We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Joy at the Jersey Shore” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ocean House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Spring Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ocean House
Ranked #1 of 8 Spring Lake B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
1 review
“Joy at the Jersey Shore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

I was part of the 32-person meeting/retreat last week at Ocean House. It was a wonderful experience, with homey rooms, excellent (A++) service, and good food. Every request was met with a smile and a helpful response. Someone was always available and eager to provide assistance for all our needs. Of course, it didn’t hurt that Ocean House was about a block and a half from the ocean. Early mornings on the boardwalk with the surf below were delightful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BDP710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    37
    15
    4
    4
See reviews for
63
165
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
HOLLAND
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

I was part of a business group that filled the Ocean House. In addition to the excellent food and room, what I especially appreciated was the staff's effort to accommodate our needs at every turn (to alter their room set up, arrange for a screen to be brought in and out, and just generally to do everything they could to support our purposes). Plus I love that grand wrap-around porch--what a great place for breakout conversations!

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank DAVID M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

I was one of the organizers of a 32-person business meeting at this location. When I met with one of the owners -- Jared -- in February, he walked me through the entire bed and breakfast, showing me each room and helping me and my fellow organizers decide where we could have meetings. He could not have been more professional and welcoming. Between February and June, we contacted him many times with questions and he was always incredibly helpful. When we arrived in June, we immediately felt that we were in good hands, from the excellent food, the beautiful rooms, and especially the friendly and warm service. We spent much of our time meeting in the breakfast room, which he completely rearranged for us as well as in the lovely parlor. The wrap-around porch was especially welcoming and relaxing. The bedrooms are all beautifully decorated with their own bathrooms (a plus at a b&b!) and there is a variety of suites, king bedrooms, and more modest and inexpensive rooms. All seem to be good value for this very popular resort town. While I was here on business, I look forward to coming back here for a relaxing holiday. It is just steps from the ocean and a short walk into town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

I couldn't have been more pleased with the quaint charm, friendly and warm service, terrific food, and wonderful location of this lovely B&B. Everyone there made us feel so welcome, and I felt comfortable immediately. My room was clean and spacious and had oodles of charm. I loved how modern conveniences were integrated so subtly and effectively (for example, my windows opened easily). A temporarily misplaced room key (my fault!) was quickly replaced, a room change (to provide an older meeting attendee a first-floor room) was not a problem, and Jared even knew my name (which with 32 people attending was an impressive feat, I thought)! I hope to return to the Ocean House one day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

I organized a work meeting/retreat at the Ocean House for 32 people last week. Jared and Nancy were fabulous in attending to our every need every step of the way, including accommodating special dietary needs and varying levels of physical ability, dealing with a film crew we needed for one of our meeting days, helping us arrange for ground transportation for our whole group, helping us set up a special dinner off the premises, and even going out to pick up food for two of our attendees. They were professional and competent, yet they also made us feel at home, and everyone in our group was treated well. I felt as if I were visiting relatives. The food was DELICIOUS! The location was lovely--a minute's walk from a really gorgeous beach with a brand-new boardwalk. The rooms are adorable! We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Girt, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

I send every business colleague and relative to the Ocean House and get nothing but top notch service at a reasonable price. I cannot stand when someone like the previous reviewer slams a place without ever staying there and what don't you get about someone's mom going to hospital??? Like how you added - hope she's OK-sounds like you don't care about anyone but yourself!!!! What an arrogant self-serving monologue by a bitter person!!!

We prefer nasty complainers stay away - keep your attitude and money away from the Jersey Shore - although you do sound like such a genuine altruistic person - just kidding!!!

I had a baby shower, wedding shower and numerous friends and relatives stay there - always with fantastic service!!! Why don't you stay at a place before bashing???

If you would like to discuss let me know! My name is Pete!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

I had my daughter's baby shower at The Ocean House on 5/19/13. Everyone had a wonderful time in this cozy atmosphere. It felt like we were at home. My family and friends raved about it! Jared is so helpful and Nancy is a fantastic chef. The food was fabulous. Just a really fun place to host an event.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Lake
0.2 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
4.9 mi away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#6 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.7 mi away
Doolan's
Doolan's
#5 of 6 in Spring Lake
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.7 mi away
White Lilac Inn
White Lilac Inn
#2 of 8 in Spring Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean House

Property: The Ocean House
Address: 102 Sussex Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762-1215
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Spring Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is our quest and desire to preserve and enhance the magic that is, The Ocean House. Just one short block from the beach and an enjoyable walk along the lake to Spring Lake's shopping district. Enjoy a run on the Spring Lake boardwalk or bike about the town to view the majestic homes and breath taking landscapes. If relaxation is your desire, there is no finer porch to read that book you haven't had a chance to get to, or have that glass of wine with your spouse before enjoying one of the many fine restaurants in our area. We are happy to help with reservations and any other travel needs you may have? ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Ocean House Hotel Spring Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing