We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice getaway from the city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Spring Lake
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A nice getaway from the city”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Sometimes you just need to breathe and get away from the city rush. This was just what I needed, I do not have a car and it was great to just take the NJ Transit and walk to the Chateau which was beautiful and comfortable and I dare say charming. The bike rental was excellent and in 10 minutes I was at the Beach! The town of Spring Lake is quiet and provided the getaway that gives us peace of mind to continue our life in the big city of NY.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LPS2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    102
    35
    20
    21
See reviews for
80
236
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sewell, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Our group spent a fabulous weekend at the Chateau...everyone kept commenting about how beautiful their rooms were, how quaint everything was and how they absolutely loved the staff and the accommodations. Robert and team went above and beyond to make our stay exceptional. Everything was 5***** We had over 50 people and not one had a complaint. They couldn't stop singing praises. We absolutely will be back next year. Thanks everyone at the Chateau.

Room Tip: All of the rooms were great...one with a balcony or ones facing the inner courtyard were our groups...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tolland, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

My sister and I take an overnight vacation every year. This year we thought we would take the trip to Spring Lake and stay at the adorable Chateau Inn and Suites...BIG MISTAKE!!!!! Although we had a very enjoyable day exploring the town and riding our bikes on the boardwalk, when we retuned for the night our nice vacation ended. We found a huge stain on the sheets when we went to turn in for the night. I went to the front desk and asked the man to give me a clean sheet. He did but my sister and I had to change the bed. When we pulled the bottom sheet off what did we see???.......a bunch of small curly black hairs all over the mattress pad. After the initial shock and gagging that ensued from finding the pubic hairs, we let the man at the desk know we needed a clean mattress pad. He delivered one, but it was the wrong size. He could not find a king so we ended up sleeping on two fitted sheets. The really disappointing part of the trip was the reaction of the man at the desk in the morning. I have to assume he was the owner and when I told him of our experience, he shrugged his shoulders and said, "sorry". After pushing for a bigger reaction he told me I didn't have to pay for the tax on the room. His lack of shock or disgust leads me to believe that this happens often. His wife had the very same reaction when my sister spoke with her, "sorry". We will never stay here again. If you choose to stay at the pubic hair hotel I would hight recommend bringing your own sheets!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Jaime D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loon Lake, NY
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

If you are thinking of staying at the Chateau Inn and Suites it might be wise to check the unfavorable reviews. Unfortunately, I didn’t.

It started well enough when I had to change my arrival date. Over the phone that went well. It went downhill as soon as we arrived. The Inn has 65 rooms but only 30 or so very small parking spaces so latecomers must park in the public lot near the train station.

The reception desk area is much like a funeral home, dark wood and carpeting with faint lighting. There may be nice rooms at the Inn but #11 isn’t one of them. It’s small, dark and dreary. The door threshold needed repair and a painting. The desk chair wobbled and the sitting chair was quite uncomfortable; when seated my knees were higher than my hips. The air conditioner is quite noisy for sleeping (so is the refrigerator) and often the television reception was searching for a satellite. The bath, although quite small, was clean and more or less modern. The bed was comfortable but there were no extra pillows. The WiFi didn’t work for an entire day and the staff didn’t know why and didn’t care very much about finding out why. For example, speaking with the staff “at the front desk” means they talk at you from an interior room rather than coming to the desk.

The Inn is a hotel and breakfast is not included ($6 per adult, $3 for a child) although the offerings of pastry, cereal and juices including coffee and tea were plentiful. Spring Lake and the surrounding area have much better selections than the Chateau. Keep looking.

Room Tip: Avoid numbers 9 through 14 on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank stactom17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

I called early this morning to make a reservation, and a huffy man, who talked over me and did not have the courtesy to listen to my words, told me to call after 8:00. I told him I would not be available after 8:00 (I can't make personal calls at work). He hung up on me! Wow, has this place changed. I have stayed here before and written nice reviews, so why would I be treated like this?? Never again!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
11 Thank LouisePennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2014

This was our second time staying at the Chateau and it was perfect. From the welcoming lobby and staff to the beautifully appointed rooms. Having bikes right on the premises to rent is very convenient. We will be returning again and again....

Room Tip: Room #2 has a sitting room with fireplace that we just love!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrsygrl60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Great romantic getaway or family spot. The rooms and amenities are great match for the neghborhood. Distance to the beach, lake, park, restaurants etc. is excellent.

Helpful?
1 Thank kahawtho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Lake
0.5 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 6 in Spring Lake
645 reviews
0.6 mi away
Walden on the Pond
Walden on the Pond
#4 of 6 in Spring Lake
49 reviews
0.3 mi away
Doolan's
Doolan's
#5 of 6 in Spring Lake
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
#3 of 6 in Asbury Park
2,529 reviews
0.6 mi away
Spring Lake Inn
Spring Lake Inn
#4 of 8 in Spring Lake
268 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Victorian at Spring Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Inn & Suites

Property: Chateau Inn & Suites
Address: 500 Warren Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762-1233
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Spring Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chateau Inn & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chateau Inn & Suites, situated on the Jersey Shore in the seaside village of Spring Lake, welcomes you to a truly unique hotel experience. The Chateau is nestled between Devine, Potter Park and "The Lake". Just a short stroll away on tree-lined streets flanked by ancient sycamores, you can explore Spring Lake's pristine beaches, ocean pavilions and two mile boardwalk. Specialty shops, boutiques, antique stores, art galleries and award winning restaurants are moments away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chateau Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Inn And Suites
Chateau Hotel Spring Lake
Chateau Spring Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing