We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully Renovated”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Johnson House Inn

Johnson House Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Spring Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Johnson House Inn
Ranked #5 of 8 Spring Lake B&B and Inns
Morristown, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautifully Renovated”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2010

Our family has enjoyed the Johnson House Inn for many years and certainly plan to for many more. Upon our arrival we were greeted, as usual, by the friendly Inn keepers. The house has gone through some major renovations since our last visit and to our delight we found that “our room” (which we stay in every year) was completely new. Beyond our room renovations were obvious in every corner of the house and the attention to detail was surely not missed.

As always, our stay was wonderful and we can't say enough about the hospitality offered by the inn keepers, they go above and beyond to always make our stay the very best. Thank you Johnson House Inn for more great memories and we look forward to visiting again soon. Hopefully this hidden gem stays hidden.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    3
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2010

While a fantastic location and a beautiful house, I found myself walking away disappointed. First of all, not so sure what they are talking about when they say that it is a "Bed & Breakfast". Not so much on the breakfast part. There were a few sugary cereals (think Fruit loops) and a little bread. One day they brought out a quiche of sorts but that was about it. I found that we needed to go out to get more breakfast just an hour later. Also, they did not really have any cereals that were not high in sugar or corn syrup. As a result, my kids were on a sugar high and then crashed.

I did not feel all that welcome either. We wanted to relax on the porch and we were certainly discouraged from doing so. We felt as if we had to leave each night and could not relax on the porch before or after meals.

Rooms -- ok. A little outdated and sort of gross covers. Most hotels and B&Bs that I have been to recently have the covers that are beautiful white duvets that you know are washed every time you go. These ugly bedcovers were not washed in a LONG time.

In general not so impressed.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelswithdogs123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenwich,ct
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2009

My sister and I stayed at the Johnson house this past weekend and what a pleasant surprise. We were welcomed by the inn keepers as if we were part of their family. They spoke to us about the history of the inn and the Spring Lake area which was so interesting. We also spoke about our familes and how we would love to come back with our husbands and children. They shared stories of their own family and you could just feel the warmth and love when you stay there. I highly recommend this inn to all..

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nas1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2008

Pay no attention to that last review! This is a wonderful bed and breakfast! The inn is full of images of pinapples . . . which stand for hospitality! And hospitality abounded! We were warmly greeted. Our Many requests were met with a smile. And a wonderful comradery developed between the guests as we were so well treated. My children, ages 15 and 10, rated this one of our best vacations ever, right up there with an all inclusive to the Bahamas.

Listen, some people will complain no matter what, you can't make them happy. But for those of us who are looking for a family friendy vacation, in an inviting atmosphere, this is it! They supply everything you need for the perfect beach vacation: beach umbrellas, chairs, boogie boards, sand toys, balls and bicyles were at our disposal. We packed light and had no worries. There were great places to eat nearby to suit any budget, and in town the folks were terribly friendly ( check out 3rd Avenue Surf Shop).

By unanamous vote my family plans to spend time hear every year from now on.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank MLBinNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2008

My husband and I and our entire family had booked the Johnson House for the whole weekend. I was not impressed at all, especially for the price. The rooms were very outdated, we had no hot water and our light was out. They did come and fix the water but not the light. The linens were old as was the wallpaper and carpets.The owner is all in your buisness and was very rude to me and my husband. For breakfast we were asked to move from our table, even though we were sitting with the kids and take our coffee to our rooms or outside. They provide you with beach chair sand umbrellas, but the owner comes outside and questions us as to why we were taking three umbrellas, um maybe because we were a family of 16 staying there. If we parked our car they would come and inspect as to where we parked and to make sure it was to there liking and just so much more to write. If you are looking to feel like you are back in highschool then def. go there if not I would not recommend it all. Did not feel comfortable at all. Then be prepared to get banged out with a bill of more than what you expected, cause we were in shock, it was 30 bucks more a night, plus an additional 70 bucks in ridiculous taxes. Never Again!

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Everything!!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Alicyn313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, NJ
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2008

My husband Jim doesn't particularly like Inns, so I look for one that is not so 'in your face' but architecturally interesting and well located.

Spring Lake is a great town, and this inn is within walking distance of the spectacular beach, cheery down town and famous Spring Lake. If you like architecture, you will love it here - along with all the history that lives in this old town by the sea... eminently bikeable, you park your car and you are done.

Bright cheery rooms here, comfortable, welcoming inn- keepers, stacks of newpapers arrive on the veranda every morning. Great conversation there in the evenings. Free to use the charming, huge living room. A very relaxed sort of place - not the stuffy sort you run into sometimes while visiting a new inn. Chairs and bikes and a constant ocean breeze... what else could you need?

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank Morninglori13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2004

The town is small but nice for a family visit for a few days. All the accomodations in this town are in the $200 and up range, which seems pricey to me. (A cruise can actually be cheaper if you go a whole week). The town itself is very clean and full of pride. A tour of neighboring towns shows a big difference. The downtown is a mere 4 blocks long. The boardwalk is nice for walking (no stores) and allows bicycles 6-9AM (beware the headwind/tailwind). The beach was very clean, crowded on weekends but not bad during the week.

Johnson House Inn was a wonderful B&B - clean, friendly, allowed young children. The breakfast was store-bought (cereal, fresh cut fruit, toast) except for eggs & bacon some days (not all), which was disappointing as their brochure advertises homemade. It was walking distance to the beach, and they provided beach passes, chairs (you carry them), umbrellas, and sand toys. No phone/TV in room but who needs it with a big ol' porch w/swing, and the boardwalk/ocean so close. Room had A/C but we barely needed it at night. TV/VCR in common area/living room.
Overall, it was a good experience for a short 1 1/2 hour ride from the Phila. area.

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spring Lake hotels
0.9 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
1.2 mi away
Walden on the Pond
Walden on the Pond
#4 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Spring Lake Inn
Spring Lake Inn
#4 of 8 in Spring Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
1.3 mi away
White Lilac Inn
White Lilac Inn
#2 of 8 in Spring Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Victorian @ Spring Lake
Grand Victorian @ Spring Lake
#8 of 8 in Spring Lake
3.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Johnson House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johnson House Inn

Property: Johnson House Inn
Address: 25 Tuttle Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762-1533
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Spring Lake
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing