We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what it used to be”
Review of Black Trumpet

Black Trumpet
Ranked #12 of 26 Restaurants in Spring Lake
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I ate at the Black Trumpet in its old location several times and was always very pleased. The new location is nicer, with great ocean view. But the food's just not very good. The tempura calamari gets served in a super-sized Chinese-takeout container, in stylish black, but the effect of being squished together is that the tempura loses its crispness, and it's made worse because they glop on the sweet sauce. The calamari might be fine if they just served them on a plate and let the diner choose how much sweet sauce he actually wants. Mahi-mahi crusted with pumpkin seeds was ok. But the sweet potato underneath was laced with so much maple syrup I thought I was at IHOP.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelingwriter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    66
    44
    25
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, PA
Level Contributor
700 reviews
355 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 523 helpful votes
“Price fixe lunch”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Nice setting along the Ocean in Spring Lake. Had the price fixe lunch which was a bargain for $14.95! All good except brownie dessert. Very friendly server!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IrishFan-80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Too fussy, not solid”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Nice atmosphere, good service, good location along the beach. However, the food was too complicated and not great.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank aturner50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sintra, Portugal
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Front Porch Dining overlooking the ocean”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

This restaurant is connected to a small beach-front hotel. They have a lovely dining room but our favorite is the front porch. The crab cake lunches and dinners are outstanding and all other choices we've tried have been superb. They also have a very charming, talented gentleman offering keyboard entertainment. It's casual, yet elegant.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sneeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wall Township, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Breakfast needs some attention!”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We love this place. Great view and usually great food. So that's why we were so disappointed with our breakfast on Memorial Day. Maybe they are just off to a rocky start. It was a gorgeous morning, but they hadn't opened up the plastic dropdown wind "shields" and so it was like a hot house on the beautiful porch. No music playing - when we usually enjoy nice jazz. Dry toasted rye bread cracked and crumbled it was so dry. The waitress is also a bit loud.

Just a few tweeks and attention to the customer's experience and this place will have lines out the door in no time!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RelaxingEscape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Trumpet also viewed

Spring Lake, Jersey Shore
Spring Lake, Jersey Shore
 
Spring Lake, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Black Trumpet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing