We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Woolverton Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Main Street Inn(Doylestown)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (303)
Filter reviews
303 results
Traveler rating
243
40
8
7
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
243
40
8
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgas fireplacebed and breakfastb bthe cottagesthe main housebiscottidelaware riverbreakfast was deliciousnew york timeslibrary roomsteam showerbrieafternoon snackromantic settingfrittatagrounds are lovelyfrench toast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
152 - 157 of 303 reviews
Reviewed December 7, 2013

This was my fourth visit to The Woolverton Inn and it certainly won't be my last. I have stayed at the Inn itself and the cottages, as well. I don't know which is more beautiful, the scenery or what the cottages and Inn have to offer. The rooms are clean and luxurious, with every little detail thought of. Carolyn and her staff are so warm and welcoming, I always feel so comfortable. It's so close to such wonderful places such as New Hope and New York City. I have recommended The Woolverton Inn to so many friends and clients and everybody LOVES it! It is one of my all time favorite places. You really have to experience such a wonderful place as this.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn M, Owner at Woolverton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Happy New Year! Thank you for choosing the Woolverton Inn for your getaway from Chicago and your kind words. We also appreciate that you are our ambassador for the inn and recommend us to your friends and clients. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Everything was right here at the Woolverton. Quite simply a great pastoral getaway in the New Jersey countryside. We chose the Cotswold Cottage, after much debate between it and the Audubon. We weren't disappointed, but would have been very happy with either. About $300/night (midweek), but worth every penny. We could have chosen a somewhat smaller room in the charming old manor house for commensurately fewer $, but at this one property, we wanted to splurge a little. No regrets, and no buyer's remorse/ sticker shock upon seeing the credit-card statement....we knew what we were paying and what we were getting for it, which was excellence in accommodation and service.

We were greeted at check-in by Bob, who helped with our bags (much appreciated) and showed us around the property and our cottage. We then helped ourselves to tea and wonderful home-made cookies, while getting acquainted with the rich history of the 220-year-old house. (Be sure to read the early history of the house, as written by an original family-member). Several very nice dinner choices nearby - Sergeantsville Inn is our favorite.

Our cottage was all we expected - the website photos are correct (no forced perspective, etc.). The room and bathroom were large, not huge. My wife loved (and took over) the long window-seat, watching the sheep graze under the changing trees. The bed was plush and very comfortable; wife needed the steps to get in and out, it is that tall! Everything spotlessly clean - no bugs, which can be so difficult to stay ahead of in the country. We loved cranking open the windows during the day, then shutting and locking them at night. Used the Jacuzzi tub, looking at both window and fireplace, at least once a day (the wife, more). Very minimal noise from fellow guests.

Breakfast: the setting at individual tables in the dining room, with 220-year-old wide-plank floors, a wood-burning fireplace (not lit during our stay - too warm), floor-to-ceiling windows, really gave us the feel of the early-American history of the place. Here, too, all was spotlessly clean, dusted, and well-kept. The china and gleaming silver in the corner cupboard were also a nice touch, and further evidence of the innkeepers attention to detail. Immediately upon choosing our table, the staff greeted us and asked whether we'd like our room tidied now (during breakfast) or later.

The meal itself was wonderful each morning. Plenty to eat, starting with home-made muffins; then a choice between two entrees, different each day. All were delicious, but the lemon-ricotta pancakes were the best!! (They share recipes). Juice and self-serve coffee. As an example of the innkeepers attention to detail and desire to please: the first morning, I found the coffee a little weak for my taste - thereafter, I had my own pot of hot, strong coffee at our table. As with most B&B's, we were never really hungry enough for lunch, and could have made it to dinner, with just a little snack at tea-time.

We truly enjoyed getting to know Carolyn and Bob (the innkeepers) and genuinely felt as though they reciprocated. Another example of "above-and-beyond" service and striving to please: at breakfast the first morning, upon inquiry from Carolyn about our day-plans, we replied that we'd spend part of the day doing laundry in Lambertville; to which she replied that she'd be more than happy to throw our laundry into her load there at the inn and then deposit it in our cottage while we were out. We accepted this very kind offer, which freed up about half-a-day to explore the area, rather than be tied to a Laundromat for most of the morning.

As far as things to do in the area: just relax, take a walk along the old canal towpath, drive down to Washington Crossing Park, go to Flemington and sneak into the old courthouse to see the Lindbergh-kidnapper trial courtroom (just as it was in 1935), take some nice drives on country roads, see a covered bridge nearby, and did I say just relax? (we actually hoped for a rainy day - fewer decisions).

While we came from the other side of the country, most of the guests here live in the Megalopolis, and it was so obvious that they were here for a few days' escape from city and suburbia just to relax and unwind here in this charming, historical inn in the country. Regardless of our backgrounds and reasons for coming, we all chose well!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank savvyaztravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn M, Owner at Woolverton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

We truly enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure talking with you and are very happy you choose the Woolverton to close your stay in New Jersey. We’re very glad you got to experience the countryside as well as the countless historic attractions in the area. Thank you again for staying at the Woolverton and we hope someday you might make a trip back East and visit us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We have frequented many B&B's (one might say it is a hobby of ours) but the Woolverton Inn is far and away the standard we too, use when we compare other places in which we have stayed. We have never been disappointed with any of our visits. An 1800's estate with a view of the land that was once an active farm. Woodburning fireplaces warm many of the rooms. It seems that time has stood still as you look out the windows. Bob and Carol are gracious hosts and address every need. The rooms are charming, warm and comfortable, and the chocolate chip cookies they serve as you arrive are a reason to go in themselves. The staff is friendly. The breakfasts are to die for. We arrive full of anticipation and leave completely relaxed, satisfied, and looking forward to our next visit. We cannot wait!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robtalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn M, Owner at Woolverton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you so much for your loyalty to the Woolverton Inn. We are very pleased you enjoy your time with us and truly appreciate that you took the time to share your experience with everyone. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

The Woolverton Inn again proved to be a most special B & B. Staff ever so pleasantly accommodated our request for an early check-in. Bob, always the gracious host, let us know that the cookies were just about to be set out. (Sinfully delicious-- and Woolverton does share recipes.) Our room was inviting, spotlessly clean, fresh flowers on the dresser, a super-comfy bed, and two cozy chairs by the fireplace- the perfect setting to celebrate the anniversary of our first date. Breakfast the next morning was heavenly. The food here is top-notch, so selecting between two entrees is a challenge!
We have stayed at various B & B's in the tri-state area and inevitably end up comparing them to the Woolverton experience. While there are some very lovely places to stay, none has been able to match Woolverton's quality. They are still the standard by which we measure other B & B's.

Room Tip: The rooms in the Manor House are charming. If you prefer a newer or more secluded suite, try one of the Cottages.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kbelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn M, Owner at Woolverton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

We are very happy you enjoy the Woolverton experience. Thank you for the glowing review and love that you enjoy the fresh baked cookies. We will always strive to make all your stays with us memorable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately life has become very complicated and oftentimes we forget to slow down and enjoy life with the one that matters most. In the midst of this busy world my wife and I decided to do just that, slow down and enjoy life. Are we ever glad we did! Next week is our 26th year anniversary and we wanted to make it special and spend time with one another. We had heard about The Woolverton Inn and agreed to venture,out. We didn't share with the Inn keepers that we were celebrating an early anniversary and apparently we didn't have to. It appears that the way we were treated is the way they treat everyone who stays at their Inn. The house and grounds are spectacular and very romantic. The rooms are exceptionally clean. I can't remember the last time I slept so well, and if Bob thinks you need anything he goes out of his way to make sure that he provides. The breakfast was, and is, to die for. At check out Bob gave us a book describing and outlining the best Bed and Breakfast Inns in New Jersey. The truth of the matter, why would we look...we already found The Woolverton Inn.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yvonne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn M, Owner at Woolverton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Happy Anniversary! We are so happy you had a memorable anniversary and were able to relax and appreciate each other. One of the great things about the Woolverton, as well as the area, is that you can slow down and forget about everything if only for a short time. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we hope you will choose the Woolverton for many years to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews