We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hewitt Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hewitt Wellington
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Spring Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Very nice...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for a few nights recently. The public areas (in the hotel) are pleasant and clean. In my opinion it felt like the bedrooms could do with a bit of a refurb, or maybe it just wasnt to my taste? There is a very very small outdoor pool which was great to have however, if there are more than 6/7 of you there it can feel a little crowded but there are lovely beaches close by. For me, this is great place for a couple of nights. The staff on reception were fantastic!
The restaurant next door is a definite must! This has got to be one of the best places I have eaten in and it is byo!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLM71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    170
    63
    20
    11
See reviews for
140
333
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2010

I had to cancel my reservation because my car broke down and a mentally ill son who needed care so I could not arrive on the scheduled date which was after the 14 days policy. This hotel did not offer anything I could do - all that was said was that "it was processed," so I lost the money for the night. So if you do not get there after 14 days you will lose your night's fee of the room no matter what !

Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank Hotel53449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2010

My husband and I went to Spring Lake for a long weekend over the 4th of July. We stayed in suite 20. The rooms were very pretty and clean. We loved that there was a pool. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The location is excellent with the beautiful lake right across the street and the beach and downtown just a short walk or drive from the hotel. We had a wonderful time and plan to stay again!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjmom97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2010

My husband and I just spent a weekend at the Hewitt Wellington. We've been to a few Bed and Breakfasts in Spring Lake throughout the years. The Hewitt Wellington was great!! The staff were so friendly and helpful, yet not overbearing. The continental breakfast was great as well. I like that this hotel has a small pool... this way, when we got tired from being on the beach, we had an alternative! I'd highly recommend this hotel if you'd like a nice quiet getaway!! We will be back!

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MSM722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairstown
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2009

It was a spur of the moment long weekend trip. We looked at hotel ratings on trip advisor and decided on the Hewitt Wellington after reading reviews. It was better than we imagined it would be, large rooms, beautiful location.....quiet. We especially loved sitting on the large front porch sipping champagne. Whispers restaurant served us a wonderful meal. Amaris, at the front desk, was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CindyTBlairstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valley forge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2009

I spent the Labor Day weekend at the hotel and had an absolutely fabulous time. I had never been to Spring Lake before and the staff were very helpful in pointing me in the right direction; actually it was the staff that made the stay so enjoyable. The pool was fantastic too. All in all it was a very enjoyable and relaxing staff.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skiqueen11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2009

From the time we arrived, we could not have asked for better service. The personal at this hotel was excellent. Each person manning the front desk at all different times, was willing and able to help us with all our questions. They were willing and able to suggest places to visit, eat, rent bikes, etc. The 2 rooms we had were very spacious, very clean and very cool in temperature. We had a continental breakfast every morning and we usually stopped in for tea between 4:30-6 in the pm. We swam in the very clean pool and beach towels were supplied so we could save ours for the beach. We have stayed here two times and plan to come back time and time again. The Pinto's

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thehawthornecouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Lake
0.5 mi away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.4 mi away
Walden on the Pond
Walden on the Pond
#4 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
4.7 mi away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#5 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Doolan's
Doolan's
#5 of 6 in Spring Lake
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spring Lake Inn
Spring Lake Inn
#4 of 8 in Spring Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hewitt Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hewitt Wellington

Property: Hewitt Wellington
Address: 200 Monmouth Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762-1127
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Spring Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hewitt Wellington 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hewitt Wellington is a historic Victorian hotel situated in one of the most beautiful settings on the New Jersey shore. The Hewitt Wellington has been a luxurious vacation retreat since the turn of the 20th century and was recently meticulously renovated, preserving both the architectural integrity and old-world charm that earned her a place in history. The Hewitt Wellington Hotel is proud to offer elegantly appointed suites as well as a heated pool, graceful wraparound porches and one of New Jersey's top-rated restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hewitt Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hewitt Wellington Hotel Spring Lake
Hewitt Wellington Spring Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing