We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“like being home”
Review of The Ocean House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Spring Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ocean House
Ranked #1 of 8 Spring Lake B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
North Bergen, New Jersey
1 review
“like being home”
Reviewed July 31, 2010

last weekend my husband and i managed to get away for the weekend. with our busy schedules a longer vacation was not doable. we had never stayed at a B&B before so i searched the internet. when i came across the ocean house, i liked what i saw but i think it was the porch that won me over. when i called to make a reservation, they were very helpful, informative and entheusastic. when we arrived we were welcomed with smiles and an atmosphere of elegance, yet it felt like home. the inn was decorated beautifully and the room was clean, spacious and comfortable. we took a ride around town on the bikes that were provided at no charge. spring lake is a georgous town and the beach pristine. breakfast was yummy and abundant. the staff was friendly and a lot of fun. the worst part was leaving the porch at night to go to bed. we left there refreshed, rested and we hope to go back soon.
laura
n.bergen nj

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura46679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    37
    16
    4
    4
See reviews for
63
168
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Park Ridge, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2010

I would highly recommend this lovely bed and breakfast. The Inn is well maintained and beautifully decorated. Nancy and Dennis make you feel at home immediately. It is a wonderful place to relax and take in all beauty that surrounds this location. It is only 1 block from the pristine beach and about 3 blocks from the upscale downtown shopping area. Other sites incllude the magnificant St Catherine church which overlooks the lake complete with foot bridges and lovely park with gardens. The breakfasts are delicious and the staff are very hospitable. The Ocean House is a true treasure.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Springlake46713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia suburbs
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2010

I just stayed at the ocean house and I was not happy with the Inn. The only positive note is that it is one block from the ocean and two blocks from the lake - really wonderful location - and it has a wonderful large wraparound porch. Otherwise - it was not good. I stayed in a 'deluxe' queen ($327/night including taxes!) which was quite small, the bathroom smelled like urine, the air conditioner was not adequate and the furniture was 'tired' and shabby. In addition, the breakfast was beyond poor. The fruit bowl was canned fruit mixed with a small amount of fresh fruit. There were no eggs or other traditional breakfast foods - just some supermarket brand bread choices, a bowl of nuts and some deli ham. There was not enough parking for everyone. The inn does not provde beach badges. Afternoon tea was just some cake from a box from the grocery store and there was precious little of that. The overall experience was not a positive.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cgaphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceanhouse07762, Manager at The Ocean House, responded to this review, July 29, 2010
I would first like to address a few of our concerns with this site. We have had reviews from people that have never stayed at our inn posting as if they were a guest. There has been no way to contact Trip Advisor to dispute and expose these reviews. Unfortunately, our competitors or anyone for that matter can go and slander our business without any recourse from the management of this site.

While we love having the opportunity for our guests to express their positive experiences at our inn, it is disheartening to see people write whatever they want, whether it is true or not, without any accountability. While we have been diligent in asking all our repeat guests, that have enjoyed our inn every summer, some for as long as we have owned the inn (12 years), to please write reviews of their experience here, but there is no way to prevent ones like these.

In response to this review, we are extremely upset that this guest did not let us know about any of her issues during her stay. If her bathroom, in fact needed to be cleaned again, than we would have gladly had our experienced and hard working housekeepers, take care of the problem. At no point in time was this issue raised to management.

In regards to our rates; we are one of the most affordable B&B's in town and are proud our ability to keep our rooms at affordable prices for our guests to enjoy beautiful Spring Lake. We discount our rates during the week and in the off season, if the reviewer had an issue with our weekend rates, maybe a stay at another time would have suited her budget better? I would just reiterate that our rates are fair and competitive, if not cheaper, than the other B&B's in the area.

In regards to breakfast, I was just discussing with a guest on our wrap around porch, yesterday, that her favorite things about our inn, is the location, wrap around porch, and our delicious breakfast. The weekend this guest was here, we had smoked salmon, hard boiled eggs, thumann's ham, and a homemade crème brule french toast dish with breakfast sausage. I personally buy the fresh fruit and watch the fruit salad get made every morning before breakfast is served. I assure any reader that we use fresh strawberries, blueberries, nectarines, bananas, cantaloupe, and honeydew melon. All of which are fresh and not from a can. We also had homemade crumb cake and pineapple upside down cake as well as homemade fresh muffins, baked on premises.

In regards to parking, we specifically state when taking reservations that we have limited parking on our property (nine plus two handicap spaces). Our guests can park 4 houses away, one short block, if the lot is full. We do not charge to park in our lot, and it is on a first come basis.

We tell all of our guests, that we do not provide beach badges, but they are available at the end of our street at the entrance to the beach. And finally, if our guests would like more cookies or sweets during afternoon tea, all they have to do is ask, if we have not already replenished the items.

We will always strive to be the best and most affordable place to stay in Spring Lake. We are here to provide a great experience to all of our guests and wish that this guest, or any guest, that has an issue with something to PLEASE bring the issue to management during their stay, so that we can address it at that time. Also, we send follow up emails to our guests, asking if there was something that was not exactly perfect with their stay, to please let us know.

Unfortunately this reviewer did not respond to that email, but instead decided to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2010

My friend and I have just returned from a relaxing time in Spring Lake. The Ocean B&B was lovely. Clean and friendly and the breakfast was wonderful. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daiisey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2010

My daughter and I stayed at the Ocean House this July 4th weekend and had an absolutely great time. The Ocean House is the perfect place to stay at Spring Lake. All of the staff is extremely friendly , very helpful and assisted with making dinner reservations, getting New Jersey transit train schedules and making sure the fire works schedule was posted and available to all of the guests to be able to enjoy it if they wanted to. We liked the room which had two twin beds, ample space, air conditioning that worked beautifully and a great stall shower. The wrap around porch which extended all around the inn was an added plus and gave it a very cozy and comfortable feel. It was my favorite. Breakfast was a real treat with lots of choices to eat served in a lovely dining room with piped in music. A lovely way to start the day. We would definately go back and plan to before this summer is over. I would highly recommend it to anyone looking to get away and relax by the ocean. It is also one block to the beach and a few blocks to town, great location too.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helene033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland Park, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2010

Not only is the Ocean House a lovely old hotel, but the owner's and staff are gracious and accommodating. This was my third visit and each stay has been so relaxing I haven't wanted to leave! I have stayed in June, August and last October celebrated my anniversary with my husband there. He loved it as well!

The large wrap-around porch is a beautiful place to sit and read, talk or even nap! I have had meals out there as well since the ocean breeze makes the temperature bearable on even the warmest days.

It is a short walk to the beach and there are many local restaurants that the owner's (Nancy and Dennis) or staff will recommend and even make reservations for you.

Breakfast is always different too. One morning eggs over canadian bacon and the next the most delicious apple cinnamon pancakes ever! There is always cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit and bagels as well.

I have stayed at other B&B's in Spring Lake, but will never go anywhere else now that I found the Ocean House!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anniboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2010

I've stayed at Ocean House with a large group of teenaged students four times now, and each time has been wonderful. The owners, Dennis and Nancy, are always warm and welcoming. Although the students I accompany are smart and well-behaved, most innkeepers would be, at the very least, edgy or uptight when nearly 40 students come pouring out of a bus. Not Dennis and Nancy--they greet us enthusiastically and then bend over backwards to make sure everything is as ordered and then some. Their staff takes their cues from Dennis and Nancy and are kind and friendly.

The wrap-around porch and entire first floor is the perfect balance of Victorian charm and beachy comfort. It truly feels like a home--a dream home a block from the beach.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglishTeacher1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Lake
0.2 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.6 mi away
Walden on the Pond
Walden on the Pond
#4 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#6 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.7 mi away
Doolan's
Doolan's
#5 of 6 in Spring Lake
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.3 mi away
Spring Lake Inn
Spring Lake Inn
#4 of 8 in Spring Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean House

Property: The Ocean House
Address: 102 Sussex Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762-1215
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Spring Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is our quest and desire to preserve and enhance the magic that is, The Ocean House. Just one short block from the beach and an enjoyable walk along the lake to Spring Lake's shopping district. Enjoy a run on the Spring Lake boardwalk or bike about the town to view the majestic homes and breath taking landscapes. If relaxation is your desire, there is no finer porch to read that book you haven't had a chance to get to, or have that glass of wine with your spouse before enjoying one of the many fine restaurants in our area. We are happy to help with reservations and any other travel needs you may have? ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Ocean House Hotel Spring Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing