We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful romantic getaway”
Review of The Ocean House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Spring Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ocean House
Ranked #1 of 7 Spring Lake B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Our stay at the Ocean House was wonderful - the hotel is just as advertised - warm, quaint, comfortable and very clean. Jared and the staff we great - attentive and friendly and truly made my bride and I feel welcome. The breakfast was special everyday - a good meal served in a friendly and attentive manner. We will absolutely be back - we intend to make the Ocean House a couples tradition.

Room Tip: Our corner suite was bright and quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (342)
There are newer reviews for The Ocean House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 342 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

i recently stayed at the hotel and the weekend was nothing short of spectacular. the rooms are so quaint and each one has its own personality, i really appreciated the attention that was taken to make this place feel like a home away from home. and this also pertains to the service, the staff is warm and friendly and attended to my every need, breakfast was also great! i'm a big tea drinker and they have all kinds of specialty teas, i felt like i was in my own personal mansion. highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Often while preparing for a wedding there is much thought put into the basics: venue, attire, entertainment... but when we were planning our September 2012 wedding we wanted an entire weekend to honor our friends and family who had traveled from all over the country to be with us. There could not have been a more perfect location for everyone to stay than The Ocean House. We reserved the entire B+B and our guests were made to feel so comfortable they felt as though they were on a mini-vacation. During down time guests were able to lounge about the gorgeous, clean common areas and particularly enjoyed listening to the ocean from the porch. Others walked to the beach or enjoyed a bicycle ride courtesy of The Ocean House. Everyone was so accomodating when we had guests bussed back between our ceremony and reception and the food at our Sunday Farewell brunch was delicious. Jared is the quintessential local and even helped steer us in planning our memorable "after party" which we held at a local pub. Our friends and family truly cannot stop raving about the experience they had, placed calls to check on how everyone fared during and after the hurricane (well!) and are making plans to return after the holidays. I will be forever grateful for The Ocean House making our wedding celebration more than just a one day affair. It was just a service you can't get anywhere else this day and age.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary-Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Beautifully decorated for Christmas! Would have liked Christmas music or classical, but still rate this b&b very highly. Rooms 14, 15 &20 are our favorites! These are in the main building! Breakfast consisted of egg/tomato casserole with side of ham, bagels with all the trimmings, several nutbreads, fresh fruit and juices, cereal and coffee &teas. Served buffet style, you take what you want, as often as you want. Small & med sized tables in adorable dining area. Can sit as 2 or 6 . Room is really beautiful!

Room Tip: Rooms 14, 15, or 20 are the most beautifully appointed. Fireplace and king beds (some four-poster) g...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loriRichboroPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Working for an electric utility, you never know where you are going to stay on out of town restoration trips. Fortuntately, we were provided lodging at the Ocean House. Dennis, Nancy, Jared, Colleen (and all the other staff) could not have been more accomodating to our schedule - with coffee brewing at 0400 and the breakfast spread out no later than 0500 (obviously much earlier than they normally do). Given our length of stay, some of us had room adjustments which were all handled with no issues. All the rooms are very nice and, if someone is looking for a warm, inviting place to stay one block from the beach, this is the place. Lastly, the wrap-around porch would be perfect in the summer and nearby are many shops and restaurants both in town (a nice walk or a short drive) or very close nearby. Hats off to all of the folks at The Ocean House for their hospitality!

Room Tip: I, personally, enjoyed the rooms in the main house better. At least for me, they were roomier.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dmorche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We arranged to have our wedding weekend accomodations at the Ocean House this past September and had such a wonderful experience. We made all of our arrangements through Jared who was an absolute pleasure to deal with. He was responsive and accomodating for our very large group and the way the Ocean House operates is a reflection of its staff. All of our wedding guests stayed there comfortably, the rooms were clean and there were no issues. Brunch on Sunday morning was so lovely and we left truly feeling as though we had been treated like family. Thank you to the whole staff for making that part of our wedding planning process one less thing that we had to think about. We knew we were in good hands from the start. Everyone was so relaxed and had such a fantastic time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I would actually give this B and B a good rating but since that is not available went with average. It is one block from the beach, and an easy walk to get to shops. In the off season both the town and the inn are extremely quiet which can be both a good and bad thing. The Inn itself, has an older time vibe about it. The wrap around porch is very nice and relaxing. The breakfast provided is quite ample for most appetites- fruit, english muffins, sweet bread, main course, oj, coffee, tea. The rooms are on the small side but immaculate. The beds were hard and would suggest bringing your own pillow. Would recommend if you like older bed and breakfasts by the shore.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Besos43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spring Lake hotels
0.2 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 7 in Spring Lake
658 reviews
0.6 mi away
Walden on the Pond
Walden on the Pond
#5 of 7 in Spring Lake
51 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Victorian at Spring Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 7 in Spring Lake
417 reviews
0.7 mi away
Doolan's
Doolan's
#6 of 7 in Spring Lake
134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Spring Lake Inn
Spring Lake Inn
#3 of 7 in Spring Lake
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean House

Address: 102 Sussex Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762-1215
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Spring Lake
Price Range: $175 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is our quest and desire to preserve and enhance the magic that is, The Ocean House. Just one short block from the beach and an enjoyable walk along the lake to Spring Lake's shopping district. Enjoy a run on the Spring Lake boardwalk or bike about the town to view the majestic homes and breath taking landscapes. If relaxation is your desire, there is no finer porch to read that book you haven't had a chance to get to, or have that glass of wine with your spouse before enjoying one of the many fine restaurants in our area. We are happy to help with reservations and any other travel needs you may have? ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Ocean House Hotel Spring Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing