We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Whispers Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Whispers Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 26 Restaurants in Spring Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 2nd Ave.
Transit: Spring Lake stop on the Jersey Shore Line.
Ocean Grove
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Service was great, lovely dining room, though a bit crowded and noisy. Mozzarella appetizer was very nice, salad was boring, my double cut pork chop was tastless. Expected a lot more for the price, there are better places and better values in the area. Probably won't be back!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    47
    25
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Doylestown, PA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“excellent sushi”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

My daughter and I had dinner from the Sushi menu at Whispers. The ambiance was wonderful, the dining room beautiful, service excellent and food wonderful. I was very pleased and would return again. Be sure to BYO

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KIFischer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Back in time”
Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

Old Victorian style with an authentic feel about it.Well presented food that was also tasty and interesting.Service was enthusiastic and good.Menu was broad and it was difficult to choose from as everything looked good .I finally settled on the specials of the day and wasn't disappointed.Dessert was excellent and the meal ended on a happy note with an expresso. Expensive.

Helpful?
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely, Classic, and Romantic Victorian Era Dining”
Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

From you first step inside this lovely Victorian style restaurant you feel special. It is like being whisked back in a time machine to a time when service was critical and going out to eat meant something special. The waiter was well versed in the menu and even went above and beyond to have the chef create a special vegetarian meal and ginger tea just for me. That is what I call service. The meal was exquisite and the environment was lovely. This is truly a place for those looking for fine food,no screaming children, and great service. As a bonus the houses or grand mansions surrounding the restaurant are lovely to look at so come early and stroll the block and bring your own bottle of wine since it is a BYOB type of place. Keep in mind Victorians believed in temperance but they didn't frown down upon having a bottled slipped in at their establishments.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teeplepeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not impressed.”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hewitt Wellington to celebrate our anniversary and decided to have our dinner at Whispers. The food was good but we were not happy with the service at all...after we were seated, we were ignored for 15 minutes. It appeared there were only two waiters serving the whole restaurant and it seems for the cost of dining there, they could hire a bus boy and another waiter. After the waiter came to our table to greet us, we were not given a menu or water for another 10 minutes. I think the only reason we stayed was because this was a convenient spot for us to have dinner and we already invested 25 minutes! As I said earlier the food was good but not worth the wait or money. We would stay at the hotel again but we'll skip the restaurant.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Leonor525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whispers Restaurant also viewed

Spring Lake, Jersey Shore
 
Spring Lake, Jersey Shore
Spring Lake, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Whispers Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing