We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Inn, fabulous breakfasts!”
Review of Whistling Swan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Whistling Swan Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Stanhope B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leverett
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely Inn, fabulous breakfasts!”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at the Whispering Swan for a nearby wedding. Rosalind was a very gracious host and our room was great- pretty without being fussy, very clean and most importantly, a really comfortable bed. Breakfast was on the large porch and it was delicious, especially the pumpkin French toast. I would highly recommend a stay here, it was delightful .

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellenLeverett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    24
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
20
146
10
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Strasburg
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2014

While visiting my family in N.J. I always stay at the Whistling Swan, because there is no better place to stay! The Innkeepers are wonderful and accommodating. The building and rooms are well kept, clean and beautiful. The breakfast and snacks are excellent, eating on the front porch is a bonus in the warm weather. Peaceful, quiet and superb is the Whistling Swan. I will be back for yet another visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatalieC1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingswood, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

As a beginner to bed and breakfasts, I am grateful to have stayed at the Whistling Swan first, so I know how high to raise the standards for all of my future stays at other facilities! Honestly though, I could not have asked for a more comfortable and pleasant experience than what my boyfriend and I were treated to this weekend. Ros and Tom were continuously helpful, friendly and overall hospitable in every way imaginable. The breakfasts were easily the most exciting part of the day. There are also complimentary snacks available at all hours of the day. One can't seem to know how good a cookie and a coffee are in the afternoon until you're sitting in a plush red chair enjoying it here! The location is fantastic, with activities for all interests present throughout the area. Those looking to venture outside the area into New York City for an evening can park at the local Mount Arlington station and take the train in. We brought our boat for some weekend lake time and were pleasantly surprised to find so many lakes other than Lake Hopatcong in the area. If you're staying in for the night, there's movies, books, and boardgames galore. Our room was comfortable and immaculately clean. Overall I have not one negative comment about my experience at this B+B, and hope others reading will consider this location if staying in the area. The only recovery I now have to painstakingly undergo is the return to milk and cereal tomorrow morning...

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are much larger with more living space overall (ie. families of four could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hanban1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
47Ros, Owner at Whistling Swan Inn, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. I'm so glad you both had fun discovering the many lakes tucked into this little corner of paradise. I'll look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

This was our first time staying at a B&B and totally not disappointed! My husband and I spend 2 nights at Whistling Swan in late February. It was a treats to ourselves as newlywed who haven’t gone on their honeymoon yet. We picked the Stillwater suite base on people recommendation. It was a great choice and we thoroughly enjoy it. We received a tour at check-in of the house and peek into every single rooms that was unoccupied. Each and everyone so pretty and unique.

Stillwater room was clean, spacious (even though its call a mini-suit) for us. Love the jacuzzi bath! I had to try the breakfast even though I like to sleep in when I vacation. Breakfast was delicious and wouldn’t mind doing it every day for rest of my life!!!

I had to inquire about the rules for staying at a B&B, I am a newbie after all. All I remember was “no throwing guitar out the windows” lol. Whistling Swan atmosphere was so cozy and homey. I felt more like at an aunt’s home then at a paying venue! Going downstairs at 12am for a snack and a drink felt like I’m sneaking food back to my room where I’m not supposed to. LOL, it was a great experience. Will go back in future!

The owner Roz and her team made us feel comfortable. She was friendly. Problem now is that Roz and her team have set the bar so high for us, I’m afraid others will be hard to match!

Room Tip: Rates are bit high but worth it as a treat to yourself. Picking a suite is worth it for the jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Galeya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
336 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

The Whistling Swan is a true Victorian lady set along a quiet street where each house has a porch and one can easily imagine a summer's evening with folks walking home from work or a Sunday morning as families walked to the nearby churches long ago. Roz, the innkeeper, is friendly and gave us lots of history about the inn and the large family that originally filled the bedrooms, living, and dining rooms with lots of noise. On a quiet May evening, the garden was just coming awake, and the hammock on the porch would be so inviting in another month.
Our room was clean and comfortable, the private bath perfect, and breakfast delicious. We had a great recommendation for dinner and set out the next morning refreshed.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gail G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackettstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

If you ever have the chance to stay at a bed and breakfast. Do Not miss the opportunity to stay here. The innkeepers Roz and Tom are two of the nicest people you will ever meet. This B & B is cozy, easy to find and in a convenient location for MANY day trips. the Breakfast that is served is fresh, tasty and well thought out. But better yet, the rooms are immaculate, ROOMY and very well arranged. I would give this a ten out of ten. Can't wait to go back. Very nice guests also.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 313alanl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
47Ros, Owner at Whistling Swan Inn, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words. The staff works very hard to ensure that the guest experience exceeds expectations. It was wonderful getting to know you both, and I'll look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

On a terribly rainy march 30 we had my daughters bridal shower at the swan.Despite the awful rain and wind everthing was perfect the room was set up with the flowers we requested the mimosas flowed and the food was great. Roz and her staff were fantastic and made it an occasion to remember.. Furniture was moved quickly to help older guests so they missed nothing and were included in the gift unwrapping and cake cutting..Again thank you roz and staff for a wonderful event in our lives

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joeswifeNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
47Ros, Owner at Whistling Swan Inn, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
I'm so pleased that everyone enjoyed the shower. Your guests were lovely and most appreciative of the staff's efforts. Thank you for your kind words; the staff works hard to ensure that the event is one the guest of honor will remember for a lifetime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanhope
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Mt. Olive at International Trade Center
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Arlington-Rockaway Area
1.8 mi away
Super 8 Budd Lake
Super 8 Budd Lake
#1 of 4 in Budd Lake
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Mt. Olive - Budd Lake
8.4 mi away
Wooden Duck B&B
Wooden Duck B&B
#1 of 1 in Newton
402 reviews
22.6 mi away
Alpine Haus Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whistling Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whistling Swan Inn

Property: Whistling Swan Inn
Address: 110 Main St, Stanhope, NJ 07874-3602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Stanhope
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stanhope
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Whistling Swan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whistling Swan Inn is an elegantly restored 1905 Queen Anne Victorian mansion. Nestled in the village of Stanhope, NJ in the Skylands region of the state, the inn offers 5 distinctively decorated rooms and 4 suites, furnished in antiques and reproductions. Voted one of the "top 10 best inns in the US" by Inn Traveler magazine, the Whistling Swan Inn combines the charm of a bygone era with the modern conveniences today's guests require. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Whistling Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whistling Swan Hotel Stanhope

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing