We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect getaway”
Review of Ashling Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Spring Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ashling Cottages
ny
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“perfect getaway”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Just got back from a quick getaway to Spring Lake. Couldn't have asked for a better visit. Ashling Cottage is prime location; nestled between the ocean and the lake. Thank you to Peter and Linda for your wonderful dinner advice. Loved that we could park the car under the shady trees, grab a few bikes and tour the neighborhood. Restaurants are an easy walk, or a short drive - depending on what you're looking for and most are BYOB. The inn has a refrigerator to store your own drinks, but is also stocked with free soft drinks - a nice touch. Early each morning coffee and tea was set out and then we were served a delicious breakfast on the screened in porch. And despite that the B&B was full, it was extremely quiet and peaceful. Highly recommend that you visit soon. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redsox788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    3
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
39
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hoboken
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

My husband and I are just finishing a two week stay in one of the cottages. We have had a wonderful time. The place is perfect, the ammeneties are great, breakfast is more than plentiful, and Linda, Peter, and of course their dog Toby have made our stay even better. The best part is that it is a CLEAN pet friendly place that we can go with our dog...and only one block from the beach! We will absolutely be coming back!

Room Tip: Cottage 1 is perfect for a small family. We comfortly slept four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

My wife and I were a bit skeptical of our first B&B experience, but after going to the Ashling Cottage, we can't wait to return. Peter and Linda, the innkeepers, really go the extra mile to be sure you feel at home. The home was spotless, the service was great and the location, well, location location location! This is a perfect place to unplug and relax, we were 1 block from the beach and didn't need to bring any beach gear as Peter and Linda had plenty of beach gear to go around. It was fun to use their bikes and check out the beautiful homes in spring lake too. If you are looking for a great place to relax and enjoy a beautiful beach - this is it. Thanks for a great experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kturturro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new Jersey, USA
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We just returned form a lovely time at Ashling Cottage. Peter and Linda could not have been nicer or more accomodating. The inn is charming and very clean. The breakfast was awesome !! I will definitely return for a longer visit !!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindakathleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crofton, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2012

This was our first experience at a bed and breakfast and it was so delightful. The quaint and comfortable Ashling Cottage was a great spot. It was quiet, clean, very accomodating and in a great location. We were able to get to everything quickly without the use of our car, either walking or biking. We were looking for a relaxing getaway weekend and we got just what we were looking for.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bautifuldream, Owner at Ashling Cottages, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thank you for your very kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clay, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We had never stayed in a Bed & Breakfast before but decided to book 3 nights at this resort over the 4th of July. What a delightful experience we had with customer service obviously at the top of the property priority list, we were treated well in every respect. The chef did a great job and the accommodations were most satisfying. I highly recommend Ashling Cottage.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

My husband & I just returned from a wonderful 5 day vacation at the Ashling Cottage B&B and were highly pleased with everything about this facility. The rooms were spotlessly clean and charming, the breakfasts were delicious, and the wonderfully attentive staff made our stay most enjoyable. We stayed in Room #3, appropriately called the "Heavenly" room because it was! Their attention to detail in decorating the room was superb. There was a soothing sound machine, an interesting looking CD Player along with CD's of relaxing music, 2 wicker rocking chairs, and something we'd never seen on our travels before.....a BOW on the toilet paper made out of the toilet paper! (sorry, had to mention this because it's so unique!) There were plenty of bicycles available daily as well as beach chairs (which seemed to be more deluxe than the other beach chairs we saw on the beach), as well as towels, beach badges and sturdy umbrellas. There was also free wireless internet access in the room but in a place like this, the last thing we wanted to do was be on a computer! The beaches are beautiful and the town of Spring Lake is quaint and peaceful. Highly recommended for anyone in need of a "chillaxing" vacation! My only regret is that I couldn't squeeze in time to take Linda's aerobics class in the morning!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gloria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spring Lake hotels
0.2 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 6 in Spring Lake
640 reviews
0.6 mi away
Walden on the Pond
Walden on the Pond
#4 of 6 in Spring Lake
49 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Spring Lake
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Doolan's
Doolan's
#5 of 6 in Spring Lake
132 reviews
0.3 mi away
Spring Lake Inn
Spring Lake Inn
#4 of 8 in Spring Lake
266 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Victorian at Spring Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashling Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashling Cottages

Property: Ashling Cottages
Address: 106 Sussex Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762-1215
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Spring Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two beach house cottages complete with kitchens and barbecues. Two TVs, air conditioning, bikes, beach badges, beach chairs, beach umbrellas, beach towels, robes, toiletries, iron, ironing board, hair dryer, Wi-Fi, eat in kitchens, private sitting area, outdoor shower, and house keeping upon departure are included with your reservations. Pet and children friendly. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing