We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch”
Review of Stockton Inn

Stockton Inn
Ranked #8 of 13 Restaurants in Stockton
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Bridge St
Description: Established in 1710, this is the inn that was immortalized by Richard Rodgers in the song "There's a small hotel with a wishing well" sung in the Broadway play On Your Toes. The inn was first built as a private residence and is believed to have been converted in 1832. Come and explore the over 300 year old Stockton Inn, nestled in the quaint borough of Stockton, New Jersey. Romantic dining is served in the exquisite mural rooms with fireside seating during the colder months. In the warmest months of the year, savor your meal and your surroundings while dining on the patio alongside two waterfalls and beautifully integrated gardens.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We went for lunch. Drinks, food, service very good. Can't wait to back. Very good atmosphere and we want to try dinner there.

Helpful?
Thank iloveghasah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    68
    44
    37
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good place for Drinks”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I like the patio out back. Nice place to hang out with friends on a warm night. The inside bar has a lot of character but is very tiny. I like to go on Sunday afternoons.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, new york
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“the small hotel with the wishing well.......has gone to hell”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

in the past the stockton has always been a lovely place to stay while visiting family in the new hope area .....we understand that the inn was recently sold but had hoped to carry on our traditions of the past......... but unfortunately after our lastest stay, we were extremely dissapointed. upon arrival we were met by patty at the front desk who was clueless and insulting....first she did not even know how to check us in and had to rely on a lovely young girl to check us in....after staying at the stockton for many years we know exactly what the cost will be for our stay.....when we questioned patty on the more than 21% charged for tax, patty dismissed our question and said that it was correct and we should consider ourselves lucky after all these years .She had some nerve to speak to guests that way I seriously think she didnt even know what the tax should be. We had to suggest to her how she could reimburse us, May I mention that there was not an apology from her. . And she certainly did not go out of her way to make sure we were reimbursed..We had to suggest that they could buy us a beer at the bar. As guests at the inn, the outside bar and live music was certainly a big draw. This trip, we were told that the music ended at nine and the outside bar was closed forever. it saddens us to have to write this about our beloved stockton inn but it you do give it a try, check your bill and check it twice.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chez l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Service can be off, but food is quite good”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

You cannot beat the setting of the Stockton Inn. Both outside and inside are quant and charming. Food is very good. Service can be hit or miss however.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank FranC-NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Beach, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The good and the not-so-good”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed in suite 1 in the Federal House, which is located across the street from the inn. The rooms were nicely decorated and very clean, and the little garden in back was very nice. Oddly, there was no phone (but everyone has cell phones), no hair dryer, and the tv remote didn't work, but these weren't really problems. We had stayed at the inn a couple of times some years ago, and enjoyed very nice breakfasts, but we're disappointed that they no longer serve breakfast week days - not even coffee. We wanted to check out around 8am, but there was no one on the premises to take our key, and no one answered the phone. We went to Frenchtown for breakfast and were finally able to check out around 9:30. All in all, our stay was just okay.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stockton Inn also viewed

 

Been to Stockton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing