We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible service, Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pastaio - CLOSED

Pastaio
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Jersey Avenue
Transit: Local Monmouth County bus service runs on 3rd Avenue. Taxi service readily available. NJ Transit train Station for Spring Lake within walking distance.
Description: Pastaio is the Italian word for "pasta maker" which reflects our Chef's experience working as Pastaio for restaurants in New York including Eataly, where she would turn out roughly 3,000 pounds weekly. We now bring fresh handmade pasta daily to the Jersey Shore incorporating the freshest seasonal ingredients to our menu that changes each week. At Pastaio we strive to support our local produce, fish and meat, purveyors on an organic and sustainable basis. Our Menu reflects our kitchen staff experience with classical french training and the bounty of the Garden State. We are proud to utilize Pat LaFrieda Meats of New York for our meat and poultry. Ask about having your next event in our Private Party Room which can accommodate up to 50. Gluten Free Meatballs and fresh Gluten Free Pasta Available.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Terrible service, Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

True, table service is unbelievably bad, but food is great. I usually order for pick up before 7:30 to avoid the crowd. Come here, grab my dinner, pay and get the hell out. This way I can enjoy the food at the Inn without waiting for hours in the dark restaurant room.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank robikubi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    19
    6
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fair Lawn, New Jersey
2 reviews
“would love to eat there but couldn't this weekend”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

we have a latex allergy and they use latex gloves. Brian the mgr said he would change them out for us and we are anxious to go back. They have a great selection of gluten free foods including pasta. Sidewalk seating looks great and everyone appeared to be enjoying the food. Your pooch can sit at your feet. Very impressive looking in downtown Spring Lake

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ageisenheimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“little piece of Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

This was so much fun, most of the waiters speak like they just arrived from Italy, which adds to the atmosphere! This restaurant is decorated simply but tastefully. The service was great, and so was the food. Their meatballs are amazing. The gnocchi was also delicious!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Amazing food! Tried a number of dishes and all were excellent! The figs and brie was delicious, Our salad - the greens so fresh in the spring salad and lightly dressed. Most notably loved the pasta - as they mention all freshly made on the premises. So often fresh pasta is not cooked al dente - not the case here - was perfect! Also loved our desert - another delicious creation with fresh figs.

Loved that we were able to bring our own wine (wine store one block away). Must mention that service is a little slow. Was ok with us so we could savor our meal, could be an issue for others. Will definitely be back!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dld8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
161 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Thin, crisp homemade pizza and pasta!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

The prosciutto, fig, and goat cheese pizza was fresh, thin, crispy and very flavorful. I would certainly return for more or to try their homemade pastas, which I hear are amazing. This new joint in BYOB and had some outdoor seating, which is the perfect touch!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jill4115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pastaio also viewed

Spring Lake, Jersey Shore
Spring Lake, Jersey Shore
 
Spring Lake, Jersey Shore
 
Spring Lake, Jersey Shore
Spring Lake, Jersey Shore
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing