We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“30 something girls' weekend”
Review of Johnson House Inn

Johnson House Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Spring Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Johnson House Inn
Ranked #5 of 8 Spring Lake B&B and Inns
New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“30 something girls' weekend”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The perfect location for 5 friends to catch up. The room was spacious and breakfast was casual. The innkeepers were so gracious yet not oberbearing. The front porch was large and inviting. We plan to return in 2013.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jark21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    3
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

What do you get when you mix:
A) ocean breezes on the gracious and spacious front porch,
B) historic charm, but updated, clean and comfortable accommodations, and
C) the highest level of service from second-generation inn keepers?

The Johnson House!

I have tried several inns in Spring Lake, and Johnson House is where I will ALWAYS stay. Anyone with allergies, asthma or chemical sensitivities will appreciate Hellin and Joe's extra attention to detail. They even switched their laundry products to healthy choices on request, and plan to keep it that way from now on. How many hotels and inns would do that? Screens on all of the windows let you turn off the AC if desired (controlled in each room).

The Dining and Living Room areas were recently and tastefully renovated. The bedrooms maintain their classic and airy wicker charm, with updated bathrooms in all. Breakfast feels like home, with hot entrees most mornings. The Finnish Pancakes are out of this world.

Walk 1/2 block, through one of Spring Lake's loveliest neighborhoods, to the ocean and quiet boardwalk. Beach chairs, umbrellas, and bikes provided.

The Johnson House is like having your own summer home in Spring Lake, but your wonderful hosts take care of all the details. Thank you, Hellin and Joe!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyckoff, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2012

On a recent weekend myself and a friend just wanted to get away. Well we decided The Johnson House Inn was the place to go. It looked lovely on the internet. Lovely did not descripe this one of a kind LUXURY INN. From the moment you walk in the door when the Inn Keepers welcome you, to the beautiful living room where you feel so comfortable, to the clean, fresh, recently renovated guest room, I knew I would not want to leave. Sitting on the front porch having an afternoon beverage, to resting in the interior living room after dinner with a warm cup of tea, it was so much better than home. Just a short walk to the beach, to the Lake, center of town and the quaint shopping in the village, The Johnson House is the best choice. Waking to the smell of fresh brewed coffee, a welcoming smile and continental breakfast, the charm and love built into the Johnson House speaks volumes. Working for Luxury Hotels Globally, I compare this to any of the four star hotels that my company represents. I recommend you choose this beautiful Inn in Spring Lake, The Johnson House.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ecopti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambertville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

The Summer of 2011 my husband and I stayed midweek at the Johnson House. We were married in Spring Lake 13 years ago at the Warren Hotel that closed a year later. We have been searching for the best place to stay since then. Then we found the Johnson House. Our search is over. Hellin and Joe have the most perfect personalities for owning a B and B. Making reservation today today for our 2012 Spring Lake visit.

Room Tip: There is a wonderful room with a little porch off of it. Lovely to sit and have wine and cheese or c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2012

My husband and I just returned from spending our anniversary weekend at The Johnson House Inn. It was marvelous! It is clean, comfortable, and beautiful. The owners are the essence of hospitality. The location is only a block away from the beach and beach passes are included. We used their beach chairs and umbrella, biked around town on their bikes, and enjoyed some lovely time in the evening on the large porch. It was the perfect respite from our fast paced lives. Thank you, thank you!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We have been going to the Johnson House for about 20 years, and love it! The inn has recently undergone an extensive renovation, and is absolutely pristine, in keeping with the entire area. We have brought our 3 children, who enjoy using guest bikes, and walking the short distance to the exquisite beach. If you are looking to relax in peace and quiet, this is the place. I relish sitting on the porch, catching the cool ocean breezes, lost in my book. Without a doubt, it is the best B&B in Spring Lake.
The charming innkeepers are first class professionals whose goal is please their guests. They go out of their way to make us feel comfortable, and welcome. Their knowledge of the area is extensive. Every year, we are in awe of our entire experience. Thanks, Joe and Helin for your gracious hospitality!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

I went to the Johnson House with my family for our first trip to Spring Lake and it was all-around excellent. Exceedingly clean, central air (which was AMAZING this uncharacteristically hot summer), and Joe and Hellin who run the place are so hospitable and friendly. They couldn't be closer to the beach and they're a very convenient walk/bike ride into town/the lake; the rocking chairs on the porch are lovely in the evening; and It's a great help that they have beach umbrellas, chairs, and bicycles on hand for anyone at the inn. All in all, a cozy, comfortable place to stay that I'd love to return to. For food nearby, we liked Klein's for fresh seafood in Belmar and Bedrock Cafe in Avon-by-the-Sea for really high quality casual dining (a favorite of Joe's at Johnson House, too).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beccaboom82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Spring Lake hotels
0.9 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
1.2 mi away
Walden on the Pond
Walden on the Pond
#4 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Spring Lake Inn
Spring Lake Inn
#4 of 8 in Spring Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
1.3 mi away
White Lilac Inn
White Lilac Inn
#2 of 8 in Spring Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Victorian @ Spring Lake
Grand Victorian @ Spring Lake
#8 of 8 in Spring Lake
3.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Johnson House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johnson House Inn

Property: Johnson House Inn
Address: 25 Tuttle Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762-1533
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Spring Lake
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing