We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food in a historic setting”
Review of Bell's Mansion

Bell's Mansion
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in Stanhope
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $27
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a historic setting”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We have visited Bell's Mansion frequently and are consistently pleased with the variety and quality of the food served. Fresh and innovative, it is difficult to choose an entre from those offered. The service is always very good and, weather permitting, we usually sit out on the patio which is absolutely the most beautiful setting. Bell's will be a place we return to again and again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NancyHend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellsmansion1, Manager at Bell's Mansion, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Nancy!

Thank you so much for your review! We are happy to hear that you enjoy our menu selections and our patio! We're actually renovating a little outside, so next time you dine at Bell's Mansion I'm sure you'll notice our new path down to the garden! We look forward to having you soon!

Anna Kaczynski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    73
    26
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pocono Lake, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Watch Your Credit Card Bill”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I am very disappointed that I had to delete my original review in which I gave Bell's Mansion a very high rating. Unfortunately, when we got our credit card bill, we discovered that we were charged for the amount of our bill on the day of our visit and the amount of the bill plus tip the next day. We called Bell's Mansion and the person that we talked to was very apologetic that we were charged twice. She talked to the owner and called back to say that the extra charge would be taken off of our bill. The charge remained on the bill so we called a second time. The person was again very apologetic and assured us that they would talk to the owner and call us back. We never heard back, and we had to dispute the charge with our credit card company. Hopefully this isn't a regular occurrence, but we were very disappointed with Bell's Mansion for failing to make things right. Please check your credit card bill carefully if you choose to go to Bell's Mansion.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellsmansion1, Manager at Bell's Mansion, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Bell's Mansion. We greatly appreciate your previous review titled "Impressive atmosphere, good food". If I'm not mistaken, this review is from Mr. Richards, with whom I had talked to about the extra charge on the day of Wednesday, July 31, 2013. I once again sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and hope that you understand this error was a technical one which was not caused by our staff or myself. Thank you for bringing this error to our attention as this is not something that happens at Bell's Mansion. We have had countless conversations with our processors in regards to how this could have happened and we have simply not received an exact reason. Although it took some time, your $25.68 has been fully refunded. In regards to not phoning you once your money has been reimbursed- we apologize. I hope that you will give us another chance since it seems that you had enjoyed your visit during your stay in Stanhope.

Best Regards,
Anna Kaczynski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely food and ambience”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Just came in from our first visit to Belles Mansion. Great success. We sat out in the garden. Beautiful atmosphere and I loved the history of the house and the antiques. Excellant menu and food and the produce grown in the garden in used in the kitchen. We' ll certainly go again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Succasunna, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mediocre food and overprices drinks”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Just came home from dinner at bell's mansion. We have visited before. The atmosphere in the garden is exceptional. The food is mediocre and the drinks have become overpriced. This was a disappointing visit.There is only one Friday night dinner out a week and we will not return here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoAnn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morganville, NJ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great service, food and ambiance.”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We sat outside for dinner, the outdoor area was lovely. Our waiter was attentive and came to check on us several times. Both our food dishes were prepared to our liking and both were delicious. The prices were quite reasonable and the outdoor space was relaxing.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gabrielle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bell's Mansion also viewed

Netcong, Morris County
 
Netcong, Morris County
 

Been to Bell's Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing