We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet getaway”
Review of Hewitt Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hewitt Wellington
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Spring Lake
Certificate of Excellence
New Hope, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet getaway”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

The hotel was beautiful and quiet, a perfect little getaway for our anniversary. We loved having a room with a balcony to sit out and enjoy the view and the cool ocean breeze late into the evening. The only disappointing thing about the Hewitt Wellington was the "continental breakfast". Dropping this from the amenities would put this hotel in much more favorable light. As the last impression we had of the hotel in the morning, it left us with a less than perfect impression of the place. For a hotel with a restaurant of its own, we expected at least basic breakfast food. Don't skip this stay because of the lousy breakfast, just plan to go out to eat!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let me know about your stay. I'm glad that overall you had a great time with us. Unfortunately, the amazing restaurant we have attached to us is not ours and therefore we are unable to offer a full breakfast to our guests. Without a kitchen, we try to do the best we can to offer a variety of light continental breakfast items to our guests. We are lucky that should guests want more of a bacon and eggs breakfast that we have great places for that just a short walk from us.
I do hope that we will see you again in the near future.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    173
    64
    20
    11
See reviews for
145
338
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

I love Spring Lake, I have been coming here since I was in High School, but this was the first time I stayed at the Hewitt-Wellington. I have to say I was very happy with the suite, the breakfast was very good, and the pool relaxing. This is the place to go to for a relaxing and enjoyable stay. My husband and I also enjoyed the restaurant; Whispers.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
So glad that you enjoyed your time with us and hope you felt relaxed and refreshed after your stay. I hope we get to see you again soon for another getaway weekend.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New City, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014

My wife and I recently attended a family wedding in Spring Lake. We were looking for a hotel on the lake and also close to where the church service was to be held.
We settled on the Hewitt Wellington Hotel along with many of the wedding guests. We were not disappointed, Kathy the hotel manager warmly welcomed us; she was so helpful during our stay including taking our luggage to our room. The hotel is situated right on the lake, within walking distance of the town and the beach. The rooms are bright, clean and well maintained. There is a wonderful front poach where the guest can chat and enjoy a glass of wine while keeping in mind the needs and wishes of the other hotel guests. There is an upscale restaurant in the hotel and best of all it’s a BYOB. To keep things short, I would highly recommend this hotel. Can’t wait to return to this place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thank you for taking time to let us know about your stay. We LOVED having you here with us for the wedding and you made us feel as much a part of your family as we hope you felt about us. Can't wait to see you again!!

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We have now stayed at the Hewitt Wellington, once again, to find to our delight that KATHY is still there to do everything possible to make our stay great. Her professionalism and always sunny personality make all the difference.
This is a place to come for peace and quiet and short walk to the beach. Don't expect any "action", because thankfully, there isn't any nearby.
From Francie and Joe

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. I'm so glad that you had a great time and look forward to your return.
We do love it when our guests have the chance to get away, relax and enjoy all that Spring Lake has to offer.
Hopefully we will see you soon!!

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We came without prebooking and knowing the place, but found that the place looked good and luckily for us there was a free room. We were certainly not dissapointed. Relaxed atmosphere, close to the Beach, and actually an extremely good restaurant at the place that we can recommend. Spring Lake is nice, good Beach and beautiful homes and gardens.
Klaus and Trine Thomsen

Room Tip: We had one of the Suites - surely enjoyed it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klaus T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
I'm so glad that you happened upon us and had the chance to enjoy some time in the area. We certainly look forward to your next visit with us. Hope to see you soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Love this place and staff - Kathy the Manager is fabulous, rooms clean and short walk to the beach, short walk to 3rd ave with great food and shops! This was our 5th year there and already planned next year!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
We had a great time with all of you as well. Can't wait to see you and your family again next year!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyack, NY
Level Contributor
288 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We like the beach. We like the town. We enjoy the restaurants. We appreciate the beauty of the neighborhoods. Spring Lake has been our July retreat for many years and we always come away relaxed and ready to face August in NY.
This was our first time at this inn. It is an old building and in pretty good shape. The rooms are a bit dated but comfortable and clean. Ours had a balcony facing the lake which gave us extra room to relax, especially on a cloudy day. Breakfast was available in the form of hot drinks, cereal, bagels, bread, canned fruit and yogurt. Not especially great, not awful.
The staff is friendly.
Overall, this is not a luxury property, but perfectly adequate for a weeks stay. It's location is excellent for the beach experience without being on the beach.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NellieNyack_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I'm so glad that you had a chance to visit and enjoyed our town, hotel and everything offered in the area. We do hope to see you again soon!

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Lake
0.5 mi away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.4 mi away
Walden on the Pond
Walden on the Pond
#4 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
4.8 mi away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#6 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Doolan's
Doolan's
#5 of 6 in Spring Lake
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spring Lake Inn
Spring Lake Inn
#4 of 8 in Spring Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hewitt Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hewitt Wellington

Property: Hewitt Wellington
Address: 200 Monmouth Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762-1127
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Spring Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hewitt Wellington 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hewitt Wellington is a historic Victorian hotel situated in one of the most beautiful settings on the New Jersey shore. The Hewitt Wellington has been a luxurious vacation retreat since the turn of the 20th century and was recently meticulously renovated, preserving both the architectural integrity and old-world charm that earned her a place in history. The Hewitt Wellington Hotel is proud to offer elegantly appointed suites as well as a heated pool, graceful wraparound porches and one of New Jersey's top-rated restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Groupon, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hewitt Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hewitt Wellington Hotel Spring Lake
Hewitt Wellington Spring Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing