We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place! Wow”
Review of Woolverton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Woolverton Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Stockton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Spent a long weekend there, and it was so beautiful! We stayed in the "Amelia's Suite" which was breathtaking! From the beautiful comfortable canopy feather bed, the fireplace, the 2 person bath tub, everything was just so charming and so relaxing! I highly recommend this wonderful Bed and Breakfast!

Room Tip: All are wonderful from what I understand, but I can only highly recommend the Amelia's Suite!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank csr19966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn M, Owner at Woolverton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Thank you for your kind words. Amelia’s Suite is the original master suite in the Manor House and we’re so happy you enjoyed the charm and the character of the room. We hope you will visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 290 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

I have absolutely no complaints about this Inn. It was a wonderful setting for a romantic getaway. My husband ordered the romantic package. I have the lovely roses setting on my desk in my office to remind me of my wonderful overnight retreat with him. I loved the setting, and how private it was. The staff were so friendly. I had never been in that area of NJ. It was a refreshing alternative option than to a shore getaway! The breakfast was so special. I would definitely go again!

Room Tip: Had the Leticias room. It was very quaint. We had a steam shower and jacuzzi tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bullyqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn M, Owner at Woolverton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Thanks so much for visiting the Woolverton Inn. I love that you took your roses to work so you could relive your overnight experience. Thanks again for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

The Woolverton Inn is a fixture in the area. In the historic main building there is a wall filled with framed, favorable reviews just outside the business office. One can read unanimous praise for the combination of modern convenience and period charm, rural setting and proximity to New York and Philadelphia. I humbly agree with all this as my wife and I enjoyed the gracious staff, ambitious breakfasts and (mostly) peaceful atmosphere only an hour-and-a-half from our own megalopolis, Manhattan. HOWEVER, I have some gripes that TripAdvisor readers should be aware of in the course of deciding whether to spend 185-465 dollars per night on holiday weekends. We stayed over the Memorial Day holiday 2014 and our comments are based on our three-night stay, which was required to book the room.

Our room, the Amelia Suite, the second most expensive option after the modern cottages (which are fifty yards or more from the main building), lies directly over the kitchen and was beset with cooking odors after 7AM every day. A vibrating exhaust fan ruined the peace at the same time; surely they could dampen the sound in some way. But as is, the serenity vanished after sunrise. This particular suite is deliberately dark and old-fashioned in its décor. But it was unappealing to us, with quirks by the dozen, including creaky floors, windows prone to slam shut unless propped open (getting them open is a chore), rugs you can trip on, and a claustrophobic feel despite the king bed, which was indeed comfortable and dressed luxuriously (pillows, however, are hard and lumpy). It didn’t help that the smoke detector started to chirp with a low battery in the middle of the night. We imagine that other rooms in the main building, beautiful as it is, suffer similar quirks. No question about it, if you can afford the cottages, that’s the way to go, as they are much more private, appear to be centrally air-conditioned, and abut the sheep meadow so that these dear animals (see pics) can come right up to your window.

Three cheers for the staff. They were unfailingly cordial, having left us a personal note, filled with helpful information, to greet us on our very late arrival. They also made dinner reservations for us with unerring judgment. Breakfast was served indoors or out, and we especially appreciated the beautiful terrace where one can dine in peace at small individual tables; no forced, family-style meals necessary. We encountered an equal number of young, middle-aged (like us), and older couples contrary to a snarky reviewer who wrongly observed an exclusively aged clientele. And one can walk to the Delaware-Raritan towpath right from the hotel. You can also walk to one of the best wine shops in the region, and there are restaurants in town (especially Brian’s Kitchen) where you can bring your own bottle.

All that having been said, there ain’t much to do here other than walk, bike ride or simply read the Times in peace (the hotel provides it free-of-charge). It had been over ten years since I was last in New Hope and Lambertville, and the former has grown ever more commercial. We especially liked the historic steam locomotive and the children’s museum. Lambertville has its share of serious antique shops on Union Street, and some fine restaurants (Black Bass Inn chief among them). But the rest is more like Key West or Provincetown than Princeton—or Brooklyn! Much as we admire the Inn’s values, how about saving a few hundred dollars (per night) by staying at the Hampton Inn in Doylestown where we once had a delightful weekend and drove just a bit farther to the area’s attractions. . . ? A large family might want to consider that option, as the Woolverton (sheep included) has more of a romantic, couples-getaway feel to it.

Room Tip: Avoid in-house suites (creaky, noisy) in favor of the cottages, any of which are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NiceNYer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn M, Owner at Woolverton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Thank you for joining us at the Woolverton Inn for Memorial Day weekend. We appreciate all your insights and recommendations that you offered potential guests that may want to stay at the inn. You are correct that we are a romantic getaway that caters to relaxation, couples cherishing time together without everyday stress and enjoying all the great things that this area has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

This property was an absolute dream, and a must-stop for anyone wanting to experience quintessential Pennsylvania charm (even though it's technically in New Jersey). My husband and I stayed in the Cotswold Cottage, and it was just what every luxury wooded getaway should be. Incredibly soft towels and bathrobes, lovely jacuzzi bath, huge stone-tiled shower, fireplace, and wonderfully comfortable bed. We awoke to sheep roaming right outside our window, and delicious hot breakfast was brought to our room. The best thing about this place was certainly the privacy and location, and we will definitely go back and stay longer next time!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jem F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn M, Owner at Woolverton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Thank you for sharing the experience you had at the Woolverton Inn. The property has a magical feel and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your return visit in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Just got back from a romantic night away at the Woolverton Inn. We stayed in the Letias Suite. It was very nice and comfortable....huge 2 room bathroom with a jacuzzi tub and 2 person shower with steam bath. We added on the special package " warm up and chill out," it came massages....they were wonderful! Breakfast is included and was great! Everyone at the Inn is so very nice! We definitely will be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaraR4974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn M, Owner at Woolverton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience of your stay at the Woolverton Inn. We are happy you enjoyed your room and the massages as well. We look forward to your return visit to the inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Another concert in Bucks County led us back to a night at the Woolverton. As soon as we pulled in the driveway the stress melted away. The property is stunning, even with old man winter holding back the blooms. There were signs of spring everywhere. The homemade cookies, biscotti and marshmallows were laid out and delicious. We chose Letitia's suite again and were not disappointed. Our room was serene, well appointed and the steam shower and jetted tub we devine. My only complaint is we had to leave. Worth evey penny. Great romantic getaway. No TV, great selection of CD's and books, close to shopping, dining, biking, hiking...

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn M, Owner at Woolverton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Thank you so much for returning to the Woolverton Inn. Stress levels do have a tendency to go to the wayside with a short getaway. Also the good news is Spring is finally here and everything is in bloom! Thanks gain for returning to the inn and for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We enjoy coming to the area every now and then from the city and decided to stay at this inn based on excellent reviews and beautiful pictures on the website. Although our stay was ok and enjoyable and overall the place is quite nice with no major issues, we were disappointed. All the photos portray the place as being quite renovated and rooms as simply gorgeous: in reality the place is very dated, everything ranging from doors to beds is squeaky... It just looks and feels like an old grandma's house, not a renovated B&B place for a romantic getaway. There is nothing wrong with that per se, but it felt like advertisements was not representative.

And most importantly with the way the place it, we felt it was grossly overpriced. A very simple room we stayed at was about $260 a night. (over $600 for 2 nights with taxes.) Just not worth it. Under $150 a night would have been perfectly reasonable. Breakfast is ok, but nothing to write home about. If you like lots of sweet stuff and weak coffee, then you might enjoy it.

Another thing that irked us is that the room we booked initially was just way below our expectations (the bed was tiny, no way it could sleep two comfortably - and we are small!), so we asked if any of the other rooms were available and it turned out that another room had a cancellation and they couldn't fill it - so we moved. Although I did not "expect" it, it would have been a nice gesture to not charge us the difference in rate as a courtesy.

I rarely write reviews, but just had to mention my opinion, as all the other reviews were so overwhelmingly positive and I felt that some of the things do need to be mentioned.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vlad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn M, Owner at Woolverton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Woolverton Inn.
We are glad you found your stay enjoyable but you felt that the inn was dated. The inn was built in 1792 so it is very challenging to make the place feel modern. We do have antiques throughout the inn but also have amenities that are very up to date. The squeaky bed that you mentioned is actually a new Westin Heavenly mattress and box spring. We also provide Egyptian cotton sheets, fluffy towels and Aveda and Gilchrest and Some toiletries. Replacing doors from the 1800’s would be a sin.
The weekend you stayed with us we did have a last minute cancellation due to an illness. We were sold out so that became the only room available for an upgrade. The possibility existed to book the room for full price. Complimentary upgrades are given based on availability which is normally during the week when the inn is generally not as busy.
Again we thank you for your review and staying at the Woolverton Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockton
5.0 mi away
Golden Plough Inn at Peddler's Village
3.5 mi away
The Lambertville House Hotel
The Lambertville House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lambertville
247 reviews
3.6 mi away
Lambertville Station Inn
Lambertville Station Inn
#1 of 2 in Lambertville
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites - New Hope
12.5 mi away
Bridgeton House on the Delaware
Bridgeton House on the Delaware
#1 of 1 in Upper Black Eddy
427 reviews
4.2 mi away
Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woolverton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woolverton Inn

Address: 6 Woolverton Rd, Stockton, NJ 08559-2147
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Stockton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stockton
Price Range: $216 - $396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Woolverton Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to our romantic New Hope Bed and Breakfast, a Select Registry Property and one of the Top 10 B&B's in the U.S.! We are located along the Delaware River, near wineries, shopping and dining. Our charming inn in Stockton, NJ features private cottages and luxurious suites with Jacuzzis, fireplaces, fresh flowers and fluffy robes. Every stay at our award winning New Hope, PA hotel includes a complimentary gourmet breakfast, afternoon sweets, soft drinks and water, NY Times and WiFi. Come relax your cares away and discover a simpler way of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Woolverton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolverton Hotel Stockton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing