We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B I have stayed at”
Review of Whistling Swan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Whistling Swan Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Stanhope B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The place is immaculate, beautiful, charming, and just really need and tidy. My boyfriend and I enjoyed our stay and will definitely come back again when the weather is warmer. It is walking distance from the nearest two pubs on the Main St. The rooms are gorgeous, all the amenities are there to make you feel comfortable. Loved to hear the story how this house became a B&B and how the owners are successfully taking care of it and doing what they love.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PoojaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 219 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013

The house is very quaint. It was pleasant just walking through the property. Breakfast was well done. Yummy potatoes. Communal dining room with a large dining table and some smaller private tables. There is quite a bit of outside seating on the large porch that we didn't use, although that might have been really nice.

The Morris Canal room was quite small. The bed was comfortable, and the room was cute, but the size of the room was probably better suited for a child, or someone not needing much room to walk around. There wasn't a convenient place for luggage. Even so, I can't offer a poor rating just on the size or layout of one room. If all the rooms were the same size, or if this was an extended stay, then that would be a different situation.

Everything else was fine, and the Innkeeper Ros was great. Everything was extremely clean, and much attention seem to be given to the rooms.

Room Tip: Morris Canal room may be the smallest room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sacredphi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

My fiance and I stayed over the weekend. The price was good. The area is super cute and there are things to do within walking distance. The Inn was VERY clean and VERY nice. Tom and Ros were very gracious hosts who greeted us as we arrived.They made us feel right at home. We were shown to our room, The High Point Suite, located on the third floor. The room included a two person jacuzzi as well as a steam shower. They even supply you with bath soaps to sprinkle in the jacuzzi. The steam shower worked and was well worth it. They supply you with more then enough towels as well as two plush robes. There were two flat screen tvs in the room, one by the bed and the other by the jacuzzi. They offer a pretty large DVD collection to choose from. The breakfasts were amazing! Home cooked and fresh breakfasts included french toast casserole, potatos, egg casserole with a bernaise sauce, cereal, waffles, home made granola, ect. The menu was different each morning which was also nice. We ended up purchasing Ros' cook book. The entire place is very well kept. We will be returning in the future and will definitely recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanniTrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Spent the night here on route from NY to the Finger Lakes. Were welcomed very heartily by host, and shown to our room. The Swan-theme is omnipresent, but has its charm. Room was very small (no room to put our two suitcases and leave them open), but nicely decorated. Great bed, good shower, very clean, good WiFi. TV didn't work, but we were tired anyway.
Breakfast was really good with wonderful cinnamon pancakes, bananabread etc.
Con's were definitely the very noisy plumbing which woke us up at 6 in the morning.
Overall: good place to stay but do feel that 150 USD is definitely overpriced.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarionEngelschman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This is one of Select Registry's less modern affiliates, but it has a nice charm to it. The hosts are gracious and make sure there are plenty of small touches at hand. The inn is located in town making it an easy walk to dinner at some very good restaurants. Overall, it is a great value and a nice property on which to relax.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Had a great night at the Whistling Swan in Stanhope. Bell's Mansion is a short walk away and is a great spot for a bite and feels rich with history (folks say it's got ghosts!). The Stanhope Road House (that's right Road House) is also right down the street where you can catch a great Blues Show on Saturday night and plug into a bygone form of entertainment.

Breakfast on Sunday morning was excellent. Eggs Florentine, Croissant French Toast casserole, Apple Crisps, Banana Bread. Awesome. Roz loves to keep you fed.

DVR library has pretty broad selection and there are DVRs in all the rooms. A nice touch. We caught One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest and Winter's Bone while relaxing in room.

When I first tried to book here through Expedia last-minute I had a problem, but booking direct or with a few days lead time, you should be good to go. Highly recommended as a getaway for New Yorkers.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madintangibles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
47Ros, Owner at Whistling Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

It was a pleasure to have you both at the Inn, and I'm glad you gave us another chance to demonstrate our quality service and hospitality. Thank you so much for the kind words.

Ros

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

My daughter's baby shower was recently hosted by Ros at The Whistling Swan Inn, Stanhope, NJ. What an absolute delight it was for everyone! Special attention was given to every detail and the parlor area was the perfect size for our 20 guests. From the mimosas to the shrimp and dill tea sandwiches to the sweet ending of red velvet cake....every bite was delicious and served by the sweetest server! All went perfectly smooth and the lush accommodations upstairs for travelling guests couldn't have been better. If you are hosting a small party or intimate gathering I HIGHLY recommend this inn.

Room Tip: Treat yourself to the deep soaking tub! But any room you choose I will bet you will love....one room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EHantiques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
47Ros, Owner at Whistling Swan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

I'm so glad we were able to make your daughter's baby shower such a joyous event. You were a most convivial group, and it was wonderful hearing you all enjoying yourselves so much. Thank you for your kind words.

Ros

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanhope
1.7 mi away
Residence Inn Mt. Olive at International Trade Center
1.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Mt. Olive - Budd Lake
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Budd Lake-Rockaway Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Grand Cascades Lodge
Grand Cascades Lodge
#1 of 1 in Hamburg
1,848 reviews
1.8 mi away
Super 8 Budd Lake
Super 8 Budd Lake
#1 of 4 in Budd Lake
330 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Arlington-Rockaway Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whistling Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whistling Swan Inn

Address: 110 Main St, Stanhope, NJ 07874-3602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Stanhope
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stanhope
Price Range: $166 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Whistling Swan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Whistling Swan Inn is an elegantly restored 1905 Queen Anne Victorian mansion. Nestled in the village of Stanhope, NJ in the Skylands region of the state, the inn offers 5 distinctively decorated rooms and 4 suites, furnished in antiques and reproductions. Voted one of the "top 10 best inns in the US" by Inn Traveler magazine, the Whistling Swan Inn combines the charm of a bygone era with the modern conveniences today's guests require. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Whistling Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whistling Swan Hotel Stanhope

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing