We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful weekend at Ashling Cottage”
Review of Ashling Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Spring Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ashling Cottages
Reviewed July 2, 2012

My husband and I just returned form our fourth weekend visit to The Ashling Cottage. As always, it was wonderful! The Inn is clean, comfortable, quiet, and the location to the beach is perfect, just one short block away. A lovely breakfast is served each morning either on the outside porch or indoor atrium. Peter and Linda are wonderful hosts, providing all the amenities you could want for a beach weekend, including, beach badges, beach towels and chairs, and bikes. The front porch is a wonderful shady spot to read, relax, or sip wine!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 53 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2011

Disclaimer: we stayed at Ashling Cottage in 2010, and were booked to stay there again in September 2011. We'd rated our 2010 a "4"; we rate our 2011 experience a "2"; hence, the average of "3".

The best thing about Ashling Cottage is, indeed, its location. One block to the beach and boardwalk. We had stayed there in 2010, and had re-booked for this year. It's a pleasant place, but the highlight for us was proximity to the boardwalk and beach, allowing us to take a short walk anytime of the day and enjoy the ocean, with or without beach chairs, or rising on the boardwalk. The only annoyance was not having any parking, so that you had to park where you could find free parking, which can be difficult during the busy season.

When hurricane Irene hit Spring lake, it devasted half the boardwalk and beach access. Unfortunately, that half is where Ashling Cottage is located.

We were booked for three nights mid-week after Labor Day. They have a very strict deposit structure, requiring 50% of the total cost of the stay. Ten days notice is required to get even a partial refund of the deposit. Without boardwalk and beach access near Ashling Cottage (the primary reason for the stay), we decided to stay at another location. Our request for ANY refund was denied. The following choices were given to us...
1. IF the room was re-booked, they would charge me only $50 for their time to write me to tell me the options. [Who would book a room mid-week given the circumstances above. Also, I didn't know it cost $50 for an inn write an e-mail, so that was new to me]
2. Let us come another time before the season ended [made little sense since the boardwalk and beach access near the Inn would likely not be completed until the 2012 season, and he couldn't tell us if the portion reasonably close to the Inn would be open after Labor Day due to damages]
3. Cancel and lose the entire deposit

We had simply asked for some consideration of a partial return. A very curt e-mail reply ended the exchange "At this late date of cancellation, you are a no show and forfeit your deposit.", unsigned, and without any words such as "hope to see you again when consitions return to normal" which would have helped with our thoughts about Ashling Cottage's customer service. My wife and I agreed that, with the reason why we chose Ashling Cottage being negated, we'd stay home. $308 lost.

Disappointing indeed.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jegrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bautifuldream, Owner at Ashling Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2011

Disappointed is a perfect name for your review as we were disappointed as well. We held a room for you but on the morning of your expected arrival, you chose to e-mail, not even call, to let us know you would not be honoring your contract with us. After many discussions by phone as well as e-mail trying to help you decide about your visit, you decided to stay at home. According to our cancellation policy which we require all of our guests to read at the time a confirmation letter is sent, any cancellation within 10 days of the reservation will be forfeited. We're sorry you were disappointed in us as we were also disappointed in you and your decision. Since last year's visit when you gave us 4 stars, we've only improved our facility with new carpeting both indoors and outdoors, new beach chairs, new robes in each room, a professional chef serving a full course breakfast, and much more. Many of our guest received legitimate refunds for their deposits and many of them rescheduled in spite of weather and boardwalk conditions. We apologize for following our policies in your circumstance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Just returned from a lovely time in Spring Lake at Ashling Cottage. Cannot beat the location - one block to the lake - one block to the ocean - 3 blocks to town. We enjoyed a wonderful breakfast and were pleased to find that beach tags, chairs, umbrellas are all available at the inn for the guests to use, as are bicycles. We also enjoyed sitting on the porch each afternoon with a glass of port wine and the baked goodies provided for guests.
The staff at the inn were all very friendly and helpful. We liked it so much, we will be returning next month!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KITTY1KAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed for the weekend and had a great time...Linda and Peter picked us up from the train station and drove us back when we were leaving, and we found them to be super friendly and sweet. Toby the dog is adorable and sweet and unobtrusive and I would disregard any negative mention below about her! The location was a block from the beach and a couple blocks from the lake/town itself. We felt very comfortable and at home so I would recommend it for any friend of mine!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kriskav30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

We had such a great time at Ashling Cottage. From walking in the front door to saying farewell, nothing could have been more perfect. Peter and Linda welcomed us and made us feel so at home...relaxing on the porch, bikes, beach chairs and towels, snacks and drinks - it was better than being at home! The location was perfect if you want the beach, some shopping, and beautiful surroundings. Not only that, after checking out, we were told we still had access to everything so we could enjoy another full day on the beach. With an experience like this, it would be impossible to stay anywhere else when we return to Spring Lake.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gvg1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

We wanted to relax, read, and go to the beach. Ashling Cottage was a perfect choice for a low-key vacation. It is one block from the beach. You can walk to downtown Spring Lake for lunch. Owners and staff were very helpful. They would cook egg and toast for us if we did not want elaborate breakfast. Nothing was too much trouble. The dog (Toby) is so sweet and calm. They give you free beach badges. While the rooms are not luxurious and the bed is a bit soft, I had a really relaxing time.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ghos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

A perfect holiday after 6 nights in new york. Ashling cottage is a little gem, in a perfect location. It offers serenity and calm in a lovely atmosphere. Nothing is too much trouble for the owners who provide complementary drinks and some snacks throughout the day after a tasty breakfast. Helpful staff and the dog is a softie. After seeing much of the area we felt there was nowhere better to stay than Ashling cottage. We would love to visit again. Kate and Keith from England

Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank Keith200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spring Lake hotels
0.2 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 7 in Spring Lake
670 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Victorian at Spring Lake
0.6 mi away
Walden on the Pond
Walden on the Pond
#5 of 7 in Spring Lake
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Doolan's
Doolan's
#6 of 7 in Spring Lake
135 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 7 in Spring Lake
420 reviews
0.3 mi away
Spring Lake Inn
Spring Lake Inn
#3 of 7 in Spring Lake
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashling Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashling Cottages

Address: 106 Sussex Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762-1215
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Spring Lake
Price Range: $99 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two beach house cottages complete with kitchens and barbecues. Two TVs, air conditioning, bikes, beach badges, beach chairs, beach umbrellas, beach towels, robes, toiletries, iron, ironing board, hair dryer, Wi-Fi, eat in kitchens, private sitting area, outdoor shower, and house keeping upon departure are included with your reservations. Pet and children friendly. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing