We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful time at the Woolverton Inn”
Review of Woolverton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Woolverton Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Stockton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edison, New Jersey
2 reviews
“Wonderful time at the Woolverton Inn”
Reviewed May 22, 2010

Spent our 44th Anniversary at the Woolverton Inn and was not disappointed. Stayed at the Audubon cottage, looks exactly like the pictures, very clean and comfortable with a nice view of the pasture and back property. When we arrived they had freshly baked cookies & coffee and made you feel welcome. Breakfast the next day was great, had the ricotta pancakes (had to take the receipe home, I enjoyed them so much) and ate on the porch which was relaxing. Our stay there was very enjoyable and would surely come back again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ng08817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    38
    8
    7
    5
See reviews for
11
225
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2010

"Rip Off".......bed was very uncomfortable.......food was poor, had to microwave uncooked turkey sausage.....big time over priced.........cottage entrance had a large oil spill on the step.....cottage was run down.......service was rushed......very upset to pay so much and get so little especially when celebrating our wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joseph146634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanWave21, Owner at Woolverton Inn, responded to this review, May 20, 2010
It was surprising and disappointing to read your review. We feel that every attempt was made to make your stay enjoyable even prior to your arrival. At the outset your rate was discounted at the time of your reservation. Also due to a dental issue, you were unsure if you would be able to keep your reservation. In order to facilitate your decision we offered to waive our cancellation policy as we did not want you to feel obligated to keep your commitment if you were not feeling well. You called the day before your arrival and said you were feeling much better.

With your respect to your on site issues, the oil spill on the porch was due to high winds from the previous evening that broke the shock absorber seal on the screen door when the wind caught the door. Because you checked in your room early, we were not able to get to the hardware store to replace the mechanism. Of course the door was repaired immediately the next day. The spill measured 4” X 6” and was not in a location where the guest would have to step. Although we were not happy about the situation, we felt it did not inhibit the use of the porch.

Our award winning architect designed the cottages in 2001 to look as though they were built at the same time as the 1792 manor house. Our cottages are intended to look rustic with beams used from the original barn and furnished with authentic period antiques. In addition, all have the modern amenities such as two person whirlpool tubs, fireplaces, two person showers, etc. What you might perceive as “run down” is actually the rural look we are trying to accomplish. The cottages are well maintained and in good condition.

We apologize for your displeasure with our beds. All our beds have featherbeds placed on top of the mattress which might have been a factor in your comment that the bed was uncomfortable. A few of our guests are either allergic to feathers or prefer a harder mattress, in which case we are happy to simply remove the featherbed.

As you can read in previous reviews of our inn our breakfasts are outstanding. We did not have turkey sausage on the menu on the morning you stayed with us, but when you requested turkey sausage we were more than happy to accommodate your wishes. We make our own version of turkey sausage that we freeze and then defrost the night prior to serving in the morning. We had to quickly defrost the turkey sausage in the microwave and then prepared it as we normally do on the stove. When you requested the sausage to be well done we placed it in the oven (not the microwave); by no means was the turkey sausage uncooked. Perhaps our version of homemade turkey sausage was not what you expected.

We are sincerely sorry your experience at our bed and breakfast was not what you expected. Normally we would extend an invitation for a complimentary stay in the future but not everyone is a bed and breakfast person and we feel that might be the case in your situation.

We hope readers will pay attention to all the overwhelming positive feedback provided by the Trip Advisor community. The majority of our guests have enjoyed multiple stays at our inn and continue to recommend us to others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long Island NY
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2010

I surprised my wife with an overnite stay for Valentines day before we went to Atlantic city. What a contrast . We stayed in the sojourn cottage. Magnificent would describe it best . On arrival the smell of baked goods fills your senses i didn't think they could taste better then they smelled but they did. We asked for lunch suggestion and we were directed to Meil's cafe right in stockton. Wonderful lunch and more baked goods. That night for Dinner we went to the Sargentville Inn. Another wonderful choice as we sat around the bar shooting the breeze with locals and the food was top notch. Our cottage was the perfect get away . I Highly recommend the Woolverton. Oh and the breakfast was awesome Amaretto French toast , fresh fruit and scones right in the cottage

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abbo1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood Cliffs, NJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2010

My partner and I came here for our 3 year anniversary and stayed in a cottage on the property. The cottage itself actually turned out to be smaller than the pictures made it seem, and we were happy about that- it was adorable, rustic, cozy and very clean.

Since we were there in the dead of winter, I can't comment on the grounds or landscaping but the main house where we checked in was cozy and welcoming with a fire in the fireplace and homemade cookies.

Our cottage was the Hunterdon and it looks out over a field with sheep just as the site says. One of the innkeepers saw us at the gate of the sheep pasture with our cameras and came right out to feed the sheep near us so we could see them up close and get some pictures, which was really nice and attentive of him.

I had arranged for the "Romance Package" they advertise on their site which consists of a dozen roses with card, handmade truffles, cheese & olive platter and candles waiting in your room for you when you arrive. The cheese platter was out of this world and the roses were beautiful; we had a few glitches with parts of this service but the innkeeper was very apologetic, rectified the issue and promptly made compensation.

All in all it was a great weekend and the cottage was just perfect.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank complainjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2009

Whether staying in one of the cottages or a room in the main Inn, you can't beat The Woolverton Inn for location, charm, amenities, beds, delicious breakfasts, and easy access to several great restaurants in Lambertville and New Hope. Although it may seem a little expensive, its newest competitors are even more expensive and aren't nearly as nice.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RideTheWindAndWater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2009

I recently celebrated my wedding at the Woolverton Inn and it was absolutely spectacular! Bob and Carolyn, owners, were so helpful and extremely warm and welcoming to our friends and family at the inn as well as our wedding guests. The grounds were beautifully manicured, the food delicious and the beds the best that I have stayed in for a long time. In fact, I am ordering the featherbed for my apartment.

I highly recommend the Woolverton Inn and look forward to many more getaways to come. If you are looking for friendly service, peaceful accommodations and delicious bites – look no further!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arthurlulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2009

We stayed at the Woolverton for 2 nights recently on a trip to New Hope and Lambertville. We had to make several inquiries about transportation and other matters prior to arriving and the staff was friendly and helpful, as they continued to be during our stay.

The inn was fairly empty when we were there (on Monday and Tuesday nights at the end of the Labor Day weekend), and upon check-in we were graciously offered an upgraded room for no higher charge. We were relieved--the room we had booked (Newell's Library) looked charming online, and it was in person, but it was quite small with a tiny little bathroom. The room we ended up staying in (Balustrade Room) was roomy with a nice large bathroom and its own private porch. The huge king-sized bed was so gorgeously comfy I never wanted to leave it. It had a REAL featherbed that was luscious and much appreciated during the chilly nights. The bathroom was well-stocked with Aveda toiletries, plush robes, and plenty of towels. An iron and real ironing board were provided in the closet.

Although there are certain aspects of staying in a B&B that we really enjoy, we're not keen on places with an atmosphere where interaction with other guests is sort of forced and privacy seems limited. At the Woolverton you might as well be staying in a big hotel for all the interaction you have with other guests--for us this is a very nice thing. We saw other guests in the entrance hall occasionally, and of course at breakfast, but people weren't using the living room for socializing and most guests seemed to keep to themselves. There is much to do in the immediate area and people didn't seem to be hanging around the inn a lot. Perhaps this would be different if the inn were full, but somehow I don't think so.

The Woolverton innkeepers have thought of several nice touches that make staying here extra nice. Water bottles and glasses are provided in the rooms, and snacks are set out each afternoon. There is a summer kitchen with complimentary soft-drinks, extra glasses, etc., with a refrigerator where guests are welcome to store perishables. Lots of information about local restaurants and activities is provided both in binders kept in the living room and also by the staff when asked.

The housekeeping situation is unique and well thought-out as well. Housekeeping takes place during the breakfast hour only. I wondered how this would work--would they come knocking on our door while we were still in bed? Would that be our one chance to get the room cleaned? No. When you order breakfast the server asks you if you'd like your room made up, and while you are eating the housekeeping staff does its magic. By the time you're ready to go back upstairs to brush your teeth, the bed is made, towels and toiletries and glasses replaced, and there is no more disturbance by housekeeping.

This is a big old house with expansive grounds and must take a great deal of work and expense to maintain. There are some details that are becoming a little worn--the carpets and the bathroom tiles seem a little out of date (though clean), for example--and the grounds could not be described as perfectly manicured, but issues are minor and this kind of adds to the charm.

For a very relaxing weekend in beautiful country, the Woolverton is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TripsPlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockton
3.5 mi away
The Lambertville House Hotel
The Lambertville House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lambertville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
5.0 mi away
Golden Plough Inn at Peddler's Village
3.6 mi away
Lambertville Station Inn
Lambertville Station Inn
#1 of 2 in Lambertville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites - New Hope
4.2 mi away
Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn
12.5 mi away
Bridgeton House on the Delaware
Bridgeton House on the Delaware
#1 of 1 in Upper Black Eddy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woolverton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woolverton Inn

Property: Woolverton Inn
Address: 6 Woolverton Rd, Stockton, NJ 08559-2147
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Stockton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stockton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Woolverton Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to our romantic New Hope Bed and Breakfast, a Select Registry Property and one of the Top 10 B&B's in the U.S.! We are located along the Delaware River, near wineries, shopping and dining. Our charming inn in Stockton, NJ features private cottages and luxurious suites with Jacuzzis, fireplaces, fresh flowers and fluffy robes. Every stay at our award winning New Hope, PA hotel includes a complimentary gourmet breakfast, afternoon sweets, soft drinks and water, NY Times and WiFi. Come relax your cares away and discover a simpler way of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Woolverton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolverton Hotel Stockton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing