We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“R&R/Romantic Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Lilac Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Lilac Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Spring Lake B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Red Bank, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“R&R/Romantic Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

Our one-night stay was perfect. Host Mari was welcoming, accommodating, helpful with area sights. Our "room at the top" clean & comfortable, especially enjoyed the private deck. Wish we could have stayed one more night! We will return.

Room Tip: "Room at the Top"....private and spacious. Especially enjoyed the deck with lounge chairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martine p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    28
    4
    8
    1
See reviews for
18
128
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nanuet,ny
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

We were looking for a different get away spot on the Jersey shore, and read many great reviews for the Lilac inn. They were all correct. The inn has a relaxed atmosphere, the staff was very accommodating, and Mari, the "inn keeper" was pleasant, friendly and very knowledgeable. Breakfast was great, and the Inn has thought of everything one might need from bikes to beach towels. Very pleasant and quiet location, near Spring Lake beach, not far from town. Definitely a good alternative to much more expensive and not nearly as nice hotels in the area. We will return!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waterbug43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

Looking for a relaxing weekend getaway not far from the city? The White Lilac Inn is a small bed and breakfast in Spring Lake, NJ that we have been to many times with the family and just as a couple. The owner Mari is so gracious and in addition to her great home cooked breakfasts she will give you info about the local restaurants and sites. You can walk or borrow one of their bikes to get to the nearby beach. The inn provides you with beach passes and towels. Take a drive or bike ride into town and shop at one of their quaint shops or have lunch at an Irish pub. All the rooms are beautifully decorated. As a librarian I appreciate the books on hand in the sitting rooms of this beautiful old home. Stay in the Gatsby room decorated in art deco black, white and silver on the top floor of the Inn or one of the other romantic smaller rooms below.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa0528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

We attended a wedding in Spring Lake and were looking for a nice, two-night place to stay. We were directed to the White Lilac Inn as a wonderful alternative to the very high-priced hotels in the area.

The White Lilac Inn was the perfect place for us. Clean and elegant in decorum with a wonderful breakfast room and great treatment by the innkeeper, Mari.

Should you need a place to stay in the Spring Lake area, do not pass by this lovely place. You will not be disappointed.

Bob and Gisela Lilienthal
Martinsburg, WV

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

This was a truly great experience to stay at the White Lilac Inn. From the welcoming, tour of the Inn, the breakfasts, even the bicycles!!! Everything was perfect. We would go back in a minute. We extended our stay and had to change room: both of them were great. Thank you to everyone who helped to make our stay that much enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnieMartel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

We loved staying at the White Lilac Inn! The accommodations were great, the food outstanding and our host, Mari, very personable and helpful. She did not overwhelm us, but was there to make suggestions when asked. We have stayed in two different rooms and loved them both. We would recommend the White Lilac Inn without reservation!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PennsylvaniaMindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

This location is close tot he beach and the Inn provides passes. Great place for biking around Spring Lake and the neighboring communities. Many outstanding local restaurants, and the Innkeeper is always happy to make recommendations and secure reservations. Don't miss the ice cream stand!

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanB72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Lake
0.5 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.5 mi away
Doolan's
Doolan's
#5 of 6 in Spring Lake
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Walden on the Pond
Walden on the Pond
#4 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
4.5 mi away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#6 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.5 mi away
Spring Lake Inn
Spring Lake Inn
#4 of 8 in Spring Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Lilac Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Lilac Inn

Property: White Lilac Inn
Address: 414 Central Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762-1020
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Spring Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Lilac Inn, circa 1880, is located in a peaceful corner of Spring Lake NJ, just a stones throw from Wreck Pond, and only a few blocks to the Atlantic Ocean.This Jersey shore bed and breakfast inn has eight charming air-conditioned guest rooms perfect for a relaxing getaway. Fireplaces in every room and wonderful modern amenities such as, private porches, double jacuzzi tubs and that step back in time to an unhurried atmosphere...yes, you can totally unwind! Experience the romance of the Victorian Treasure suite, where proposals are made and Honeymoons and Anniversaries celebrated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your White Lilac Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Lilac Hotel Spring Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing