We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful & Romantic B&B”
Review of Ashling Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Spring Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ashling Cottages
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We went to Spring Lake in July looking for a relaxed and calm weekend. We could not have chosen a better place. Spring Lake is so beautiful, peaceful and relaxing. The beach and its boardwalk is perfect for long promenades. We stayed at the Ashley Cottage for two nights and found the place perfect. Cozy, clean, peaceful, it was like being at a friends’ home. We loved the porch where we had coffee in the morning and drinks before dinner. A nice way to start your day & evening.
We will definitely go back. Katherine , her husband and their team were very attentive and friendly. They really look after every single detail and ensure you have a very nice, relaxing and unforgettable stay.
Please be aware that some restaurants in Spring Lake do not hold an alcohol license so you might need to bring your own wine (which you might buy at a local liquor store). It is worth to check with Katherine before making a reservation.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terecatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
There are newer reviews for Ashling Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 53 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2012

We happened to stumble across this lovely gem of a place several years ago while doing a search for "Jersey Shore" and "Quiet". This lovely picture of a Victorian B&B came up and we thought that the reality couldn't possibly match the quaintness of the picture. Wrong! Driving into Spring Lake is like driving onto a movie set of an old fashioned town. And staying at Ashling Cottage is like stepping back in time. From the gracious front porch that overlooks a large sycamore tree to the perfect location- One block to the beach, one block to the lake and three blocks to the charming downtown shopping area- to the lovely owners, Peter and Linda, who have become more like friends than innkeepers. All the help at Ashling is also lovely. Staying here is more like staying at a favorite aunt's house than a hotel... The feeling is so incredibly gracious and relaxed. And Peter's home made wine ain't bad, either! ;-). They will go out of their way to accommodate and are truly lovely, sweet people. There are many other places you could stay in Spring Lake, but none will feel as much like home as Ashling Cottage. If you want to disconnect and really relax, this is the place. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Rooms do not have TVs, which is actually a good thing. Very much in keeping of the old fashioned fee...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

My husband and I had a lovely stay at Ashling Cottage. Here’s a run-down of what made it great for us: clean, well-appointed room in a charming old house just 1.5 blocks from the beach, delicious, plentiful hot breakfast every morning in their comfortable porch, complimentary port wine and cakes at tea time everyday in the pleasantly air-conditioned dining room to greet us when we came back from a sweaty bike ride or hot day out in the sun, free beach passes, free use of bikes, beach chairs and umbrellas, white fluffy towels replenished daily and even beach towels. A fridge w/ free drinks and for us to store our own beverages for later (since many restaurants are BYOB). Even when we checked out, they were super kind to offer us the beach passes for the day if we had wanted (too bad we had to get a head start on driving back). We really enjoyed these very thoughtful touches and it’s such a change from places that nickel and dime you for every small thing.

The only room for improvement that we would point out for future visitors, would be that our room (Sea Breeze) is quite small, and the mattress is pretty soft (seems like other reviewers have mentioned this too), so if you have a bad back, this might not be a good fit for you. Also, if you expect to be able to sleep in, our room tends to be a bit noisy (remember it’s an old house), so you can hear footsteps, furniture moving, voices, pretty much starting 7:30/ 8 am, so that’s another thing to keep in mind. If you’re a morning person, then it won’t be a problem! They are thoughtful to provide a sound machine, but we still had a hard time blocking out the sounds. We’d love to go back, but would likely request a room with a firmer mattress.

A side note not related to the B&B, is that the beaches at spring lake are really quiet, esp. compared to belmar, asbury park, etc. but the rules seem to be stricter, like no food or beverages allowed on the beach. It was fine for us, but something worth noting since we hadn't expected it either.

Room Tip: The larger rooms, while more expensive, might be quieter. Sea breeze was 'cozy' but mattress...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VLPacific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

My husband and I just spent 3 nights at Ashling Cottage B&B. It was a PERFECT get away - not too far a drive, and not too close for company. Our room #1 called Romance was very large, quiet, shady and lovely with 3 windows on 2 exposures. Bathroom with just a small shower was clean with nice amenities & shelf space. The mattress was too soft but we managed sleep anyhow. The owners provided complimentary bikes, beach chairs, towels & umbrellas for the beautiful beach which was just 1 block away. Breakfast was very lovely and served on a pretty porch.
The owner Linda & staff could not be more accomodating and welcoming.

Room Tip: Ask if there are new mattresses in any rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmasuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

My husband and I just spent two nights and two days at the Ashling Cottage Bed and Breakfast. We LOVE this place! Quiet, fantastic breakfasts, and romantic, we highly recommend Ashling Cottage as THE place to stay in Spring Lake!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Just returned from a weekend at Ashling Cottage in Spring Lake. One of the nicest locations in Spring Lake -- steps from the lake, the quaint downtown, restaurants and of course, the ocean. The rooms in this historic property are clean and comfortable and beautifully appointed (ours had a "sound machine" to lull us to sleep). The innkeepers provide such nice touches (port wine and snacks in the afternoon, refrigerator with sodas, etc.) and serve an elegant hot breakfast each day that starts with fresh fruit, in a sunny atrium in the front. The innkeepers are friendly and helpful with suggestions for dinner, etc. We enjoyed the use of free bikes to explore the beautiful town and see the gorgeous homes and gardens of Spring Lake. The inn was quiet and peaceful -- a perfect getaway and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Just got back from a quick getaway to Spring Lake. Couldn't have asked for a better visit. Ashling Cottage is prime location; nestled between the ocean and the lake. Thank you to Peter and Linda for your wonderful dinner advice. Loved that we could park the car under the shady trees, grab a few bikes and tour the neighborhood. Restaurants are an easy walk, or a short drive - depending on what you're looking for and most are BYOB. The inn has a refrigerator to store your own drinks, but is also stocked with free soft drinks - a nice touch. Early each morning coffee and tea was set out and then we were served a delicious breakfast on the screened in porch. And despite that the B&B was full, it was extremely quiet and peaceful. Highly recommend that you visit soon. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redsox788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spring Lake hotels
0.2 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 7 in Spring Lake
658 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Victorian at Spring Lake
0.6 mi away
Walden on the Pond
Walden on the Pond
#5 of 7 in Spring Lake
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Doolan's
Doolan's
#6 of 7 in Spring Lake
134 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 7 in Spring Lake
416 reviews
0.3 mi away
Spring Lake Inn
Spring Lake Inn
#3 of 7 in Spring Lake
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashling Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashling Cottages

Address: 106 Sussex Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762-1215
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Spring Lake
Price Range: $99 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two beach house cottages complete with kitchens and barbecues. Two TVs, air conditioning, bikes, beach badges, beach chairs, beach umbrellas, beach towels, robes, toiletries, iron, ironing board, hair dryer, Wi-Fi, eat in kitchens, private sitting area, outdoor shower, and house keeping upon departure are included with your reservations. Pet and children friendly. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing