We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute B&B...terrible owner”
Review of The Ocean House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Spring Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ocean House
Ranked #1 of 8 Spring Lake B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey City, New Jersey, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cute B&B...terrible owner”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The actual B&B is super cute and nice. A perfect location...one block or so from the beach. great porch....cute rooms (reminds me of my grandmother's house from like 20 years ago though) but still cute!

(My husband and I chose this place bcs our favorite B&B was sold out, and one of the reasons we picked ocean house was bcs they had bikes...which we absolutely love having in spring lake)

The ONLY problem we had was with the owner. He informed us one morning that we can't take the bikes out once it's dark due to insurance reasons (we never had that problem anywhere else) but we were like, OK. So later that day after the beach we went out to get a bike, but they were all chained up. It was 630p. I had to ask the girl inside to let us have the bikes, and she agreed. As we were about to ride away...the owner comes out SCREAMING "hello!! hello!!" and we were like, what? and he was like "I told you that you can't have the bikes out at night" and we said " hello it's 630...it gets dark at 830...we'll have them back" and he continued to go on AGAIN and lecture us about having the bikes back. I was SO annoyed with him.
I felt like a little kid, like who does he think he's talking to?
A similar incident happened the next day but I don't need to go into detail. You get my point. He also scolded us for coming in the house with too much sand on our feet. He treated us like kids. I would never go back...just based solely on his attitude.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Shelby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    37
    16
    4
    4
See reviews for
68
170
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

A big thank you to one and all at Ocean House for hosting us all at a recent wedding. The Ocean House has a wonderful feeling about it and all of the staff went above and beyond in making our stay a memorable event.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I recently stayed at the Ocean house while attending a wedding in the area.. The family and staff running the inn could not have been more attentive or accommodating to the wedding guests. We have left feeling we have made new friends.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Jo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2013

What we love about the Ocean House:
Eating breakfast on the glorious wrap around porch with views of the ocean and lake! Delightful!
Soothing music you hear throughout the Inn as you enjoy your afternoon tea!Calming!
Steps to the beach,town,lake and fabulous restaurants! Stress free!
Retreating to your beautifully decorated and spotless room! Relaxing!
Owners Nancy,Dennis,Jared,Colleen and friendly staff! Pampering!
Returning to the Ocean House next year! Definitely! MaryAnn And Bob

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rmcgi14485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed at the Ocean House this past week and had an amazing time! The accommodations are beautiful and my room was very well appointed (haven't slept that well in months; so quiet and the bed was perfect!). The wrap around porch is great to relax on and having the ocean less then a block away is perfect; such a great breeze from the water and you can come and go to the beach as needed. Also had the opportunity to take the bikes out and explore around Spring Lake which is so nice! Breakfast was delicious (the breakfast burritos were great; a must try if served while you are there!) and the staff is so friendly and goes above and beyond to make sure you are taken care of and all needs are addressed.

I can't wait till my next trip down to Spring Lake and I know for sure that I will be staying at the Ocean House!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

when you have to throw bath mats on the stairs, its time to change the carpet....

this inn is in a fine location, Spring Lake is lovely, and the staff couldn't be more helpful. But the facility itself is very marginal and not quite clean enough for the rate. (which doesn't actually include beach access.)
yes, they have bikes, but they are very rusted with brakes that barely work.
same with the beach chairs. and the mattresses.
they do try very hard to accommodate guests needs. that is its saving grace.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank m w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here recently for a wedding and loved it. The young couple who run this inn were great and made us feel so welcome . The location is great as it's right off the lake and only a few minute walk to charming downtown Spring Lake plus it's also steps from the beach ! I've been coming to Spring Lake for years but never knew about this place- we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BHTravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spring Lake hotels
0.2 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 6 in Spring Lake
641 reviews
0.6 mi away
Walden on the Pond
Walden on the Pond
#4 of 6 in Spring Lake
49 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Spring Lake
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Doolan's
Doolan's
#5 of 6 in Spring Lake
132 reviews
0.3 mi away
Spring Lake Inn
Spring Lake Inn
#4 of 8 in Spring Lake
267 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Victorian at Spring Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean House

Property: The Ocean House
Address: 102 Sussex Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762-1215
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Spring Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is our quest and desire to preserve and enhance the magic that is, The Ocean House. Just one short block from the beach and an enjoyable walk along the lake to Spring Lake's shopping district. Enjoy a run on the Spring Lake boardwalk or bike about the town to view the majestic homes and breath taking landscapes. If relaxation is your desire, there is no finer porch to read that book you haven't had a chance to get to, or have that glass of wine with your spouse before enjoying one of the many fine restaurants in our area. We are happy to help with reservations and any other travel needs you may have? ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Ocean House Hotel Spring Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing