We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family fun anniversary weekend”

The Breakers on the Ocean Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 33 Restaurants in Spring Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed November 23, 2018

Nice, clean, older resort style beach hotel. Small but very relaxing. Great place to reconnect and relax. We enjoyed our visit.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BreakersOnTheOcean, Manager at The Breakers on the Ocean Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2018

Dear Julie D:

Thank you for staying with us and for your review. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 271 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2018

My wife and I had dinner at the Breakers a few nights ago. The place was busy. We had a nice table right by the window. On the other side of the glass, guests were happily eating at a wedding reception on the veranda. Our server brought us olive oil, which we looked at for 20 minutes while the veranda folks kept enjoying their food. Finally, some bread arrived. My wife ordered Scallops Scampi … but the dish that arrived was Shrimp Scampi. By then, we were so hungry that neither of us complained. At the end of the meal when we asked for the check, it took 25 minutes for the bill to arrive. From start to finish, we were there for 2 hours. The food was good, but the wait was not.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JKWilson195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BreakersOnTheOcean, Manager at The Breakers on the Ocean Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2018

Dear JKWilson195:

Thank you for dining with us. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meals, but sorry to hear about the delays in service. While we offer a leisurely dining experience, the bread and check certainly should have arrived more timely. Also, we apologize for the mix up with one of your entrees. We have brought your experience to our Restaurant Manager's attention. His name is Larry and he would love to meet you if you have the chance to visit again. As with all of our guests, he would like to ensure an excellent dining experience from start to finish. Thank you again for dining with us and for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2018

This restaurant has amazing views, good food, very good service and really good prices as well. Absolutely recommend this for lunch or dinner

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank seanmT4053GU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BreakersOnTheOcean, Manager at The Breakers on the Ocean Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2018

Dear seanmT4053GU:

Thank you for your kind review and recommendation. We're so happy to hear that you had a great lunch and we look forward to seeing you next time. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2018

We recently ate dinner at the Breakers. The view of the ocean was spectacular, and the food was delicious. The shrimp scampi was slightly garlicky, but not overwhelming. My husband and I both had ample portions of food for our entrees, accompanied by fresh salads and bread. The service was attentive but not overbearing. Prices were not exorbitant, but rather reasonably priced, particularly with an ocean view. We will definitely return for lunch or dinner.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank cindyockster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BreakersOnTheOcean, Manager at The Breakers on the Ocean Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2018

Dear Cindy B:

We are delighted to hear that you and your husband recently enjoyed dinner with us. Thank you for your review and for dining with us. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2018

A friend from college was visiting in the area and we wanted to have lunch overlooking the ocean. I didn't think it was possible because it rained all day, but we made it happen by eating at The Breakers in their lovely dining room. Our table was by the window and we could watch the ocean without getting wet. The lunch menu has an assortment of salads, sandwiches and hot food at very reasonable prices, even though the ambiance is upscale.
Our server, Claudia, was lovely as well as professional.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank vagabondgrandparents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BreakersOnTheOcean, Manager at The Breakers on the Ocean Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2018

Dear vagabondgrandparents:

Thank you for your lovely review and also for dining with us. We're so happy that you were able to spend time with your friend at The Breakers and that you enjoyed everything. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Breakers on the Ocean Restaurant also viewed

Spring Lake, Jersey Shore
Spring Lake Heights, Jersey Shore
 
Avon by the Sea, NJ
Spring Lake, Jersey Shore
 
Spring Lake, Jersey Shore
Wall Township, NJ
 

Been to The Breakers on the Ocean Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing