We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The little Flavor Paradise.”
Review of Cathay 22

Cathay 22
Ranked #5 of 52 Restaurants in Springfield
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The little Flavor Paradise.”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We dinned at Cathay 22 for our one year anniversary of February 23, 2014. My Husband ordered the steam dumplings in spice souse, and I ordered the spring rolls for appetizers. Everything was so yummy I was tempted to just eat appetizers all night. The main course was just as yummy, the three chicken was spicy but so full of flavor. The chicken and dumpling was so taste. It was our first visit and it will not be the last. They have soup dumpling on Saturday and Sunday at 1-3 pm so I will be returning to try those.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pshakes6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    15
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
130 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Best Szechuan food in miles”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I've had the pleasure of patronizing Cathay 22 since 1998. This is where you go for the food. The atmosphere is nice, as is the convenience of the location. However, unlike so many places that benefit from everything but great food, Cathay 22 is the opposite. It is the food that's worth the trip, time and money. From the appetizers to the desserts and everything is wonderful. They are also equipped to handle special requests regarding seasoning and accommodations for food allergies.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NewarkScubaDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
95 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Chinese”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Have been going to Cathay 22 for decades and the food is always really good. The soups are flavorful and full-bodied, the Peking Duck is as good as you'll find anywhere, the Moo Shu chicken is great, and the steak melts like butter. Have had many dishes there over the years and all were first rate. The service is attentive and friendly, but not smothering. This IS one of the best Chinese restaurants I have eaten in, and I've eaten in many differentChinese restaurants in the US and parts of Europe.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R&DAshland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great authentic Szechuan food”
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

If you love spicy and authentic, come to Cathay 22. Try the three pepper chicken, salt and pepper shrimp - they are the best I have had.

Helpful?
Thank Familyguy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey, USA
1 review
“General Tso's Review”
Reviewed October 31, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is mainly for the G-Tso's chicken meal. I get this a lot for lunch. The sauce is fantastic, and you can request it very spicy if you wish. The owners will give you extra chili flakes at no extra charge. The chicken is also good. The rice is normal, nothing to write home about but a good compliment to the meal.

Check out the restaurant, it's a good place to eat.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cathay 22 also viewed

Springfield, NJ
 

Been to Cathay 22? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing