We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what we were looking for”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Woolverton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Woolverton Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Stockton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just what we were looking for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

My husband and I choose inns that represent our preferance for aesthetically pleasing environments, representative of the traditional culture of the area we are visiting. We were not disappointed.

Our little room was tastefully decorated and furnished to represent the victorian style of the inn. Though, not one of the larger rooms, it was comfortable, clean, and had enough storage space for us to fully unpack our clothes, shoes, and belongings. We were able to view some other rooms, which were very large and included fireplaces, terraces, canopy beds, and bathrooms with many amenities.

The grounds were beautiful, enabling us to sit in a variety of well tended places (gardens, expansive lawn areas, and scultured pools), including a terrace to eat breakfast and a covered porch for reading. The home baked cookies, cold drinks, tea and coffee offered throughout the day and evening provided a very homey feel.

The staff was warm, helpful, and accomodating, leaving sufficient space for privacy.
The breakfasts included fresh fruit, home baked goods, eggs and meat, amongst other offerings. Everthing was well prepared and delicious.

I would definately consider staying here again when I visit this area.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kemble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    38
    8
    7
    5
See reviews for
11
224
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

I do not have any complaints whatsoever. My husband and I needed a weekend away and we got more than we ever asked for. First and foremost, we got the much needed alone time in the most romantic setting. The staiff is phenomonal, the grounds beautiful and the area is perfect. Upon booking I was a little concerned as I thought it was a bit pricey. We booked the Audobon cottage. It is as beautiful as in the pictures on the website. We spent the day biking along the Delaware River (entrance only a minute away from Wolverton), snacking at the local eateries, strolling around the town and enjoying the music from the festival going on in town. The evenings we spent in New Hope enjoying the restaurants and shopping. Parking in New Hope can be a bit tricky but we found it was worth it to park in the lot next to The Landing... $12 for the day or $4 per hour. As I read some of the other reviews I was surprised to see the silly complaints... The featherbed totally helps you to sleep like a baby and it falls right back into place. I did not notice any paint chipping but even if I did...it would be normal wear and tear. The breakfasts were to die for! The rooms were casually elegant and comfortable. It is obvious the owners take pride in the care of the place. It is meant to be relaxing in a country setting, and boy it is! The place is absolutely gorgeous and worth every penny. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed this weekend and are looking forward to trying the other cottages yearly.

Room Tip: The cabins provide the utmost privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bmullican6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
145 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

I have to agree with the previous reviewer that the property bore little resemblance to their website photos and was overpriced.

Pros: Good breakfasts in a nice outdoor patio setting.
The grounds were beautiful and interesting activities in the area. Innkeepers were pleasant.

Cons: Needs a good scrubbing. Cobwebs and dirt on the front entrance door and in the corner of the "summer kitchen." Patio needs to be swept regularly. Corners of carpeted public areas need attention-dusty or paint chips. Torn bedskirt. The first floor was stifling and very unpleasant to walk through (no a/c). Furnishings on first floor/lobby/public area (sofa especially) were shabby. Some peeling paint and many painted surfaces have lots of layers- ideally should have been prepped/stripped better (I'm sure a royal pain in such an old property).
Huge feather bed mattress covers might appeal to some people but need to be removed and shook out between guests as sleeping positions flattened out and a hill formed in the middle.
The upstairs areas (including 3rd floor) were adequately airconditioned. Bed linens were good and the mattress was reasonably comfortable.

We met other guests who have stayed here previously and are very fond of the property and apparently have no complaints. The decor in one guest room struck us as too dark but probably appeals to people with different taste. I'm not sure if there are better accommodations available in the area. Unfortunately, we didn't get to see the cottages which are newer.

A lot more attention to detail is required to justify these prices.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anonj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanWave21, Owner at Woolverton Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at the inn and we appreciate your valuable feedback. We are very proud of our inn and delighted that you enjoyed the food and the grounds.

With respect to your comments, we are constantly addressing maintenance issues year round and as you can well imagine the inn needs constant attention. We strive to represent our property through our website accurately; however, it is difficult to show the size of our 3 smaller rooms through photos. That being said, we feel that our pricing is appropriate and comparative according to each room's size and appointment of amenities. Most of our new guests are pleased when they arrive and comment how the website is great, but the inn is even better in person. Our featherbeds are fluffed every time a room is turned over or tidied. Some guests do not like to sleep on a featherbed or are allergic to feathers in which case we simply remove it. Our housekeeping staff cleans the entranceway and outside porch and patio on a daily basis. Please keep in mind we are in the country and keeping up with nature’s insects in the summer time is quite a challenge; they tend to stay up all night creating their magic. The air conditioning on the first floor is working. Occasionally doors are accidently left open and on hot days the first floor can get warm quickly.

Once again thank you for taking the time to express your opinions. We are always striving to learn were we can improve. We always ask for our guests’ feedback which is why we have cards in every room asking what we can do to make your stay more enjoyable or opportunities to improve our operation. We truly apologize if you feel we fell short.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

Just spent the night in the Asher's Glen room and found it charming and well-appointed, but a bit frumpy for $200+ per night. It rained heavily and water dripped through the ceiling's cracks onto the rug for 10 minutes. Not enough to be a big problem...just not something you expect when you look at the beautiful website. Staff were nice and breakfast was good, with vegetarian options. Overall we enjoyed the place (and pretty sheep!) but felt a bit underwhelmed after reading all the glowing reviews.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albertsova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanWave21, Owner at Woolverton Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
We appreciate that you took the time to give us valuable feedback regarding your recent stay at the inn.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during the heavy rains. We had recently had the roof repaired after the brutal winter we experienced, but obviously the repair was not executed properly. Unfortunately, we did not have the opportunity to address this matter at check out as we would have attempted to either compensate you for the inconvenience or invite you back for a future stay. .

Thank you for your gracious comments, please give us a call so we can resolve this on a personnel basis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2011

We just returned from our trip to the Woolverton Inn for our anniversary. We had a wonderful time. We were pleased to see the room was exactly as portrayed on the website. We were able to see the sheep outside our window. We stayed in the Audubon cottage. The room was spacious, bed comfortable and the bathroom was very large. The owners and staff were all very pleasant and couldnt be more helpful. We have been to several B&Bs and these were some of the best breakfasts we've come across! The breakfast and afternoon snacks were absolutely delicous and there was plenty of it! The area has many nice shops and restaurants to visit. I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank restontraveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2011

We arrived exactly 10 years from the date of our wedding to celebrate our anniversary. We stayed in the same Hunterdon Cottage as before, and were just as happy. Bob was extremely gracious and friendly throughout our stay. The room was well kept and clean, and had some free water and soda in the refrigerator. The breakfast was absolutely delicious as well. The grounds were charming also. While I would both stay here again and recommend it to friends, I have to admit that I think it's somewhat overpriced.

Room Tip: Stay in a cottage for complete provicy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmokeStinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2011

Beautiful setting on a quiet farm in Stockton, NJ. Can feed the sheep and goats. Close to the shops & restaurants of Lambertville and New Hope. Also, easy access to bike path along the Delaware/Raritan canal. Accommodations are very nice. Hosts are very accommodating. Serve an excellent full breakfast and offer cookies in the afternoon. Expensive but worth it.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RFL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockton
3.5 mi away
The Lambertville House Hotel
The Lambertville House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lambertville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
5.0 mi away
Golden Plough Inn at Peddler's Village
3.5 mi away
Lambertville Station Inn
Lambertville Station Inn
#1 of 2 in Lambertville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites - New Hope
4.2 mi away
Chimney Hill Estate & Ol' Barn Inn
12.5 mi away
Bridgeton House on the Delaware
Bridgeton House on the Delaware
#1 of 1 in Upper Black Eddy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woolverton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woolverton Inn

Property: Woolverton Inn
Address: 6 Woolverton Rd, Stockton, NJ 08559-2147
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Stockton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stockton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Woolverton Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to our romantic New Hope Bed and Breakfast, a Select Registry Property and one of the Top 10 B&B's in the U.S.! We are located along the Delaware River, near wineries, shopping and dining. Our charming inn in Stockton, NJ features private cottages and luxurious suites with Jacuzzis, fireplaces, fresh flowers and fluffy robes. Every stay at our award winning New Hope, PA hotel includes a complimentary gourmet breakfast, afternoon sweets, soft drinks and water, NY Times and WiFi. Come relax your cares away and discover a simpler way of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Woolverton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woolverton Hotel Stockton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing