We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never disappoints!”
Review of Woolverton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Woolverton Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Stockton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

I was stunned to read the latest review complaining about the "hotel" being small and there is nothing to do. Aside from the fact that you could use some spelling and grammar lessons, you also obviously have no idea what a B&B is. We were here for probabky the 8th or 9th time and every visit is as enchanting as ever. The cottage was superb, we love leaving our window ooen to hear the sheep and fox at night. We also like to enjoy the property at night in an area so pristine one can see the Milky Way. The innkeepers have always gone above and beyond to meet our expectatiins ( yes, we had a sticky situation once that was graviously resolved with a free night). The breakfasts are always bountiful and sumptious. Creatively prepared, with locally procured products. The Cheese platter is stunning and a meal in itself, a must order. Pick up a bottle of wine and enjoy by your private fireplace or outside on the beautiful grounds. We are very well travelled and have stayed in many inns, resorts B&B's etc. The Woolverton remains our favorite. Yes it is an historic property, not a cloned Holiday Inn, but that is what makes it so unique. Oh, there is PLENTY to do in the immediate area regardless of the season. Quaint towns, wineries, flea markets, antiqueing, hiking, biking,canoeing, rafting, and the natural surroundings. Not to mentiin many great restaurants and cafes. We will continue to enjoy the Woolverton and continue to recommend the Inn to family and friends.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank funonourfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 289 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

The property is very outdated. The room was extremely small me and my boyfriend barley wanted to be in there because everything seemed to enclosed. The decor reminded me of my great grandmothers house. There is nothing to do in the hotel. The room was also very bright when you were trying to sleep. You hear everything even the people on the other floor walking. NTO RECOMMENDED FOR PEOPLE UNDER 50. No tv either. The breakfast was terrible to besides the pancakes. The only good thing was the complementary water and the staff was nice. Also the bed was comfortable just really small.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank innofthedove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanWave21, Owner at Woolverton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Woolverton Inn.

The Woolverton Inn was built in 1792 so it will not (or is intended to) look like a modern facility. We are a bed and breakfast not a hotel as you referred to in you comments. We are a quiet, remote retreat that caters to couples of all ages. The omission of televisions is intentional so that couples can remove themselves from everyday life and enjoy each other company without distractions. Wireless internet is complimentary in all the rooms as well as the common areas.

You mentioned that your room was small, which is true. Our rate structure is based on room size and the amenities that are included in the room. Our standard rooms (Dorothy’s, Primrose and Asher’s) do not have fireplaces or two person whirlpool tubs which is why the room rate is lower. Everyone has access to the common areas on the first floor which have wood burning fireplaces and very comfortable sitting areas. We’re not quite sure what you thought there was to do at the inn, but we can see we did not meet your expectations. Guests that come to the inn enjoy feeding the sheep, the outdoor porches and patio and the nature trails on our 10 acres of land. They also enjoy exploring nearby New Hope and Lambertville which is only 3 miles south of us.

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay, but we really don’t think the Woolverton Inn was a good choice for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We just came back from a wonderful 3 night escape, my only complaint is that we had to leave. We stayed in The Audubon Cottage which was clean and very comfortable, the fireplace added to the romantic atmosphere. The bed was very comfortable, the featherbed made it luxurious and there were lots of comfy pillows. The jacuzzi tub was oversized and more than big enough for two.
We found the innkeepers to be pleasant and when we had a very minor issue responded immediately. The breakfasts were fresh and delicious: every morning started with fresh juice, a homemade bread (wonder if I can get the recipe for the almond apricot bread) or muffin, fresh fruit and then a choice of eggs (the brie omelet was my favorite) or pancakes etc.-certainly enough to keep you full until dinner.
We were there on the off season and were still able to appreciate the beauty of the grounds. Great place to be snowed in!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leslie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

the Woolverton use to be so lovely and beautifully appointed and cared for. It is with great saddness to me and others that it has gotton old and tired an not kept up to it's original and lovely quality. The Inn is tired as are the owners. The prices do not reflect the quality of the rooms or caring.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VBRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanWave21, Owner at Woolverton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to detail your opinions on the Woolverton Inn.

We noticed that you visited us in December when the property is not as picturesque as in spring, summer and fall with the flowers blooming, outside gardens and enjoying breakfast on the porch and patio. Some folks might view the property as old and tired; we view it as hibernation, waiting for the emergence of spring. The honest truth is that during the winter months, the fields take on a personality of their own exposing the rolling hills and the river views. Not to mention when we get snow the property becomes magical. Everything in the winter months seems to be at a stand still with tranquility and a peaceful easy feeling. Also, the great thing about this area is that you can experience the winter nature on the tow path and walking around the property and exploring New Hope and Lambertville without the summer crowds.

Through the years every attempt has been made to give the Woolverton Inn periodic facelifts without losing the charm. Apparently you feel, as owners, we should do the same.

Constructive reviews are always welcome and appreciated. Your comments are sarcastic and personal. We fail to see what your review accomplished.

We want to express our heart felt thanks to all of our guests that have visited the Woolverton Inn and have felt the need to express your thoughts through Trip Advisor.

Thank you! Carolyn and Bob, the proud and vibrant owners of the Woolverton Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

We just got home from the inn. It was said we had to leave early .Do to my wife being call back to her job. The place is so peaceful.The people that work /run the inn are so wonderful. We were enjoying our stay very much. And will come back again. Just want to add something .being we had shorten our stay.I was expecting to pay for the night we didn't stay.
But Carolyn the own didn't charge us. Which I was so surprised . She did not have to do this. All I can say is thank you. CLASSY place and ALOT CLASS to the People who own and work here

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tasteofthetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Friendly and very helpful hosts, excellent accommodations in the cottages (including an indoor hammock in the Sojourn), very good breakfast, and absolutely soul-soothing views (with bluebirds out our window even in late December). We were there off season so I can't comment on what it's like on a crowded day but I imagine they'd handle it well. Expensive but worth it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Incisive_Idiot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I stayed in one of the cottages on the property. it was very private with a fireplace and jacuzzy. The bed was very comfortable. The owners were very responsive but also left you alone when you did not want any intusions. The breakfast fast delivered in the morning was fantasic.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockton
5.0 mi away
Golden Plough Inn at Peddler's Village
3.5 mi away
The Lambertville House Hotel
The Lambertville House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lambertville
247 reviews
3.6 mi away
Lambertville Station Inn
Lambertville Station Inn
#1 of 2 in Lambertville
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites - New Hope
12.5 mi away
Bridgeton House on the Delaware
Bridgeton House on the Delaware
#1 of 1 in Upper Black Eddy
427 reviews
4.2 mi away
Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woolverton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woolverton Inn

Address: 6 Woolverton Rd, Stockton, NJ 08559-2147
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Stockton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stockton
Price Range: $216 - $396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Woolverton Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to our romantic New Hope Bed and Breakfast, a Select Registry Property and one of the Top 10 B&B's in the U.S.! We are located along the Delaware River, near wineries, shopping and dining. Our charming inn in Stockton, NJ features private cottages and luxurious suites with Jacuzzis, fireplaces, fresh flowers and fluffy robes. Every stay at our award winning New Hope, PA hotel includes a complimentary gourmet breakfast, afternoon sweets, soft drinks and water, NY Times and WiFi. Come relax your cares away and discover a simpler way of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Woolverton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolverton Hotel Stockton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing