We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For Years Our Favorite B&B”
Review of Woolverton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Woolverton Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Stockton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“For Years Our Favorite B&B”
Reviewed June 4, 2010

The folks at the Woolverton have always been extremely accommodating and the Inn is spotless and well maintained. My wife and I stop by at least once every year and whether we are staying at the Manor house or one of the cabins out back, it's a great getaway from the hectic everyday pace of city life and we always return home relaxed and refreshed.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmc054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    39
    8
    7
    5
See reviews for
13
233
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Emerson, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2010

My wife and I recently stayed at the Woolverton Inn during April for a quick two night getaway. It was a very nice Inn, nice area and really nice staff. Overall our experience was very good. The only issue that we had was that we noticed that there was a bug in our bed as we were lying down to go to sleep. When we returned home I looked on the internet to determine what type of bug this was. It was not at all hard to identify as the bug was very distinct. It was a bed bug. My wife and I were very disgusted and immediately started to deep clean our house for the next three days (as they apparently can travel in your luggage and infest your home). We washed all the sheets, clothes, vacuumed all rooms and moved furniture (15 loads of wash). A very exhausting chore. I called up the Inn the next week to explain what we had discovered in our room. They seemed very concerned and apologetic noting that they would have their exterminator resolve the problem. They also noted that given the massive inconvenience to us that they would send a gift certificate. I mentioned this to my wife and she agreed that it was a nice way of “saying they are sorry” but that “I will never go back there are you crazy” but a nice gesture in general. Well two months later they still never sent anything. We had no intention of ever returning, but it definitely did really upset me that they pretty much just blew us off. I truly hope they didn’t ignore resolving the problem as well. I hope that they get this problem under control, as I wouldn’t want any other travelers to have these critters infesting their home. We did call an exterminator and they are quite expensive to get rid of. I decided to post this review just to warn other travelers and because I was very upset at the Inn’s nonresponse to the issue. Other than that horrible experience, the town and the area is quite nice. But won’t be returning.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gdaviou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanWave21, Owner at Woolverton Inn, responded to this review, June 15, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your experience at the Woolverton Inn. We’re glad you enjoyed the area as well as the inn and our wonderful staff.

The rest of your review is quite troubling. We do not disagree that you found an insect in your room; however, your assessment that it was a bed bug is preposterous. Bed bugs are so tiny you need a microscope to see them and they do not travel alone; you also would have been bitten many times throughout the evening. Your method for identifying the bug is disturbing as well. It would have made more sense if you had saved the insect that you had found and told us about it either that evening or in the morning. Not only could we have identified the insect (we are quite familiar with the type of insects in this rural area and also use an exterminator on a regular basis) but also compensated you for your inconvenience at the time you checked out.

The other disturbing aspect of your account is that you state we dropped the matter as if we didn’t care. When you phoned us a week after you stayed we felt terrible. Although we knew we didn’t have bed bugs in our rooms; we not only offered you a gift certificate (which you flatly refused) but also offered to pay for an exterminator to come to your home. You stated that you didn’t think that was necessary (you hadn’t found any bugs) but you would let us know. After not hearing from you for a week we called you back to see if everything was all right. You stated that you felt you had taken all the necessary steps needed to feel secure with your situation. Again we offered to pay for an exterminator. That was the last word we heard from you until we read this review on Trip Advisor.

Once again we apologize for the traumatic experience you had when staying with us but we really do feel we tried everything in our power to try to compensate you and your wife.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2010

Spent our 44th Anniversary at the Woolverton Inn and was not disappointed. Stayed at the Audubon cottage, looks exactly like the pictures, very clean and comfortable with a nice view of the pasture and back property. When we arrived they had freshly baked cookies & coffee and made you feel welcome. Breakfast the next day was great, had the ricotta pancakes (had to take the receipe home, I enjoyed them so much) and ate on the porch which was relaxing. Our stay there was very enjoyable and would surely come back again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ng08817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2010

"Rip Off".......bed was very uncomfortable.......food was poor, had to microwave uncooked turkey sausage.....big time over priced.........cottage entrance had a large oil spill on the step.....cottage was run down.......service was rushed......very upset to pay so much and get so little especially when celebrating our wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joseph146634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanWave21, Owner at Woolverton Inn, responded to this review, May 20, 2010
It was surprising and disappointing to read your review. We feel that every attempt was made to make your stay enjoyable even prior to your arrival. At the outset your rate was discounted at the time of your reservation. Also due to a dental issue, you were unsure if you would be able to keep your reservation. In order to facilitate your decision we offered to waive our cancellation policy as we did not want you to feel obligated to keep your commitment if you were not feeling well. You called the day before your arrival and said you were feeling much better.

With your respect to your on site issues, the oil spill on the porch was due to high winds from the previous evening that broke the shock absorber seal on the screen door when the wind caught the door. Because you checked in your room early, we were not able to get to the hardware store to replace the mechanism. Of course the door was repaired immediately the next day. The spill measured 4” X 6” and was not in a location where the guest would have to step. Although we were not happy about the situation, we felt it did not inhibit the use of the porch.

Our award winning architect designed the cottages in 2001 to look as though they were built at the same time as the 1792 manor house. Our cottages are intended to look rustic with beams used from the original barn and furnished with authentic period antiques. In addition, all have the modern amenities such as two person whirlpool tubs, fireplaces, two person showers, etc. What you might perceive as “run down” is actually the rural look we are trying to accomplish. The cottages are well maintained and in good condition.

We apologize for your displeasure with our beds. All our beds have featherbeds placed on top of the mattress which might have been a factor in your comment that the bed was uncomfortable. A few of our guests are either allergic to feathers or prefer a harder mattress, in which case we are happy to simply remove the featherbed.

As you can read in previous reviews of our inn our breakfasts are outstanding. We did not have turkey sausage on the menu on the morning you stayed with us, but when you requested turkey sausage we were more than happy to accommodate your wishes. We make our own version of turkey sausage that we freeze and then defrost the night prior to serving in the morning. We had to quickly defrost the turkey sausage in the microwave and then prepared it as we normally do on the stove. When you requested the sausage to be well done we placed it in the oven (not the microwave); by no means was the turkey sausage uncooked. Perhaps our version of homemade turkey sausage was not what you expected.

We are sincerely sorry your experience at our bed and breakfast was not what you expected. Normally we would extend an invitation for a complimentary stay in the future but not everyone is a bed and breakfast person and we feel that might be the case in your situation.

We hope readers will pay attention to all the overwhelming positive feedback provided by the Trip Advisor community. The majority of our guests have enjoyed multiple stays at our inn and continue to recommend us to others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long Island NY
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2010

I surprised my wife with an overnite stay for Valentines day before we went to Atlantic city. What a contrast . We stayed in the sojourn cottage. Magnificent would describe it best . On arrival the smell of baked goods fills your senses i didn't think they could taste better then they smelled but they did. We asked for lunch suggestion and we were directed to Meil's cafe right in stockton. Wonderful lunch and more baked goods. That night for Dinner we went to the Sargentville Inn. Another wonderful choice as we sat around the bar shooting the breeze with locals and the food was top notch. Our cottage was the perfect get away . I Highly recommend the Woolverton. Oh and the breakfast was awesome Amaretto French toast , fresh fruit and scones right in the cottage

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abbo1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood Cliffs, NJ
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2010

My partner and I came here for our 3 year anniversary and stayed in a cottage on the property. The cottage itself actually turned out to be smaller than the pictures made it seem, and we were happy about that- it was adorable, rustic, cozy and very clean.

Since we were there in the dead of winter, I can't comment on the grounds or landscaping but the main house where we checked in was cozy and welcoming with a fire in the fireplace and homemade cookies.

Our cottage was the Hunterdon and it looks out over a field with sheep just as the site says. One of the innkeepers saw us at the gate of the sheep pasture with our cameras and came right out to feed the sheep near us so we could see them up close and get some pictures, which was really nice and attentive of him.

I had arranged for the "Romance Package" they advertise on their site which consists of a dozen roses with card, handmade truffles, cheese & olive platter and candles waiting in your room for you when you arrive. The cheese platter was out of this world and the roses were beautiful; we had a few glitches with parts of this service but the innkeeper was very apologetic, rectified the issue and promptly made compensation.

All in all it was a great weekend and the cottage was just perfect.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank complainjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2009

Whether staying in one of the cottages or a room in the main Inn, you can't beat The Woolverton Inn for location, charm, amenities, beds, delicious breakfasts, and easy access to several great restaurants in Lambertville and New Hope. Although it may seem a little expensive, its newest competitors are even more expensive and aren't nearly as nice.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RideTheWindAndWater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockton
3.5 mi away
The Lambertville House Hotel
The Lambertville House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lambertville
243 reviews
3.6 mi away
Lambertville Station Inn
Lambertville Station Inn
#1 of 2 in Lambertville
114 reviews
3.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites - New Hope
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Bridgeton House on the Delaware
Bridgeton House on the Delaware
#1 of 1 in Upper Black Eddy
415 reviews
3.2 mi away
Fox and Hound Bed and Breakfast of New Hope
4.2 mi away
Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woolverton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woolverton Inn

Property: Woolverton Inn
Address: 6 Woolverton Rd, Stockton, NJ 08559-2147
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Stockton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stockton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Woolverton Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to our romantic New Hope Bed and Breakfast, a Select Registry Property and one of the Top 10 B&B's in the U.S.! We are located along the Delaware River, near wineries, shopping and dining. Our charming inn in Stockton, NJ features private cottages and luxurious suites with Jacuzzis, fireplaces, fresh flowers and fluffy robes. Every stay at our award winning New Hope, PA hotel includes a complimentary gourmet breakfast, afternoon sweets, soft drinks and water, NY Times and WiFi. Come relax your cares away and discover a simpler way of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Woolverton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolverton Hotel Stockton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing