We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth enjoying a birthday meal with a teen grandchild.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salt

Salt
Ranked #3 of 17 Restaurants in Stanhope
Price range: $0 - $22
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth enjoying a birthday meal with a teen grandchild.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

It is more than eclectic both in its decor and menu. From meat to fish to a crisp tofu meal, all done very well. The ambience is also fun with live music, a large screen HD TV playing 1950's commercials and a New York City subway car door as a partition.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank ODERINT-DUM-METUANT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    44
    25
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Randolph, New Jersey
Level Contributor
249 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Gastropub=Good Food+Noisy Pub Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Positives: Good food. Wide selection of beers, including some old-time NJ memories (Pabst, Ballantine, Rheingold, etc.). The Chicken Paprikas with Halushki dumplings (photo) differed from other interpretations of the same dish that I've had, but the sauce made the dish. However, my spouse disliked the sweet balsamic reduction on the Hangar Steak entree. My associate enjoyed the Tofu Burger and fries. Friendly staff; owner solicited feedback on meal.

Areas for Improvement: Dining room lacked ambiance and it was difficult to have a conversation at the table due to the loud volume from the open bar area. Parking lot needs work.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 50StateVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food and fun time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

We have been here many times. Consistently good food, good service and there is usually pretty good entrertainment as well.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank hanskitchens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, NJ
Level Contributor
96 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in the area!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

Over the past 3 years of trying almost every restaurant in Sussex County, Salt is definitely hands down, the best! I would even say it is one of the best in all of northern NJ. This is our go to place to bring friends & for an always delicious meal. Innovative meals, pub-y decor w a twist, a big beer list. The chef was on Food Networks Chopped. You can't go wrong w any meal. My favorite is the Chicken Paprikash they have in fall/winter. Their hanger steak, scallops, burgers, risotto are all amazing!! Highly recommend!! You need reservations on weekend nights.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lovecharleston612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
255 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

We went to Salt as a last resort because another restaurant that we wanted to go to wasn't open on Tuesday. Wow were we surprised! We've driven by this place many times but never thought about stopping as it didn't look very appealing. The inside is simple but spacious, tables aren't on top of one another. We had a very nice attentive waiter and were surprised to see how crowded it was for a weeknight, including the bar. They have a very extensive beer menu and my husband was pleased to find some unusual beers he hadn't had before. I ordered the Hanger Steak with mashed sweet potatoes - it was nicely presented with a balsamic reduction and done to perfection. My husband had the Pork Tenderloin wrapped in bacon and served with pureed potatoes. He couldn't stop raving about it from the first bite to the last. He did everything but lick the plate clean! Our waiter stopped by twice during dinner to make sure everything was fine but never made us feel rushed. One of the things we both liked was the small portions. There was enough to satisfy our appetites without having half the dinner left for the next day. The desserts were also delicious, chocolate mousse was creamy with bits of chocolate in it and the apple cranberry cobbler served with vanilla ice cream was definately homemade. Needless to say we won't be going back to the other restaurant anymore - we've found a new place to treat our palates.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyndi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt also viewed

 

Been to Salt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing