We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience this trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn Mt. Olive at International Trade Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stanhope
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We have stayed here a few times as it is close to relatives in the area. However, during our recent stay, our room did not get cleaned either day. When I told the front desk person after the first day, she seemed concerned and sent clean towels since the housekeeping staff had left, and said she'd report it to the manager. However, when we returned to our room the next day to shower and change for dinner, same thing. The place had not been cleaned. Seems pretty basic and strange for a Marriott property. We will try a different place at Thanksgiving.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank martarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnTeam, General Manager at Residence Inn Mt. Olive at International Trade Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

I would like to sincerely apologize for the experience you had during your stay with us at the Residence Inn in Mt Olive. I appreciate your feedback as it allowed me the opportunity to fix this problem immediately. I have shared your story with my team and have addressed the process breakdowns that permitted this mistake to be made. I would like to invite you back to our hotel for Thanksgiving. We would be thrilled with the opportunity to prove that your previous experience is not the service we strive to provide at our hotel. Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 206 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed here in September of 2012 as it was the group hotel for a nearby wedding. The building and facilities all seem very new or at least very clean. We arrived late and were greeted with genuine friendliness. Check in was easy and we were off to our room. The room was one of the studio queens. The room was quite large and had a queen bed, pull out sofa bed, chair, work table and a small breakfast bar which led to the mini full kitchen. We don't have a dishwasher at home and just smiled when we saw one here! That's right dishwasher, stove, fridge, etc..... We commented on how this would be a great room for a business traveler and/or family with small children.

The common area downstairs has a foosball table, pool table, ping pong table, darts, fireplace, TV and a leave a book take a book library which I always think is classy. That area becomes the free breakfast area in the morning which was complete with cereals, bagels, coffee, juice, eggs, bacon, french toast and waffles.

I can't comment on the area other than you are less than 5 minutes to downtown Stanhope where there is the Stanhope House... excellent food and live music there almost every night. We went there for dinner and left very happy.

All in all a great stay right off of Rt 80.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmg2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Picked this hotel mostly because I was looking for a suite-type hotel about one hour west of NYC for an overnight stop enroute. Only negative was that it seemed a little overpriced for the area...the premium for a suite hotel was much higher than other areas I've stayed.

It was easy to get to right off I-80 in a large convention and office park community. They were super friendly at checking, going out of their way to offer my kids crayons and colouring paper to welcome them. The suite itself was nice with a fireplace and two average size bedrooms, each featuring a queen bed. Breakfast the next morning was standard fare for a Residence Inn...not great, but decent and free.

Overall, this proved to be a good stop that fit with our roadtrip schedule, and made it an easy trip the next morning in to New York City.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank noelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Upon arrival on Friday, the remote to the TV did not work. A person came up to check and said they needed the Chief Engineer. Saturday, still a problem with remote and tv, "engineer will not be in till Monday" The solution would have been to move us or get another tv. Offered to give us points- no idea of how many. Breakfast was close to cold. Soap in shower was there from previous resident. Bottle of colorless nailpolish on floor next to couch...visible from chair. Wall paper in bathroom was not pristine clean. The Courtyard in this area is much nicer. To top the weekend off...Sunday brought a power failure to only certain parts of the hotel like our bathroom, but not the kitchen. Not a happy Marriott fan.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DurhamQuilter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnTeam, General Manager at Residence Inn Mt. Olive at International Trade Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

We apologize from the bottom of our hearts.
First and foremost I would like to say thank you for providing your feedback about your stay with us at the Residence Inn in Mt Olive. I sincerely apologize for the power outage that occurred during your stay. I know that this was a severe inconvenience that affected your satisfaction with our hotel. In addition, I want to say thank you for informing me of the other issues that occurred during your stay. I have personally addressed the issues you mentioned to assure this does not happen again at our hotel. We strive every day at the Residence Inn in Mt Olive to provide the highest quality service for our guests. I apologize that these standards were not met during your stay. To have the opportunity to prove this is not the typical service we provide at the Residence Inn, we would like to invite you to stay with us again when your travels bring you back to Mt Olive. Thank you so much for your feedback.
Have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Convenient, clean with great facilities including full kitchen, pool, and game room. Complimentary breakfast included as well as high speed Wifi.

Room Tip: Two bedroom suite is awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Todd45_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

This hotel was in a great location only 45 minutes from Manhattan. It is also nesteled within 30 minutes of two factory outlets and not very far away from the poconos. The rooms are spacious and the breakfast was hearty. How much more can we ask for.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OttawaBigSexy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnTeam, General Manager at Residence Inn Mt. Olive at International Trade Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2012

Thank you so much for staying with us and for your kind compliments. I am glad you enjoyed our full hot complimentary breakfast and spacious room set up. Thank you for pointing out our excellent and unique location that is not so far from the city, yet remote and quiet as well. We hope to see you again soon when you are back in town!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stayed at the Residence Inn Mt Olive for over a week (we had to stay in town for family reasons) and found it to be dirty and poorly maintained. When we arrived, we noticed the room was smelly from dirt and stale fabric and that all the surfaces (handles, light switches, etc...) had dust and black grime somewhere on it. The walls had tons of splatters. We purchased febreeze, lysol disinfecting wipes and bleach and I cleaned the room top to bottom - removing what seamed like years of filth from some crevices and surfaces that looked as if they had never been cleaned, ever. The air intake vent in the living room for example, was CAKED in dust and grime. Gross. There were rips in the cushions in our room and in the lobby. We paid so much for our suite that it just really surprised us how grungy it was.
The front desk staff was friendly but the management seemed very rigid to us considering how long we were staying. Some of the house cleaning staff tried to accommodate but generally, the cleaning seemed to consist of spreading very heavy deodorant around the room. We choked every time we walked back in the room after it was 'cleaned'. One time, housekeeping knocked on our door to make up our room at 4 pm. We asked for 5 minutes so that we could vacate the room, but the housekeepers said: "we have to clean it right now because our ride gets here at 4 pm" - Really?
There's a sign on the lobby wall listing the corporation that owns the facility and another that manages it. It seemed pretty clear to us that corporate-owned and corporate-managed means that no one really cares about the place.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thezaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnTeam, General Manager at Residence Inn Mt. Olive at International Trade Center, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

Thank you so much for commenting on your stay with us. We were happy to have you as a part of our Residence Inn family for over a week. I deeply apologize that your experience with us was outside of our normal service. The Residence Inn in Mt Olive prides itself on being a great facility that provides excellent customer service and exceptionally clean and well maintained suites. We have taken your feedback to heart and have addressed the cleanliness concerns you voiced with our housekeeping department.

We are glad you recognized the friendliness of our front desk associates. Customer satisfaction is our number one priority at the Residence Inn. When your travels bring you back to Mt Olive, our hotel would love the opportunity to prove we can shine. Please notify me when you are coming in and I will be more than happy to ensure that your room is in tip top condition and that your stay is a much better one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanhope
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Budd Lake-Rockaway Area
2.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Mt. Olive - Budd Lake
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Arlington-Rockaway Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Super 8 Budd Lake
Super 8 Budd Lake
#1 of 4 in Budd Lake
328 reviews
5.5 mi away
Courtyard Rockaway-Mt. Arlington
Courtyard Rockaway-Mt. Arlington
#1 of 2 in Mount Arlington
270 reviews
9.5 mi away
Homewood Suites Dover-Rockaway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Mt. Olive at International Trade Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Mt. Olive at International Trade Center

Address: 271 Continental Dr, Stanhope, NJ 07874-2657
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Stanhope
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stanhope
Price Range: $150 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Mt. Olive at International Trade Center 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly-renovated Residence Inn Mount Olive offers apartment-style suites adjacent to the International Trade Center. Featuring the comforts of home, guests will enjoy spacious suites with fully-equipped kitchens, separate living/dining areas, flat-screen TVs and free WiFi. Our Mt. Olive hotel is highlighted by a new lobby that encourages our guests to socialize at our free weekday evening social or conduct impromptu work sessions at the communal table. Travelers appreciate our onsite amenities including indoor pool, 24-hour fitness center and outdoor Sport Court. Enjoy the ideal combination of location and comfort at the Residence Inn Mount Olive hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Residence Inn Mt. Olive at International Trade Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Mt. Olive At International Trade Hotel Stanhope
Residence Inn Mount Olive
Mount Olive Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing