there was a good signal, but there was really nowhere to be there. If you cross the street to the local real estate place, they have a free signal, and a couple of chairs and table on their porch where you can use it. I would stay there again, though I'd try to get a room at one of ther other nearby motels with a pool first.

Room Tip: Look at the rooms on their website to see the floor plans. Some are basic rooms. Some have more th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnePgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    19
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
17
12
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gibbstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Harbor Inn Motel with a friend of ours and we stayed in the 3 room + bathroom efficiency suite. It was perfect for sharing with a friend, we each had our own privacy with the separate bedrooms and the living area and kitchen was big enough for us to spread out and enjoy each others company what little time we were in the room.
Ceiling fans helped keep the air conditioning circulating into the bedrooms since the a/c unit is located in the small kitchen area outside the bedrooms...that would be my only complaint...the location of the a/c. I think it would be better to have an a/c in each of the bedrooms and leave the bedroom doors open in the day time to cool the living/kitchen area.
But aside from that...service of the housekeeping staff was good, friendly and efficient.
The price for the room was not too bad.
The "balcony"/walkway areas outside the rooms on the second floor is awfully narrow, though. If you or someone else was sitting outside the rooms, it was hard for whoever was walking by to get past without bumping into each other.
You can park here and walk just about everywhere you need to go in Stone Harbor, though, so that is good.
Our stay was in July of 2010 not 2011, but 2011 is the only option on the drop down menu provided.

Room Tip: The efficiency units are nice but if you don't like being in the "breezeway" area with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
106 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Harbor Inn is a basic 1950's-1960's motel refitted in the 1980's. Close to the beach and shopping/dining areas, Harbor Inn is in a good location and provides a reasonably clean room at a fair price. Stone Harbor is a quet beach town and Harbor Inn is a quiet place to stay. Breakfast at Uncle Bill's Pancake House is expensive but the service is almost as quick as McDonald's.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilliesFan097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

If you are looking for a no frills, clean place to stay, this is it. We left a bed and breakfast to come to the Harbor Inn Motel, because the bed at the B&B was extremely uncomfortable. We were pleasantly surprised to find that the motel room was very clean, and the bed was not bad at all. The airconditioner worked well, and the water pressure in the shower was great. Other than that, it was a typical shore motel room.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trance4Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
164 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

We stayed two nights at the end of the season and therefore got the room for a good price. There are four hotels in Stone Harbor close together on Second Avenue which appear to be associated. This is a basic motel. The room was clean, but dampness was a real issue. The bathroom was dated and needed some caulking work on the floor tiles. There was no exhaust fan which lead to a real issue with steam from showers. The end of the room near the air conditioner had very little light. It was fairly quiet, especially after about 9 at night. It's a short walk to the beach and there are chairs, umbrellas, etc. for rent. Office staff were helpful and immediately agreed to change our room to one further from the street. I would not want one of the rooms near the ice machine which was very noisy. Beds were a little soft for my liking.

Room Tip: Ask not to be near the ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

What a great stay! Our first trip to Stone Harbor. Great location 2 blocks from all the shops and restaurants. 2 blocks from the beach. Harbor Inn was cheaper per night than sister hotel Seaward (right behind it) and rooms were nicer IMO. Beach passes provided ($20 refundable deposit) at front desk. Beach umbrellas and chairs available for $5 for the entire day. Rooms were dated but spotless. Water pressure was solid. Air conditioner was cold. Beds and pillows were a little hard but not bad for a 3 night stay. Pay extra for the 2 queen room that comes with off-street parking, rent a beach cruiser from Stone Harbor Beach Bikes, and never touch your car keys again.

Staff was excellent! Made breakfast, lunch, dinner suggestions that were spot on and even hid ice cream cupcakes from Springers in the office fridge for a suprise bday party we were hosting over the weekend.

Will def be staying at Harbor Inn Motel in the future!!!

Room Tip: Bring your own pillows and bottles water for the microfridge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank frank_white_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

3 friends and I stayed at this hotel the second weekend of the month in July 2011. We really enjoyed it. It was my first time in Stone Harbor and I was more than impressed with the amazing atmosphere of the town.

The Harbor Inn is older but very cute. The people were very nice that helped us. The room itself was clean. The bathroom was pretty clean but older so maybe if they updated those it would help with return customers.

Regardless my friends and I are already planning a trip back this September or Fall.

Great value, great location, just awesome!!

Thank you so everyone there!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MIssAmber212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stone Harbor
1.0 mi away
Icona Golden Inn
Icona Golden Inn
#1 of 5 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Beachcomber Resort
0.2 mi away
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
#1 of 6 in Stone Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Concord Suites
The Concord Suites
#2 of 5 in Avalon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
11.7 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
12.3 mi away
Sandpiper Beach Resort
Sandpiper Beach Resort
#13 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Inn Motel

Property: Harbor Inn Motel
Address: 97th and Second Ave., Stone Harbor, NJ 08247
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Stone Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Stone Harbor
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Harbor Hotel Stone Harbor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing